We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Ranked #58 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Location of the San Gallo is really good, not too close to the centre but just a leisurely 15 minute work brings you to the very centre.

Room is what you would expect of a 4 star hotel, very clean and well appointed. Tips for future visitors regarding the room are;

1) you need to request that the AC is switched on at reception, otherwise it only works for 1 minute or so. After we requested it activated, it worked all the time.
2) Coffee and tea making facilities are available in the room, but only on request!!

The staff were excellent, very very helpful. Jetmir, Luca, Andrea and Paola were particularly good.

Little tip is to ask the reception for directions to the supermarket just round the corner used by the locals; we found all products 50-100% cheaper than the tourist ones in and around the main squares.

Overall we were very happy and would heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,274)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Gallo Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 2,274 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

A stunning, beautifully decorated hotel with outside garden it's easy to reach from The train station Firenza SMN, by taking the 1A or 1B bus which run every 20 mins. The hotel staff were extra attentive and Mr Luca checked us in promptly and we got to stay in a garden view room. We were on our honeymoon and this was simply the bet boutique hotel we have stayed for such a reasonable price. The breakfast was extensive and a buffet including hot and cold varieties of everything! The fresh coffee also helped to clear even the fuzziest head!! (With an option of Espresso too!) The room was extremely spacious with a massive bathroom which had a shower with power jets and jacuzzi style bath. It was an unforgettable experience and we only wish we could gave stayed here longer. special thanks to Miss Paolo who arranged our departure taxi and check out.

Room Tip: The Garden view bottom floor is exquisite.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CleoCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel fit all of our needs - the shower was hot, the beds were comfortable, the breakfast was varied & plentiful, and there was even a pillow menu for those of us that like a firmer pillow. We have a spacious balcony that overlooked the gardens.

We booked our room through Booking.com and got an excellent rate as this hotel will only book 2 nights minimum and we were able to get one night.

The AC is controlled by those in the room, which is different from other hotels that we stayed at, which was lovely after a long day of walking in the heat. This hotel had all of the amenities that we were looking for and more.

There is no real restaurant in the hotel, but were were recommended Perseus restaurant, which is only a 5 minute walk away and the pasta and chocolate tart were excellent!

Our only recommendation - if you have luggage of more than a purse or small bag, definitely take a cab as the walk is difficult with the sidewalks and the distance from the Firenze SMN train station.

Room Tip: If you were request a balcony and it is available - they were more than happy to accommodate without...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrea_Wallette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there two nights and we're not able to shower as there was no warm water. We mentioned it right away but the only answer we re even was that we need to water run for 15 min which we did with no success. Parking is far from the hotel and no one is willing to help.
Breakfast was great and rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqueline a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oana S, Manager at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,
it is a pleasure for us that you have appreciated the cleaning of our rooms, which we keep it particurarly,and the breakfast.
Regarding the reporting of the hot water, we have made teh necessary checks, but we havent found any problems and no other guets made a reporting about it.
The parking is not out of the hotel, you are right, but it is just 150 meters far from the hotel.
Antonio Giorgio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just left San Gallo hotel. We are on a 6 week vacation, and have spent 5 nights in Florence.
For the price that we paid the service and quality was not sufficient. The people on the front desk were not at all welcoming or helpful. They wouldn't even greet us when they saw us! I will say however that although the breakfast was not fantastic the breakfast staff were friendly and very helpful.
The room itself was asthetically pleasing however the bed and the pillows were like sleeping on the floor. So much so that we woke up with numb body parts.
It was a very disappointing way to spend our time in Florence.
Everywhere else we have been staff have been heloful and greet with a smile.
Not worth the money we paid.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Pru H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oana S, Manager at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Sir,
we are terribly sorry that your stay at San Gallo Palace did not meet the desired expectations; usually our staff is helpful and kind with our guests and I explain my wonder to ear this from you and I'm terribly mortified for this. As regarding our beds and pillows you could ask to change your room or have extra pillows after the first night. I ensure you I'll make my best to prevent it happens again to someone else, and I'm sorry that this happened right to you.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I most certainly enjoyed my stay im florence san gallo one of the best hotels weve been at in our stay in italy. The breakfast was superb, bathroom very clean aswell as the rooms not yo mention we had a lovely balcony. I would definitely stay at san gallo again if find myself in Florence.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oana S, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Annie,
Thank you very much for your time to review and for your precious appreciation of us.
We are really happy that you have spent a special stay at San Gallo Palace as we believe that the direct testimony of our guests are the only real advertising ever.

We look forward to welcoming back in the near future
whising you all the best,
Oana Stancu
F.O.Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The San Gallo Palace is a great place to stay, room was very spacious and clean plus we have a nice balcony. The staff here are 5 star and were so helpful. I would definitely recommend a stay here. The walk into town is not that far, and also the Hop on Hop off tour bus stops just around the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Moo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oana S, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting a review on the site for us. I am delighted that you found the staff to be top notch and that you appreciated our great services as for us it's the utmost satisfaction.

I am also pleased that you enjoyed one of the tour bus Hop on Hop with nearly stops.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,
Oana Stancu
F.O.Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 411 in Florence
803 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 411 in Florence
2,136 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 411 in Florence
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 411 in Florence
801 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,168 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#43 of 411 in Florence
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo Palace

Address: Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#42 Business Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#62 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £79 - £525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gallo Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Gallo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gallo Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing