We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!”
Review of Hotel Desiree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Desiree
Ranked #157 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Wailea, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent location!”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

If you travel in Italy by train and you spend some time drop by beautiful town Florence and on the next day you travel by train to Pisa, this is a best hotel for your choice.

It only takes less than 5 minutes from Santa Maria Novella to the hotel, the hotel is also in the centre where you can enjoy most of the days.

For other room facilities, it is a worth spending hotel, believe me.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldesiree, Responsabile reception at Hotel Desiree, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi Guest,

just one word fo your candid feedback: THANK YOU!
We really hope to see you again as soon as possible in our hotel.

Best regards from all the staff of Desirèe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    216
    86
    20
    4
See reviews for
109
160
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013

pleasant and helpful staff, and room was clean and comfortable. No complaints and overall we enjoyed our short stay. Excellent location near station.
No problem with bathroom with everything working fine.
De Almeidas

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevindealmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldesiree, Responsabile reception at Hotel Desiree, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi Guest,

Thank you for your feedback!
We really hope to see you again as soon as possible in our hotel.

Best regards from all the staff of Desirèe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights on our honeymoon. It was a very good location to the train station! The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. THe breakfast was marginal. The walls were very thin and we could hear all conversations of our neighbors. It was nice that wifi was offered the only thing is that our wifi did not work in the room only outside in the hall.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, UT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed at both the Elite and Desiree hotels due to nights that weren't open online. In short, we created a real challenge for them with a late night arrival, 1 night in Elite followed by a night in the Desiree and finally back to the Elite. They were VERY VERY helpful through all of this. We really couldn't ask for a more professional group of staff members. VERY honest and upfront about everything!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoytraveling_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My husband and 11 month old son stayed in this quaint hotel while we stayed in Firenze for 2 days. It is conveniently located less than 2 minutes from the central train station and it is in walking distance to all of the main attractions of the city, including la'accademia, il dumo, and several other piazzas. Staff members are lovely, the continental breakfast is very satisfying offering pastries, cheese, cold meats, bread, cereal, yogurt, coffee and juices, and the hotel is very clean and quiet. This hotel also had a pack and play for our son to sleep in, which he took to very easily. I highly recommend choosing this hotel for your next stay in Florence. Oh, we paid about 80 euros a night, which in American dollars is bit pricey, but we felt it was worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marinacp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Very good location (maybe only two minutes from the SMN station), but still on a quiet street. My room faced into a courtyard, and it could be quite noisy, but I only noticed it during the daytime. I'm not sure if this was because they actually quieted down, or because I closed my window. The breakfast buffet was good, and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful! Room was clean and average.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Velouaaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldesiree, Responsabile reception at Hotel Desiree, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Hi Guest,

thank you so much for your good review of our hotel.
Our hotel is really a few minutes away from the main station.
It is an ideal position for those who travel by train; also after departure you can leave your lugguage free of charge.
We really hope to see you here again,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The location of the hotel is very convenient to the railway station and most of Florence's attractions. The hotel itself is in need of repair. The lift is very antiquated and a little scarey. The rooms are quite large but the decor is very old and unappealing. The bathroom leaves a lot to be desired as you have to pump the toilet to get it to work and the shower you have to pull out the walls each day to make the shower. Our shower head was broken when we arrived but once pointed out was fixed immediately. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#88 of 411 in Florence
893 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#182 of 411 in Florence
559 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Vasari Palace
Hotel Vasari Palace
#150 of 411 in Florence
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#140 of 411 in Florence
1,013 reviews
San Lorenzo
Lombardi Hotel
Lombardi Hotel
#212 of 411 in Florence
269 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#172 of 411 in Florence
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Desiree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desiree

Property: Hotel Desiree
Address: Via Fiume 20, 50100, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Desiree 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Desirée: eighteen bedroom-suites placed in the centre of Florence in the quiet atmosphere of a small family-run hotel. Our Hotel is located one hundred meters far from the main station and few steps away from the most important monuments of the city, Florence Dome (Santa Maria del Fiore), the Fortezza da Basso and the Convention centre.In our Hotel every accommodation, finely furnished by the owners, is provided with all comforts: rest room, telephone, air conditioning, phon, safe-deposit box, free wi-fi internet connection in all the rooms and LED TV.The decorated floors, the Polloni’s windows, the Dome and the San Lorenzo’ view, together with friendliness of the host family offer to Desirée’s guests a pleasant and absolutely enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Desiree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desiree Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing