We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay, very close to the historical centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Caravaggio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Caravaggio
Ranked #123 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, very close to the historical centre”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. The hotel has an amazing location, approximately a 10 minute walk away form the Piazza del Duomo (~ 850 m). Thanks to its location, everything in the city centre is easily accessible by foot in a couple of minutes.

If you stay in the rooms on the higher floor which have a view to the backyard, you may enjoy a nice very quiet view of the city and some of its landmarks, be it day or night.

We had 2 rooms (#313, #314) and we were satisfied with them. The rooms are furnished with a beautiful wooden furniture which is very suitable for the historical city.The windows didn't have the mosquito nets but the hotel supplies their guests with electrical evaporators. The air-conditioner was quiet and reliable, there were no problems with daily cleaning and we were also satisfied with the breakfast. Even though we didn't use it, we appreciate the option to make a cup of tea/coffee at the room.

The bathrooms were clean but the shower was too small. People who suffer from claustrophobia may have problem with it - and the same applies to the hotel lift, which is the main way of transportation among the floors. Even though the stairs are available, they are not easy to access and require an access with a key (which is on the same key chain as the room key).

The staff was (receptionists, chambermaids, at the breakfast) was very helpful and friendly.

We would recommend this hotel and if we find ourselves in the city again someday, we would visit the place again!

Room Tip: Rooms oriented towards the backyard are very quiet. Moreover, higher floor offers better view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank otis91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    341
    102
    14
    9
See reviews for
170
284
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in early July. Reseption and staf very helpfull and polite. The breakfast was very good. The only problem we found was the bad coffee, but there was coffee and tea fasilities at the room and we made quick, instand coffee before starting our day at the city and finding a good cappuccino. The breakfast area was at the first floοr next to the rooms, but this isn' t a problem. There was a nice balcony with only tree tables for two persons each and we couldn't enjoy breakfast at the balcony. We had a triple room which they transformed for four persons and it was οκ. We stayed at the room only for sleep. The room was very clean. The hotel was not far from the famous attractions, but we choose it because it is at walkable distance from the train station even with big luggages. With luggages takes more time (15 to 20 min.) to get there because the pedestrian path is two narrow and at some points there are constructions and sometimes you have to rest for a moment. Check in and out was simple, smooth and as booked I would recomend this hotel for those who want to have clean and comfortable hotel at reasonable (for Italy) price, as a good base to explore the famous city of Florence.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I had to stay in this hotel on my own, and beeing a young woman, sometimes i can feel a bit akward about it. But hotel staff made me feel very comfortable. I have booked a single room- got double, which was a pleasant surprise! The gentelman on reception was very helpfull and had a good sense og humour! My room wasnt big, but perfectly equiped. Nice, comfortable bed, clean bathroom and wifi service very fast as well. Breakfast in the morning was not a disappointment, good selection of items. Really recommend this hotel, location is good as well, only 10 min walk from Doma.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexV30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed at Caravaggio for three nights in early June 2013. We had booked a Quadruple Classic Room which we found to be spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent, and set you up nicely for the day. A special Thank You to Giuseppe at the front desk for his helpfulness, and his delightful wit and charm. Plenty of good places to eat close by, all sights within walking distance, souvenir shopping a stone's throw away; the Caravaggio has everything going for it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redindianNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcaravaggio, Proprietario at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Guest,
we very much appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you soon
Thank you for all
See you soon

Leonardo Hotel Caravaggio Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

The location was giod but the path from the train station was not smooth. .. if you have big luggage, try the side of the main road with care. Smooth check in with very friendly staff. Room sound proofing was not great, cab hear next door's flushing and shower. Nice pizza shop next to it. OK for a short stay. :)

Helpful?
8 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotelcaravaggio, Proprietario at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Gary,

it was a pleasure for us to have you as a guest
See you soon

Leonardo Hotel Caravaggio Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Great breakfast with lots of options and variety. Room is very clean and complete with amenities we were looking for. Conveniently located - train station, Mercate Centrale (local market that one should experience) and San Lorenzo Market. Our only issue was the internet connection -very unstable.

Room Tip: Ask for free internet connection - but can only be used from ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiniMooRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

What a great location both of the hotel and our smallish room. Our room was facing the back yards of typical Florentine, modest homes. Our distant view (not too distant) was of the Duomo. In reality it is only a few blocks away from the hotel. The Caravaggio Hotel is close to all historic sights including museums. No need to drive. What a great walking city. We would highly recommend taking a walking tour as we did with Viator or the "Hop on Hop off bus" as we also did. There is just so much to see. Great deals to be had on wine and cured meats. Our walking tour guide helped immeasurably by pointing out where locals purchased their groceries, wine included.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. Great views and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George27_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcaravaggio, Proprietario at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for taking the time to comment

Looking forward to see you next time
Regards
Leonardo Hotel Caravaggio Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#125 of 421 in Florence
773 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#75 of 421 in Florence
1,000 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Luxor Florence
Hotel Luxor Florence
#88 of 421 in Florence
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#58 of 421 in Florence
499 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#135 of 421 in Florence
411 reviews
San Lorenzo
Botticelli Hotel
Botticelli Hotel
#163 of 421 in Florence
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravaggio

Property: Hotel Caravaggio
Address: Piazza Dell'Indipendenza 5, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in Florence
#141 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravaggio 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
500 meters from the central train station of Florence and very close to the Polo Fieristico Fortezza da Basso, Palazzo dei Congressi, Stazione Leopolda, where the main displays and fairs take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Caravaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing