We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Hotel Franchi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Franchi
Ranked #255 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel is perfect if you have a car. The free parking gives you the chance to leave the car and avoid the city chaos, take the bus and enjoy the city on foot, which is obviously the best way to do it. There´s a bus that takes you to the city in ten minutes and it stops a block away from the hotel. They even sell the bus tickets at the front desk. This was vey convenient. The rooms are clean and comfortable enough, it´s an old place but very well maintained. The attention is the best. Francesco at the front desk gave us all the information we needed about Florence, we didn´t even have to ask. He´s a great guy! Breakfast was good, WIFI was good, nice shower, nice bed, what else can you ask for? We really enjoyed our stay. Grazie Francesco!!

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony, which is a great thing if you´re a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queencitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Roman, at the front desk of this hotel is the most personable and professional host we have yet to meet during our European vacation. We've been to a few hotels in Europe and expect to book a couple more before our trip is over. If future concierge agents are half as helpful as Roman has been, we'll consider ourselves very lucky travelers!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luludec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Been here for 5 nights and couldn't really recommend this to anyone normal. The room and the bathroom is spacious (which is the only good thing beside free parking). Loads of yellow ants are all around the room floor, my suitcase was full of it even two days later. The bathroom is smelly due to old pipes so in case you don't close the bathroom door, you'll have that terrible smell in your nose all day long.
The staff is quite uninterested and unpolite, except for the dark hair lady at the front desk, she was the only shiny star in this hotel, all the best for her.
Quite noisy, the train passes by (maybe 500m away) plus the airplanes are all around, cause it's close to the airport.
Breakfast is poor, one type of bread, some jam and marmelade, cheap ham and cheese which you get after asking for it (the explanation of the staff was-we have a group of students at the hotel atm so we don't serve cheese and ham "in public")...I mean, whaaaaaaaat?? I was so disturbed by this... I can eat ham but the students cannot?!
Really, the worst hotel I've seen in my entire life (and paid almost 100 eur per night). Horror.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone, sorry.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary20088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Good:
Clean, friendly staff, free parking, reasonable pricing, close to airport

Bad:
Well outside the city, in case your room faces the street you will get the noise. When you fell asleep you would get the noise from other rooms.
The noise is really annoying!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ZoltanErdei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel was convenient to the airport. The price was good, the staff welcoming, friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Booking a taxi to the airport for our friends was no problem and Roman suggested a fun restaurant where we ate very well. The area is a bit rundown, but we were not there to see the sights, simply to find a place handy for the airport. The breakfast was a little disappointing, but copious.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor near the staircase which meant we heard the group of young men coming hom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed in Hotel Franchi at the end of January and basically because it was the nearest hotel to the Airport (flight landed at 19.00, so needed a airport hotel). I originally was thinking of walking it but the Airport Hotel said get a taxi (€10) and I suggest you do because its tucked away off the main street in a suburb/light industrial area. The hotel is basic but the staff are exceedingly helpful. Theres an small area to work off-reception and a semi-bar. Bottled beer only but cheap by hotel standards. Theres a small lift, but never took it as it seemed to take forever, plus its smallness made me feel a bit claustrophobic. Theres no restaurant (there is a breakfast area and the breakfast is top notch) but the Receptionist recommended an Italian Restaurant 50 metres from the hotel. I can't remember its name, but its brilliant. The only other customer were locals and the menu was only in Italian. The Maitre De had a little English and I suggest you have the local soup and the locally done steak. The House Wine is a robust Tuscany and it only come in 1.5 litres. My work colleague struggled but finally managed to get our monies worth.
The room is adequate - bed good and comfortable. There was a tea & coffee making facility but no plugs in the bedroom. The only plug was in the toilet.
The good point is that it was quiet. All things considered I really enjoyed it but I probably wouldn't take the wife there

Room Tip: Any Ground Floor because you wouldn't need the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staffsjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I like Hotel Franchi. I book this hotel after reading decent ratings in Trip Ad. Free and anytime parking at hotel was important for me. I drove to Siena, San Gimignano, Pisa, etc from hotel (little over an hour drive from hotel). Come back for dinner at Florence everynite. Zinet at the hotel counter was very helpful. Gave us free map and I can buy round trip bus tickets from her. This is timesaver if you are not familiar with buying bus tickets. Zinet’s fluent with English which is very resourceful in Italy. Neighborhood looks like most of place where you get excellent lodging prices (with parking). There are 3 or 4 buses to Florence train station in 10 minutes. From train station, 5-10 minute walk to touristy spots like Duomo, Ponte bridge. Excellent local food served by most of the restaurants in downtown. Cannot compare overpriced and mediocre food from Rome, Venice, Pisa, etc. Love riding local buses to observe how locals (Italians, EU citizens, immigrants) commute and sometimes suffer frequent overcrowdings. Our twin-bed room was clean, much larger than ones in Rome or Paris at much higher prices, running hot water, warm enough for winter, and comfortable. One nite, I can hear folks talking loud and walking with heels late into the nite, but I didn’t mind. I experienced these kinds of tourists in other places as well. Breakfast was lite and simple; croissant, bread, coffee, juice, cereals, etc. Like I said earlier, great restaurants down town if you need heavy meal..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus CHC Florence
Best Western Plus CHC Florence
#279 of 410 in Florence
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#126 of 410 in Florence
588 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diva Hotel
Diva Hotel
#290 of 410 in Florence
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#202 of 410 in Florence
688 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto
1.9 mi away
Albergo Sonia
Albergo Sonia
#289 of 410 in Florence
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franchi

Address: Via Giovanni Sgambati 28, 50127, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £36 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Franchi 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of hospitality, both refined and contemporary can be found at Hotel Franchi. There are 35 recently renovated rooms arranged on 5 different floors and equipped with all modern comforts: en-suite bathroom with bath or shower, direct-access phone, digital safe, minibar, cable LCD TV, kettle for tea + coffee, wi-fi internet, individually adjustable air-conditioning. A wide and free of cost parking area is the solution to all your parking problems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Franchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franchi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing