We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over for the weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Ranked #54 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great location just 10 minutes walk from centre of town and just outside the restricted vehicle access zone. We parked on the road as it was free from 8pm Sat through to Monday morning.

Room was well finished and very clean, air con silent and a little noise from the passing traffic.

Breakfast was good and the usual continental offering.

We didn't eat in the hotel but there are good local restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,257)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Gallo Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 2,260 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very nice hotel although a bit of a way to walk from the main attractions.
Extremely large room, clean and comfortable but no extras ie robes, slippers , or coffee making things but it did have a trouser press and a hair dryer.
Hotel reception very helpful and nice staff.
Breakfast very nice, plenty of it and you can sit in the courtyard to eat it.
There is no restaurant but there are small snacks that can be ordered in the bar -although they are only frozen pasta dishes that are microwaved -but they came with a fresh salad and a nice bottle of wine and a delicious pudding so we couldn't complain and found it most acceptable, when our feet couldn't cope with anymore walking!!!
There is also a nice garden area where we sat and had a lovely cocktail.
Thought it was good value for money and would definitely recommend for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank micksmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Although it is a short distance away from the centre of Florence it is a pleasant 15 minute walk.
The Hotel represented excellent value for money. Rooms were spacious and spotless. Breakfasts were very good. All of the staff were friendly and very helpful. There is an excellent bar and ice cream parlour right outside. Although close to a very busy road the soundproofing blocked out all noise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikegyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I loved this hotel. It was really nice, quaint and beautiful. The rooms were nice and the location was perfect. It was a short 10 to 15 minute walk to all the wonderful things you would want to see. It has a beautiful little garden area where we sat outside and had a drink. The breakfast buffet was okay but could have had a little more options. I would still give this hotel a high rating. I thought it was really, really nice. On a side note, we ate at an amazing restaurant that was recommended by the hotel staff called Trattoria Tito. It is very close to the hotel. You have to try the meatballs! Reservations are a must.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My business in Florence was to the North so the location was perfect and the 15-20 walk from the sites was generally quite a welcome way to get to know the city. It was quiet and away from the madding crowds. The room was very clean with a big bathroom (with a drying line) and lots of light. The sleeping quarters were not large but adequate. There was room was two twin beds, desk, two chairs and a fridge (which had plenty of room to store our own beverages). Reception staff was very courteous and helpful. I would definitely stay here again because not despite the out of the way location. It was far better to have peace and quiet and a pleasant stay with the short walk. Also we explored plenty of sites that were nearby including parks, botanical garden and an amusement part for kids.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AmedeoMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

First time in Florence and was worried about hotels there since so many of my friends warned me of small size. San Gallo was smaller than US hotels but it was perfection! Great location, great staff, great breakfast! I can't wait to go back. Loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel 10-15 minutes easy walk from the sights. The room was very clean and had a mini bar, air conditioning, free safe, massive shower cubicle and a little balcony. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The only negative for me was the breakfast only great if you eat continental. Although saying that the pastries were lovely. The station is again within walking distance about 20 minutes from the hotel. I would recommend a day trip to Pisa only an hour on the train €7.90 each way.

Florence is a beautiful city and the food in the area is gorgeous and reasonably priced.

In summary if you are looking for accommodation in a peaceful area and do not mind walking stay here :).

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank brummie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 411 in Florence
800 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 411 in Florence
1,966 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#41 of 411 in Florence
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#53 of 411 in Florence
799 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#43 of 411 in Florence
1,162 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#42 of 411 in Florence
2,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo Palace

Address: Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#42 Business Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#62 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £78 - £611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gallo Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Gallo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gallo Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing