We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable hotel with a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Ranked #54 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a nice, clean hotel and only about 15 minutes walk from center of Florence and 20 min walk from Santa Maria train station.
Affordable, good breakfast and it was well worth the money.
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oana S, Front Office Manager at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014
Google Translation

Gentile cliente, grazie per aver dedicato il suo tempo per noi. La soddisfazione dei nostri ospiti è la nostra soddisfazione dal momento che facciamo del nostro meglio affinchè tutto sia perfetto o quasi. Grazie ancora.
Oana Stancu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,259)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Gallo Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 2,260 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated away from major tourist areas and was lovely and quiet. Its a 30min walk from the SMN termini and 20min from all downton attractions. Great and friendly staff. Lovely rooms. Breakfast was delicious with a wide variety. Definitely would stay again!!!

Thank Jessy_lea
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Best, affordable,clean place! Friendly & very helpful staff!very nice breakfast, lot of choices! Nice location! Nice sitting garden outside! Nice restaurants walking distance!15 mins walk from all the main attractions

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My mother and I stayed here for four nights on a short trip to Florence. This was a really great hotel, with a convenient location that was within easy walking distance to the Duomo and other tourist attractions. The room was clean and well presented, with plenty of space and air conditioning. The bathroom was also lovely and well presented with a really good shower. We were on the third floor and it was really quiet at night, no worries about not getting a good night's sleep. Internet was free, and the connection was very fast. All of the staff were extremely polite and helpful, speaking excellent English and able to recommend good places to eat. A taxi to the airport arrived very quickly and was a set price of 20 euros, with an extra euro per bag. We would recommend this over the 30 minute walk to the main train station to get the shuttle bus up to the airport for 6 euros each. The only slight grumble regarding the hotel was that we (my mother and I) got caught in a torrential thunderstorm on our Sunday night, and came back into the hotel literally dripping. Once we'd dried off at about 11/11:30pm we were cold and desperate for a cup of tea, but were told by the front desk that there was no way we could have one - they had no kettle for the room, and the bar was closed. He did point us in the direction of a bar a block away where we could walk, but as the thunderstorm was still raging we politely declined. I would recommend that the hotel looks into providing tea/coffee making facilities in the room itself, which would have made the stay close to perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the San Gallo and I will echo the review comments of others and say it was well worth the money --Its not in the middle of Town but only a 15 minute walk at the most to the center of town. Nice breakfast --Very helpful staff and there are some good restaurants within 5-7 minutes.
On the map it looks close to the train station but if you arrive by train you should take a cab otherwise you will be crisscrossing some major streets and the cab fare is not that much.
They do have some bicycles for guests and biking around is not that difficult. However if you choose to use their bikes --check them out before you go-- They were in poor condition and had not been maintained and we advised them of that fact and were told they would bring them up to speed .
Overall a good hotel--

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kkeating7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the San Gallo Palace Hotel for 4 nights. The room was large and nicely decorated, with a good sized bathroom. It was very quiet. The location is outside of the central tourist areas, but you can walk 20 minutes into town or take the bus that stops only 1 block from the hotel (runs frequently until service ends at about 8:30 pm). The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful. This was a very nice hotel and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johndoedoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at San Gallo Palace Hotel; The room was nice and clean with almost no noise from the street. The staff was super friendly, especially when we checked in past midnight due to our plane being delayed.

The hotel is in walking distance to all major attractions.

Overall great value for money!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 411 in Florence
800 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 411 in Florence
1,966 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#41 of 411 in Florence
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#53 of 411 in Florence
799 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#43 of 411 in Florence
1,162 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#42 of 411 in Florence
2,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo Palace

Address: Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#42 Business Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#62 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £78 - £611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gallo Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Gallo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gallo Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing