We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Desiree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Desiree
Ranked #157 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Very good location (maybe only two minutes from the SMN station), but still on a quiet street. My room faced into a courtyard, and it could be quite noisy, but I only noticed it during the daytime. I'm not sure if this was because they actually quieted down, or because I closed my window. The breakfast buffet was good, and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful! Room was clean and average.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Velouaaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldesiree, Responsabile reception at Hotel Desiree, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Hi Guest,

thank you so much for your good review of our hotel.
Our hotel is really a few minutes away from the main station.
It is an ideal position for those who travel by train; also after departure you can leave your lugguage free of charge.
We really hope to see you here again,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    206
    80
    19
    4
See reviews for
102
150
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

The location of the hotel is very convenient to the railway station and most of Florence's attractions. The hotel itself is in need of repair. The lift is very antiquated and a little scarey. The rooms are quite large but the decor is very old and unappealing. The bathroom leaves a lot to be desired as you have to pump the toilet to get it to work and the shower you have to pull out the walls each day to make the shower. Our shower head was broken when we arrived but once pointed out was fixed immediately. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
530 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

This is located very close to the train station but it is in a very quiet area. The location is great. The staff are friendly and very accomodating. Mirko at the front desk always helped with directions and booked reservations. My room had a balcony and the room was spacious. The beds are very firm probably too firm for me. The hotel is clean and the bathroom is also clean and has great water pressure for showers. The breakfast had cereal, pastries coffee... and it also has a little snack bar where you can purchase pop, water and snacks. The room has a safe. It is located on the 3rd floor of the building which has other hotels in it also. It has an elevator but sometimes breaks down but they will come down and carry your luggage up for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank World-wander-woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldesiree, Responsabile reception at Hotel Desiree, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for spending your time to write this wonderful review, remarking all what we do and offer for a nice stay and to make a client satisfied at Desirèe.
Your images posted, can help the people of Tripadvisor to choose our hotel :-)

Best regards.

Mirko Calamini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

The location of the hotel is very convenient, as you are within walking distance of all the main sights of Florence. The staff were also helpful, and the rooms were clean and of good size. The breakfast at the hotel was a very good continental style breakfast. One of the drawbacks: the 'en suite' was not great, having thin walls, and contained fold-away shower doors between the sink and toilet, which had to be opened out if you wanted to shower.

Parking is another issue (not just at this hotel, but at nearly every city centre hotel in Florence), and I would not recommend the receptionist's suggested valet parking service. We used this service and when our car was returned to us, despite being in good condition we found that the car had several hundred kilometres more on the clock than when it had been collected. Please investigate any parking service you use before entrusting your vehicle to a company.

Despite the above points, we did find the hotel to be of quite good service and value for the very reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldesiree, Responsabile reception at Hotel Desiree, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great feedback!
I would like also to add that we are renovating all the bathrooms for a better comfort.
About the parking , we use this private garage from many years ago, all the guests are very happy and i can't believe that they used your cat for several kilometres. ( You arrived at 7 PM and the garage is close from 12AM to 7AM )
I think that you made a mistake with the clock...

However we pay attention with this service.

Thank you again,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Really enjoyed our 5 night stay - close to the station which is a real plus Helpful friendly staff
and a great buffet breakfast
Lucky to have a balcony room with views over Florence

Would recommend this hotel - in particular its location - when you have to drag your suitcase with you !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldesiree, Responsabile reception at Hotel Desiree, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for spending your time to write this wonderful review, remarking all what we do and offer for a nice stay and to make a client satisfied at Desirèe.
We hope to see you again in the future !

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xaid23
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 night.
The Location is great, you can walk everywhere, the train station is just across the street.
The Hotel is very modest but is comfortable, the staff is really great, we asked the guys in the reception so many questions and they always pointed us and explained to us where to go and how.

The price was right for us because we were in a budget, location was amazing, walk everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelly24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

The good things: location, rate.
The bad ones: bath room is terrible, the shower is a temporary one which needs to be assemble each time you take a shower. Not ideal at all. Consider your arrival to this hotel carefully.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RafaeloA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#196 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Vasari Palace
Hotel Vasari Palace
#161 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#84 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Angelica
Hotel Angelica
#184 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#77 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#167 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Desiree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desiree

Property: Hotel Desiree
Address: Via Fiume 20, 50100, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Desiree 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Desirée: eighteen bedroom-suites placed in the centre of Florence in the quiet atmosphere of a small family-run hotel. Our Hotel is located one hundred meters far from the main station and few steps away from the most important monuments of the city, Florence Dome (Santa Maria del Fiore), the Fortezza da Basso and the Convention centre.In our Hotel every accommodation, finely furnished by the owners, is provided with all comforts: rest room, telephone, air conditioning, phon, safe-deposit box, free wi-fi internet connection in all the rooms and LED TV.The decorated floors, the Polloni’s windows, the Dome and the San Lorenzo’ view, together with friendliness of the host family offer to Desirée’s guests a pleasant and absolutely enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Desiree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desiree Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing