We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Ranked #56 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place, friendly staff”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights. Our room was very nice and spacious. Our bed was very nice, not too soft, and we slept like we were at home. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. They also recommended nice places to dine or lunch. Breakfast in the hotel was nice and partially traditional. The city center is a 15-20 min. Walk. Everything is close enough to walk and enjoy and come back to the hotel for a good night -quiet- sleep. When in Firenze we will defenitely return to this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Flyingbird38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    756
    126
    27
    8
See reviews for
323
1,192
43
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for three nights in mid-August. We flew in to Pisa airport and were at the hotel within appr 2 hours using the train and bus The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Our room was both spacious and comfortable, with everything you would want for a city break. The breakfast was plentiful and the coffee excellent - eating outside was a good way to start the day.

The hotel is about a 15/20 minute walk to the cities main attractions, but this was ideal as it provided us with a little exercise (we needed it after all the ice cream we had!) and away from the hordes of tourists. We took out the hotel bikes on the final day which was a fantastic way to get around the city and were provided free of charge.

I would most certainly recommend both Florence and this hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamandNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Nice and clean hotel with friendly staff. In a quieter part of Florence but easy walk or bus ride to all the tourist attractions. Breakfast in the patio area was a great start to a day of sight seeing. Some of the rooms can use a little updating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and we were very happy with the service. The rooom was modern, breakfast was great (consisted of bacon, eggs, cereals, cold meats, breads, good coffee, fruit and all the usuals), mini bar wasnt overpriced and the staff behind the front desk were very nice and were very happy to help us out with anything we needed they even posted our mail for us!!! This hotel is a must stay while you are in Florence. Great value for money

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel through an external website at a fantastic rate. It is about 15-20 minutes from the Duomo and 5 minutes by taxi from the train station.

Upon arrival the lovely receptionist gave us maps, leaflets etc - all the information you could want when arriving in a new city. He also helped us book a city bus tour and a taxi back to the station when we left.

The room was ideal, lots of space, extremely clean, well kitted out, great bathroom. Certainly what you'd expect from a highly rated hotel.

The breakfast was also very good. A great selection and eating outside is always a great way to start the day.

A brilliant base for exploring the city and a fantastic group of staff

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollieJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just spent 3 nights here on our first trip to Florence. Well located in that you can walk or get bus into centre easily - and at a much more reasonable price than if you stayed in centre. Staff very friendly and helpful - nice garden/ outside bar area at front - and you soon don't hear the traffic outside . Rooms were fine - only criticism would be that bed seemed very hard. You can eat breakfast outside in a shaded terrace area - food itself was average but ok - why don't hotels just do a breakfast they are used to rather than trying to do bacon sausages etc ? Are we really that bad as a nation that we want a fry up in Tuscany! No restaurant but they recommend places to eat - we used one - but only after checking it out on Tripadvisor first ! By the way it's a fixed 20 euro cab fare from the airport plus 1 euro per bag. we got free wifi in with our deal as well

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timscfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 422 in Florence
2,268 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#47 of 422 in Florence
1,118 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#57 of 422 in Florence
787 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,891 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#42 of 422 in Florence
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo Palace

Property: Hotel San Gallo Palace
Address: Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#42 Business Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#62 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gallo Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Gallo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gallo Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing