We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“only location worthed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Desiree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Desiree
Ranked #155 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“only location worthed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

we prefered the hotel for the location, just the opposite side of central station Firenze. although firenze is not a big city, the hotel is located to walking distance of all Florence attaractions.. the hotel is too old and smeells old furnished. Our room was so small, even if we couldnt place our luggage. the linens are not so clean. the bathroom seems like hostels' bathroom. I think this is not a hotel, it is a pension.. The staff was very helpful and english speakers. the other valued thing for the hotel is the breakfast. the atmosphere and the ingredients of the breakfast is like 3*.. I think, you can find better place with the money u paid..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pasta with tuna... x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldesiree, Responsabile reception at Hotel Desiree, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
HI Pasta With Tuna ( Your id on TA ),

Thank you for your feedback for our hotel.
At the beginning i want to clarify that you booked an economy double room, so you know in advance that the room is a smaller size than the standard, but with all the furnitures.
The hotel is old stile, a great bulding of 1800 in liberty stile, is not a modern hotel and we are proud of this.
About the linens i'm sorry but is not possible that they are not clean. The linens come every day from one of the best laundry service, washed at 100° and closed in a plastic bag.
You can also send us a picture of the bathroom because i want to know why you say that is a hostels or a pension......i really don't understand.

Next time i want to invite you to book a standard room, so you can enjoy a bigger size room.

Thank you again,

Mirko.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    206
    80
    19
    4
See reviews for
102
150
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is very clean and is within 5 minutes of the Firenze station. It's located on the 2nd floor. The lift to take you up is like the one from the movie "Angel Heart" - it right out of an old mystery movie. However, the rooms are charming and furnished in a wonderful old style way. Free Wifi with strong signals in the room. The girl and the guy manning the desk are really nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMan_9192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great place - nothing super fancy or special. Nice service, good wifi (only in the hallway), and walking distance to many of Florence's beautiful attractions.

The breakfast was also good! There's an elevator but it takes too long, so just know that you have to go up the stairs to find the place. It can be hard to find, but follow the signs!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Bugger345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We loved the Desiree hotel in Florence. It is close to the train station, but it a quiet area. ..that is important because my husband is a light sleeper. It is on the second floor with a good elevator. The staff was helpful and spoke English well. Very clean.Very nice breakfast room...and breakfast.English TV news during breakfast too! Good air conditioning. ..so helpful since it was in the 90s the four days we were there. Spacious room and a lovely modern bathroom. Large armoir for clothing and a comfy chair!!! English available on in-room TV for movies only. Stocked Refrig in the room was also helpful...pay for items used at check out. Highly recommend room facing the courtyard with view of the Duomo dome!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

5 mins from SM Novella station, behind McD/BK.
Nice building view from outside.
Perfect vintage elevators with manual door closing. Second floor.
WiFi excellent. Big and spacious toilet, small shower.
No kettle but free hot water with pot given.
Simple and good breakfast.

Walking distance to major attractions and halal food around.
Recommended

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zulnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed 5 nights here recently and couldn't have been more pleased. It was RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET from the Florence train station so was SUPER convenient for arrival and departure. Just a short walk ANYWHERE in town...this hotel made a great base for exploring. My room was small but very clean and the bathroom was spotless with brand new fixtures and lots of hot water and big towels. The breakfast was simply delicious with lots to choose from, cold meats and cheeses, pastries, cereals, yogurt and THE MOST wonderful blood orange juice, I got hooked!!! - also beautiful fresh berries and melon several mornings - and from my little corner table I could see the Duomo roof!!! "Breakfast with a view" : ) The staff was extra extra nice and I look forward to staying here on my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We recently stayed 2 nights at Hotel Desiree. It is old and very charming. The rooms are small as is typical of European hotels, but having said that , it was more than adequate. The staff managing the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet had a nice variety of pastries, fresh fruit, bread, cereal, yogurts, and a meat and cheese tray. The taxi ride from the airport was 25 euro, but if you arrive by train you can easily walk to the hotel. The location is great-- we walked everywhere. Plenty of restaurants and cafés are located close by and the neighborhood seemed safe. Note that the hotel is located on the 2nd floor. There is a lift but you have to climb up several steps to reach it.

Room Tip: Some rooms seem to be more updated than others. We were in room 130 & it was ok but our daughter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#187 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Vasari Palace
Hotel Vasari Palace
#159 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#83 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Angelica
Hotel Angelica
#192 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#76 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#165 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Desiree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desiree

Property: Hotel Desiree
Address: Via Fiume 20, 50100, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Desiree 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Desirée: eighteen bedroom-suites placed in the centre of Florence in the quiet atmosphere of a small family-run hotel. Our Hotel is located one hundred meters far from the main station and few steps away from the most important monuments of the city, Florence Dome (Santa Maria del Fiore), the Fortezza da Basso and the Convention centre.In our Hotel every accommodation, finely furnished by the owners, is provided with all comforts: rest room, telephone, air conditioning, phon, safe-deposit box, free wi-fi internet connection in all the rooms and LED TV.The decorated floors, the Polloni’s windows, the Dome and the San Lorenzo’ view, together with friendliness of the host family offer to Desirée’s guests a pleasant and absolutely enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Desiree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desiree Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing