We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Florence - away from the crowds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Ranked #55 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Florence - away from the crowds!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here to be away from hustle and bustle of busy tourist city centre. Had a very good room on 3rd floor with a balcony. Very quiet at night so no problems sleeping. Clean comfortable room but unfortunately only a shower - no bath. Breakfast room in basement was fine with a decent range of food. The piazza Liberte outside the hotel is very busy with heavy traffic so care needs to be taken crossing road - keep an eye on the "green man". Nice little bar and ice cream parlour just outside to the left and further round is a post office. Walk in/out of centre is 15 mins but easy enough - straight road. Piazza S Marco on way into centre (10 mins) is decent area for restaurants. Hotel staff very helpful and professional and the bar is OK for a drink and / or simple meal.

Room Tip: Probably advisable to have a room at the back of the hotel away from the busy piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nel195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,101
    713
    118
    27
    8
See reviews for
295
1,111
41
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My sister and I just came back from Florence where we stayed at the San Gallo for 7 nights. The room we had with two twin beds was very small. About a foot on either side of the bed. However, the bathroom was large and clean and just right for the 2 of us. The beds or should I say mattresses were hard as a rock and my sister had to sleep with a pillow under her legs as they hurt the heck out of her. The hotel is situated near a bus stop (C1) so take the bus the extra 20 minutes it takes to walk to the sites.

When we booked the room last January the website promised computers and an iron for the room if you needed it. There was no computer room and no iron. (we complained and they have since changed their website to show they will iron your clothes at a cost) I was a bit mad as I didn't iron my clothes before I packed thinking I could iron them as I needed them. and I didn't want to pay them to iron my clothes. happy medium was the pants press by the door actually sorted it out and worked nicely. The front desk did allow my sister to use their computers for about 10 minutes a day as she needed to check on a sick relative back home.

The staff was nice and very helpful. We had dinner in the bar on 2 nights when we were tired (salads) I wouldn't suggest anything else as I don't think they have a kitchen on premises.

The breakfast was scrambled eggs, bacon, little hot dogs, pastries, cereals, 2 kinds of juice, and on Easter Sunday they put out little chocolate eggs which I found really cute and I could add to the coffee. Coffee was good by the way. They brought a pot of coffee and a pot of steamed milk. and yogurts. Not too fancy but not just coffee and a roll either.

Right around the hotel are a few good restaurants we ate at a few times. Wish I could remember the names, Alfonsos, American Bar (TV's) plus good pastas, a few pastry/gelato stores, wine store (way over priced) The square is a bit desolate looking and sketchy.

Behind the hotel is a little canal and if you walk over the canal there are restaurants, grocers, wine stores, and a charming botanical park. We were lucky to hit it when they were setting up for a flower show / sale. lovely little park. All in all a hotel worth about $125 or 2-3 star. Tourist hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cabfromnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This place really lives up to it's name! It was beautiful, located in a very nice and convenient area..close to the train station and to the tourist attractions. Had a nice breakfast and a good staff. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Very Nice hotel.
Good size Rooms for city.
very clean rooms too.
Friendly staff.
When we booked we knew that the dirt centre was a 15 min walk. Although this was not a problem for us. It is worth considering if you may be considerably tired after a long days walk. Also the location is near a very busy roundabout. Sometimes it took 5 mins to get across.
Overall I would recommend this is you are happy to walk in or pay for bus or taxis.
Good value hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted_meister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here for 3 nights. The service was great, the breakfast was lovely (good choice and always re-filled) and although the location was slightly far from the city, it was only a 10 minute walk at most from the centre. Also the staff in the hotel were very friendly. The condition of our room was nice and clean and had a good size bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_apparel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
Level Contributor
282 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Let me start by saying my reviews of our Italian hotels will be based on each other and not on American standards. Most all hotel rooms in Europe will be smaller than your standard American rooms. That said this was the largest room we had in Italy by far. This was also the quietest room we had (we were upgraded to a Garden view, ask for this as the hotel is located RIGHT ON a major roundabout). And this is the only hotel that had Kleenex in the room, (no washcloth though, not at any hotel we stayed at, bring your own). Add to that the heated towel rack, large tub, and a great breakfast and breakfast staff, and you have an overall nice stay. AND this is the only hotel that could adjust the air conditioner per each room, it was hot when we were in Italy but most hotels were still in winter mode so air conditioning hadn't been turned on yet.
So why only 4 stars? Actually I wish Tripadvisor would let us use 1/2 stars because I would give this hotel 3 1/2. First the distance, yes it is close to some sights, but it is over 2 KM to the Uffizi or Ponte Vecchio and obviously further to the other side of the bridge. If you go only once a day, that is fine, but it doesn't work that way, you walk to a site, walk back to the hotel to rest, walk back again and maybe even one more time for supper, it adds up!! Most of the staff were fine but some were very indifferent and their advice on where to eat one night was very poor, since 2-3 people told us the same place, Trattoria da Titto, it was obvious they were getting some kind of gratuity sending people there, (see separate review). And for some reason, one day our room was never serviced, when we got back from being out all day we were told that housekeeper was gone for the day.
But the biggest problem and danger was the shower/tub. Instead of a curtain or full enclosure there is only a half glass wall NOT attached securely to the tub. When my wife leaned against it to steady herself it swung out causing her to fall in the tub and severely bruising herself. Also the showerhead is hand held and moves with the water pressure so you end up soaking the bathroom in water and as all the floors are marble is gets VERY slippery and again dangerous.
I would recommend the Palace, just be aware of the walk (or plan on lots of cabs) and be very careful in the shower. The rooms are large, quiet (if you face the garden), and the breakfast and breakfast staff are great, OH and there is now FREE Wi-Fi in all rooms!. Turn down the offer of Trattoria da Titto, unless you are wanting to drink in a loud, boisterous place. Again, probably 3 1/2 stars not 4 but still recommended, though if we go back, we would probably try to get a bit closer to the historic center.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view as the hotel sits on a VERY busy roadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Have stayed at many hotels but this rates as one of the best. The main difference is the professionalism of the staff. Not only were they kind and generous but always went the extra mile. The room was spacious and clean (superior room). Good location - a 10/15 minute walk to the centre and regular buses. Excellent restaurants nearby. Thanks for a lovely city break. Hope to be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank croker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo Palace

Property: Hotel San Gallo Palace
Address: Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#42 Business Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#62 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gallo Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Gallo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gallo Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing