We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Ranked #61 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just left San Gallo hotel. We are on a 6 week vacation, and have spent 5 nights in Florence.
For the price that we paid the service and quality was not sufficient. The people on the front desk were not at all welcoming or helpful. They wouldn't even greet us when they saw us! I will say however that although the breakfast was not fantastic the breakfast staff were friendly and very helpful.
The room itself was asthetically pleasing however the bed and the pillows were like sleeping on the floor. So much so that we woke up with numb body parts.
It was a very disappointing way to spend our time in Florence.
Everywhere else we have been staff have been heloful and greet with a smile.
Not worth the money we paid.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Pru H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oana S, Manager at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Sir,
we are terribly sorry that your stay at San Gallo Palace did not meet the desired expectations; usually our staff is helpful and kind with our guests and I explain my wonder to ear this from you and I'm terribly mortified for this. As regarding our beds and pillows you could ask to change your room or have extra pillows after the first night. I ensure you I'll make my best to prevent it happens again to someone else, and I'm sorry that this happened right to you.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 2,364 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I most certainly enjoyed my stay im florence san gallo one of the best hotels weve been at in our stay in italy. The breakfast was superb, bathroom very clean aswell as the rooms not yo mention we had a lovely balcony. I would definitely stay at san gallo again if find myself in Florence.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oana S, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Annie,
Thank you very much for your time to review and for your precious appreciation of us.
We are really happy that you have spent a special stay at San Gallo Palace as we believe that the direct testimony of our guests are the only real advertising ever.

We look forward to welcoming back in the near future
whising you all the best,
Oana Stancu
F.O.Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The San Gallo Palace is a great place to stay, room was very spacious and clean plus we have a nice balcony. The staff here are 5 star and were so helpful. I would definitely recommend a stay here. The walk into town is not that far, and also the Hop on Hop off tour bus stops just around the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Moo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oana S, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting a review on the site for us. I am delighted that you found the staff to be top notch and that you appreciated our great services as for us it's the utmost satisfaction.

I am also pleased that you enjoyed one of the tour bus Hop on Hop with nearly stops.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,
Oana Stancu
F.O.Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed two nights with 2 friends. Three to the room but not too tight. Although the ambience is fancy, the desk guy and reservation person on the phone were very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast outside. These were last minute plans and all went smoothly. Rates were reasonable

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oana S, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

allow me to thank you for recommending San Gallo Palace Hotel to the huge Community of Tripadvisor travellers. We appreciate very much your kind words for our staff and thank you for your opportunity to remind to all our Guests that the breakfast is served in a charming courtyard garden !

We look forward to welcoming back and remain with our best regards,
Oana Stancu
F.O.Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excellent staff looked after us from the moment we checked in (after 11pm) to breakfast (from 7 through 10:30) and later the concierge services getting a mattress topper. The room was clean and blessedly cool. It's a hot 20 minute walk from the near end of the city centre: get the concierge to explain the bus service.
The hotel bar food is good enough for a night away from a full blown dinner. Try Alfredo's and Perseus near the hotel for that.
Florence was fantastic and the service was great.Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johnandjennyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oana S, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Davison J.,

thank you very much for your nice words and your time to review.
We are glad to read that your stay was excellent and “ SUPERB”at San Gallo Palace and we really hope to welcome back in the near future.

Whising you all the best,
we remain with our kind regards,
Oana Stancu
F.O.Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at San Gallo Palace. By some luck of the draw, we were put into a suite, complete with a terrace overlooking the front of the hotel. Upon check-in, the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was modern, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was great! Although we took a cab from the Firenze SMN station, we later realized that we could have walked. Be aware that the hotel is a good 20 minute walk from the tourist attractions. This was perfect for us as it was a scenic, peaceful walk that gave us a better glimpse of Florence. Breakfast was average, but provided a good start to the day. Several good restaurants near by. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Be aware that the hotel is a 20 minute walk from tourist attractions. It is a very manageable and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GraceMD1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oana S, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Grace,

allow me to tell you that we are spoiled by your enthusiastic words and more than glad that you enjoyed our Hotel and your Suite, with the terrace overlooking the charming Liberty Square with the San Gallo Gate ( where the Hotel gets the name from) – that is part of the medieval city walls, the northernmost point of the historic centre of Florence, built by 1285.
We appreciate your kind review and we are very glad you spent wonderful time with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again,
All my best regards,
Oana Stancu
F.O.Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Good hotel! Its not an expensive hotel, in the price average. Has a good breakfast. Is not so close from the city centre, but is quiet and worth the walking to the places, museums and restaurants. I recomend!

Room Tip: Good cost benefit. Not so close from city centre, but wel localized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oana S, Front Office Manager at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for spending your time to write about us. We always do our best to satisfie clients necessities and your satisfaction is the best satisfaction for all of us.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#23 of 409 in Florence
2,021 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 409 in Florence
830 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#62 of 409 in Florence
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 409 in Florence
2,195 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#45 of 409 in Florence
1,191 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 409 in Florence
2,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo Palace

Address: Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Florence
#42 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#62 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £71 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gallo Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Splitty, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel San Gallo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gallo Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing