We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Ranked #52 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Hotel is highly recommended: great service, great rooms. We spent 4 nights here on a city break. The hotel staff are all lovely and very attentive. Breakfast was lovely - good selection of food with bacon, scrambled eggs included. It is not right in the city centre but takes 10 mins to walk to the Academia and another 5 to the cathedral.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ell p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,248
    788
    130
    27
    8
See reviews for
353
1,242
44
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Beautiful hotel, clean and maintained. Nice and courteous staff. Excellent breakfast. Room nice and spacious. Bicycles can borrow from the hotel and this is a great way to get to the historical center.

But...wi.fi is not free.Require expensive charge on it. Today, in modern times, it is no longer appropriate.
ditza sela, Israel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamilon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I have just returned from an holiday in December where I spent 5 nights at the San Gallo Palace in Florence. I booked a superior room for my wife and I at the hotel which was proved to be very spacious, clean and very comfortable, the staff were very helpful, friendly and professional and a special mention must go to the barman Izzart who couldn't do enough for you. He mapped out special places to visit, best restaurants to eat and just went out of his way to assist us during our stay. Breakfast was very plentiful and enjoyable.
I have no hesitation in recommending the San Gallo Palace Hotel to out Tripadvisors

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

The room was nice and clean with a decent bed. Really nice bathroom with a powerful,hot shower and a bath. Our room included breakfast which was a continental buffet and scrambled eggs, juices and amazing fresh coffee. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only negative is that it is about 20-25 minute walk to the duomo which is quite far if you have already been walking around all day. But if you stayed in a hotel of this standard in the centre it would be a lot more expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y0ung_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My mom and I visited Florence October 1-7, and I would absolutely recommend this hotel. The staff is top notch. From the moment we arrived, EVERYONE on staff was friendly and helpful. There was nothing they wouldn't do. They called the airport for us when the airline lost my mom's luggage. They also were great with providing directions and advising us on restaurants in the area and around town. I can't say enough about the staff. They made our stay in Florence a great experience. We were given a room on the 3rd floor, and it was spacious and clean. The bathroom was lovely and updated and we loved the hardwood floors in the room. There was enough room to place our clothes in the large armoire, and we had a pretty good view of the street and neighborhood. In my opinion the hotel is not close enough to walk to the sites; however, there are at least 3 bus lines near the hotel. Each day we took the 1, C1, or 7. We both had Firenze Cards, and the cards allowed us to ride public transportation for 72 hours without having to pay. After that, we bought tickets at the newsstand for $1.20. I loved taking the bus each day because we got a real feel of the city and it's citizens. You must take the 7 to Fiesole. It's a 15 minute ride from Florence and is a breathtaking town. Make the time to go because it is postcard perfect. The breakfast at the hotel was tasty and enough to get you started each day. They provide a variety of juices, fruit, pastries, and yogurt. You will also find eggs, bacon, sausage, bread, cereal and cheese---very European and very good. The only thing I didn't like was having to pay for wi-fi. The neighborhood has a few nice cafés, markets and restaurants. I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. Again, I commend the hotel for having a top notch staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATLtravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The location is pretty good, far enough from the touristy area but not too far out in the middle of no where. It was about a 15-20 minute walk to the sites (Duomo, Galleria Accademia, Uffizi, etc). There are a few cute restaurants on the way into town, nothing behind the hotel. The Wi-Fi was very expensive compared to the other hotels we stayed at during our honeymoon. The room was a good size, we had a little balcony. Big closet for storage. The bathroom was very clean and spacious. TV stopped working on the second night but we weren't there to watch TV. I did not find the front desk staff all that friendly... the staff during breakfast were very pleasant on the other hand. Breakfast was adequate; scrambled eggs, bacon (not good), croissants, pastries and yogurt. We used their bar once... there was another couple there. But they had no music on, just a TV with low volume.... It was too quite, odd feeling.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, MA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had booked this hotel after looking all over the city about a month before our visit to Italy. We settled on this because we couldn't find anything else. Apparently it was a busy time in Florence before the big bike race in Sept. 2013. After 1 1/2 weeks of staying in a villa we expected to be disappointed. However, the staff was so helpful, the room was large, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was huge. Even though the SGP was right off the traffic circle, we didn't hear any traffic at all. And our room was facing the side street. Breakfast was included and was quite comprehensive with scrambled eggs, sausage, yogurts, cereals, pastries and the typical meats and cheeses of the Italian breakfast. After going out at night, we'd stop by the bar with outdoor seating for a limoncello before retiring. A very nice respite after running around a busy city. This hotel is well worth your money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 412 in Florence
785 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#32 of 412 in Florence
2,296 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#43 of 412 in Florence
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 412 in Florence
794 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 412 in Florence
1,942 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#40 of 412 in Florence
2,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo Palace

Property: Hotel San Gallo Palace
Address: Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#42 Business Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#62 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gallo Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Gallo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gallo Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing