We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Athenaeum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Athenaeum Hotel
Ranked #215 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Hotel is walking distance to all major attractions. Very close to the train station. Pleasant check-in, attendants were very nice and informative. Good and large variety of breakfast selections. Room small, little out-dated, but everything in the room was extremely clean. Two days is enough to see the city.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank mramil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

After a not-so-good experience at another place in Florence, we happened upon this wonderful oasis of welcome, efficiency, and comfort. We somehow ended up in a suite, which was cheaper than the tiny dump we had just escaped from. A large lounge and dining area and a large bedroom (both with floor to ceiling windows), a balcony, and two large bathrooms. Amazingly huge for Europe. Breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights during a tour. This hotel was the nicest we stayed at. Rooms much larger than most european hotels. Modern hotel with lots of nice amenities. Bathroom is marble and tile with tub as well as shower. Breakfast was very nice with scrambled eggs and bacon served every morning in addition to buffet that included pastries, cold cuts, yogurt, cereal, cheeses, etc. Wireless worked very well in the room, and they also have computers to use. Workout area is small. Great location. It is about a 10 minute walk to the center of town. Nice restaurant in the hotel as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryan10230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

the staff was courteous and helpful.
the rooms were spacious and very clean.
the restaurant food was fantastic.
breakfast was also very good.

I would definitely return

oh, and the hotel was located only a 10 minute walk directly to the duomo and the historic center.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the street. I had one looking directly at the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nappyrzrbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We came to florence after visiting rome. I had the most fun visiting this part of Italy! The restaurant attached to the hotel is also excellent. The staff are very friendly, and can communicate in English very well! The location is perfect, a little removed from the city havoc. Every attraction is within walking distance. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! We had a great time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We were on a package deal and Florence was one of the stops. This was by far the only really 4 star hotel we stayed in during our ten day trip. Hotel staff was great, the resturant had quality food and a service was great also. Location was also convient to the attractions Florence has to offer. Was an easy walk from the train station and directions given by the hotel were easy to follow. Would stay at this hotel again if in Florence. All attractions are an easy walking distance from the hotel. Room was very clean and were of good size. Breakfast had a very good selection and the wait staff very attentive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edgar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at the Athenaeum Hotel for 5 nights this past September. I was excited because it was the longest part of our trip through Italy and I had read some pretty good reviews for this place. Unfortunetly I was very disappointed and wish I had picked another hotel. First off, our room was small and very basic (unlike all the photos posted on the websites). We spent one night in their basic room and woke up the next morning with back pain from the hard and flat bed and completely covered in bug bites. The room was supposed to be smoke-free but when we opened the window we found and ashtray on the ledge filled with cigarette butts and the curtains smelled like cigarette smoke and dusty. Our allergies acted up from the smoke and we both picked up colds and couldn't breathe or sleep for the rest of the trip. After our first night my boyfriend went down stairs to complain and see about being moved to a better room.. they didnt really apologize but they did allow him to pick another "upgraded room". The only difference in size was the dirty patio that was connected. It was however, cleaner and a little more comfortable. After the room switch we didn't have any more bug problems but we were pretty upset to have them in the first place. We have NO idea what bit us, but my boyfriends bites were itchy and red for the rest of the trip and several days after we came back home. Florence is where I chose to spend my birthday on the trip and we spent a little more on this hotel then we did the other two in Venice and Rome and we both felt like we did not get our money's worth at this place. I can honestly say it was the worst part of our trip and we wont be staying there next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chelocean87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Giglio
Hotel Giglio
#154 of 409 in Florence
730 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#135 of 409 in Florence
1,186 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#60 of 409 in Florence
2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Botticelli Hotel
Botticelli Hotel
#159 of 409 in Florence
806 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#130 of 409 in Florence
847 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Londra
Hotel Londra
#181 of 409 in Florence
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum Hotel

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 88, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £74 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design, art and business in a 4-star Hotel in Florence. The Academy of Fine Art and the David statue are just round the corner! The ideal location for business or leisure visitors, Hotel Athenaeum in Florence is where contemporary design, modern style and classic materials skillfully combine with art and culture. Hotel Athenaeum’ strategic location in the heart of Florence is the perfect starting point for visitors willing to discover the town or business people alike. The Hotel offers a top international service and a warm welcome.Hotel Athenaeum has 60 rooms, a conference room, a restaurant, a bar and a capacious private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athenaeum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing