We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Ranked #61 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A very clean and comfortable hotel with great location. "Fortezza da Basso" is only 10 minutes walk from San Gallo Palazo hotel. The breakfast is very nice, we were very happy with our stay at the San Gallo Palace!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ConqueringNewHeights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oana S, Front Office Manager at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear guest,
we are so pleased your stay has been great with us. We always do our best to staisfy all the needs of our clients. we hope to see you soon with us and send our best regards.
Oana Stancu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 2,382 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

I've stayed here for my last 4 trips to Florence, usually 3-4 days each trip. The rooms are very comfortable and of good size. The breakfast is very nice. The location is close enough to the city center to walk, but not too close to where it's noisy or crowded. The staff is quite pleasant and helpful. I'll stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Gregg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed at San Gallo Palazo for 3 nights during biggest menswear tradeshow in the world called "Pitti Uomo". The fair located at "Fortezza da Basso" is only 10 minutes walk from San Gallo Palazo hotel.
San Gallo Palace's staff is very kind, always with a smile and perfect English. My room was tidy and confortable with a very nice shower.

Breakfast was good, lot of choices, even till the end. It's was perfect for the big day of works.
Taxi was called and arrived in less then 2 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Akim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent our 30th anniversary in Florence, and my husband and I were treated like Royalty at the San Gallo Palace. The front desk assistance from Luca was most helpful as was Laura who works in the breakfast area. We were very happy with our stay at the San Gallo Palace!!! It was also a plus for us that it was not in the Duomo which is way too touristy for our taste.

Grazie,
Elena and Josh

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank eal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We loved the 5 days we stayed here. The Hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of Florence which makes for a welcome break. There are a number of bus stops nearby which mean that should you want to take the weight of your feet then you can hop on and off. The rooms are spacious and nicely layed out and very clen and tidy.
Where this hotel gets the top marking is the service at reception and the staff serving the breakfast and running the bar. They couldn't do enough to help and they made our stay perfect.

Thankyou for your help, advice and guidance.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor on the right of the Hotel and found it very quiet and no noise at all fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monkey_Harris_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great location just 10 minutes walk from centre of town and just outside the restricted vehicle access zone. We parked on the road as it was free from 8pm Sat through to Monday morning.

Room was well finished and very clean, air con silent and a little noise from the passing traffic.

Breakfast was good and the usual continental offering.

We didn't eat in the hotel but there are good local restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very nice hotel although a bit of a way to walk from the main attractions.
Extremely large room, clean and comfortable but no extras ie robes, slippers , or coffee making things but it did have a trouser press and a hair dryer.
Hotel reception very helpful and nice staff.
Breakfast very nice, plenty of it and you can sit in the courtyard to eat it.
There is no restaurant but there are small snacks that can be ordered in the bar -although they are only frozen pasta dishes that are microwaved -but they came with a fresh salad and a nice bottle of wine and a delicious pudding so we couldn't complain and found it most acceptable, when our feet couldn't cope with anymore walking!!!
There is also a nice garden area where we sat and had a lovely cocktail.
Thought it was good value for money and would definitely recommend for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank micksmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 410 in Florence
2,042 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#62 of 410 in Florence
816 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#44 of 410 in Florence
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
842 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#64 of 410 in Florence
404 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#38 of 410 in Florence
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo Palace

Address: Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#42 Business Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#62 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £65 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gallo Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Gallo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gallo Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing