We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real 'pick me up' place to stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B & B Novecento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B & B Novecento
Ranked #346 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real 'pick me up' place to stay...”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Weary from our train journey from Verona, we were welcomed very enthusiastically by Franco & Sawaki. Franco is one of those people you just instantly warm to if you're down to Earth. No airs or graces - what you see is what you get & what you see is a kind, eccentric, singing, Italian man who will go out of his way to make sure you're happy in his B&B.
The B&B itself is in a perfect, central location, it is clean, welcoming & our room was a fair size with good bathroom facilities. The continental breakfast is good and fuels you well for the morning. There is also an incredible view of the Duomo from the roof terrace!
There are a lot of stairs, the air-conditioning unit could do with some updating and our mattress was a bit too firm, but other than that - ask yourself what you want from a B&B... we got it! Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The Lilla room's air-conditioning unit only blows cool air up the wall, not into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerSnapsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    38
    7
    6
    8
See reviews for
24
55
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night and we wish we stayed a couple more~The location was absolutely central and perfectly convenient. The bed was very comfortable and it was delightful to open our windows and hear the streets of Florence. Franco was very accommodating to my gluten and dairy sensitivity and made sure to have food for me at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We really enjoyed this B&B. The owners Franco and Sawaki made us feel at home.They gave us some great recommendations on places to eat also. There were stairs but they helped us up with our luggage and carried it all down for us too. They were wonderful. The location was terrific and it seemed like you could almost touch the Duomo from the rooftop terrace.The location was perfect. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. We had a great stay and would highly recommend this as a great place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Van
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great location of this B&B. The place is located at the top of 3 flights of stairs. Only a challenge really at the beginning when you are bringing up your luggage. The breakfast is great and the hosts are wonderful! The bedroom was nice and clean and the bed was REALLY comfortable. I would stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

The title says it all... If you stay in florence this is hands down the best location in the city. Sure the stairs are steep and plentiful when arriving but the view from the top of the roof is worth it! Franco and Sawaki were very gracious hosts. When we arrived Franco let us choose our room. We chose the room on the top floor and it was great. Very clean and quiet up there. The breakfast was a bit weak for a B&B but the cappuccinos were great! All in all it is definitely worth the value to stay in this location!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wittregv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

It may have been that we had just had a brilliant 4 days in Venice at a fabulous B&B there, but Novecento was definitely NOT what we were expecting! It was at the top, on the third floor, of some very steep, exhausting stairs, & whilst the greenery as you reached the door was lovely, it wasn't quite worth the climb! The owners, Sawako & Franco were lovely, but didn't seem to leave you alone! Every time we came or went, they seemed to be there fussing! We were like little kids at one stage when we finally made it out the door without them catching us, & we ran for our lives, giggling! (And I don't suggest doing that on their stairs!). They did mean well however. Our room was a good size, & it was at the top of some more stairs, just before the stairs to the tiny rooftop garden. Our bathroom was 'different' also, but was clean & 'cute'. It was tiny, & if you wanted the toilet whilst your partner was showering, forget it! You had to walk through the shower to get to the toilet.
There were two, maybe three other rooms besides ours, & Franco & Sawako seemed to live in the other half of the apartment, above the kitchen. They could lock the kitchen off & consequently their area above it, & the guest rooms were in the other half of the house, each with its own key.
One of the essentials for us before booking accommodation is to check it has air-conditioning (& wifi) which this did. But it was explained to us that the air con was not working & they were not able to get a technician for a while. Florence seems to be one of the hotter cities in Italy, & being at the top of the building, it was particularly hot & stuffy. Franco was wanting us to tell him what a good sleep we had had, when talking to us at breakfast the next morning, but we couldn't, as we had been so hot. They quickly said they would get a technician in to fix it that day. We were gone for a short while, & returned before heading off to our allotted time slot to see the statue of David. Our air-conditioning was amazingly fixed! We somehow doubt that it was even broken, perhaps a circuit switched or fuse pulled.
The breakfasts left a bit to be desired too. They 'waited' on us, but you had the distinct feeling that they were rationing everything. Franco had asked if we wanted bread rolls the next morning, & that he makes them himself! It was those 'bake at home' ones, that you purchase already made, & you put them in the oven for about 5 minutes! It's fortunate that we don't eat much breakfast.
My husband in particular had a bit of an issue with Franco, & his constant chatter. It drove my husband spare! Franco needed to chill a bit, but he really was very sweet. Sawako was gorgeous, definitely the quiet one of the two, & consequently seemed to understand us better & was more perceptive.
It's redeeming factor was that the location was brilliant. The Duomo was at the end of the block, & when they said in the blurb for the accommodation, that on the rooftop garden you felt as though you could touch the dome of the Duomo, you just about felt you could. Galleria dell'Academia with the statue of David is just down the road. There are some great restaurants very close by.
The rooftop garden was an added bonus, & we enjoyed popping up here for a breath of fresh air, some internet time, or to just read for a while.
It was 'different' & an experience, but we would find alternative accommodation in any future visits to Florence.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minxSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

What a gem of a hotel: brilliant location, very clean and comfortable, good value for money and wonderful hosts. Franco and Sawako carried our bags to the room and made excellent recommendations for restaurants and shopping. Franco personally took us to a fantastic leather shop when I mentioned I wanted to buy a bag and I got special discount as a friend of his! Sawako loaned me a hairdryer when my adapter didn't work and ordered us a taxi for our return to the airport. It was these little touches that helped make our stay so memorable and we'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Relais Il Campanile
Relais Il Campanile
#250 of 659 in Florence
322 reviews
Duomo
B&B De' Biffi Firenze
B&B De' Biffi Firenze
#82 of 659 in Florence
95 reviews
Duomo
B&B Tourist House Ghiberti
B&B Tourist House Ghiberti
#15 of 659 in Florence
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Magnifico Messere
Magnifico Messere
#186 of 659 in Florence
90 reviews
Duomo
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
#240 of 659 in Florence
85 reviews
Duomo
B&B Le Stanze del Duomo
B&B Le Stanze del Duomo
#36 of 659 in Florence
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Novecento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Novecento

Property: B & B Novecento
Address: Via Ricasoli 10, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — B & B Novecento 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the centre of Florence,in one the most characteristic streets of the city, few steps far froom the Academy. Where is situated the David of Michelangelo (the original), not far from Medicis chapels, near to the most famous squares of the city. Every 30 minutes about you can benefit from the bus service, from and to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your B & B Novecento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing