We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in an Excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Caravaggio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Caravaggio
Ranked #116 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
“Great Hotel in an Excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The Hotel is a short walk from the Florence Train station and is within walking distance to all major sites. The hotel staff was very friendly and inviting and was very helpful in giving us suggestions as to what to see and do in Florence. The rooms was very clean and comfortable with very good wifi access. The breakfast wass very good with a good selection of items to choose from. We had a very enjoyable stay and will stay there again the next time we visit Florence.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mario b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    338
    101
    14
    9
See reviews for
169
281
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The hotel is 7 mins walking from Santa Maria Novella and also walking distance from most of the tourist attractions. The reception was very helpful with all the information we needed and also helped us to book our one day Tuscany tour. The breakfast is very elaborate and nice. The only thing that we didn't appreciate was the room size, though the room was clean and had all basic amenities it was too small (we stayed in room 108 probably that was very small).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saanjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel has a good location,close to all attractions in Florence.
The room was very clean, a plaisant combination of antique ( some furniture) and modern (the bathroom).Excellent desk staff, kind and helpful and a very good breakfast.We had a great vacation in Florence and we are eager to return some day and to stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smaranda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Caravaggio in early October, 2013, for 3 nights and found the experience to be overall quite good. The staff was terrific; everyone spoke excellent English, was helpful, pleasant and overall very approachable. Top notch. The location was good, close to the central train station (SM Novella) and major attractions. Our room was dated, but functional, and breakfast provided everything we needed in preparation for a day of sight seeing. Overall -recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower stall instead of a bathtub. Showering in the tub is both uncomfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMB06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
197 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here in May 2013 after being in Rome for six nights. The hotel has a good location, a 10 minute walk to the train station and the Duomo add another 10 minutes to your walk and you can be just about anywhere. The room was average and not well appointed. Our room faced the street which we found to be very busy and noisy, I would request a room away from the street on another visit. The breakfast buffet was adequate, not very fancy but had good food. The staff at the front deck was excellent. They arranged a day trip to the wine country for us that turned out to be wonderful. They also encouraged us to not take a tour to Siena but simply take a bus to the town and back for the day which also turned out to be a good recommendation. They were also good at providing excellent recommendations for food, and wine along with directions. I would stay here again but ask for a room away from the street.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed in a classical twin room for 4 nights.
The location of this hotel is decent. It's a good 10 minutes to Santa Novella train station (the roads are quite narrow on the way). Florence is a compact historical city which makes the hotel walkable from all attractions.

The room itself is quite small especially the bathroom is compact to say the least (even for European standards). The furniture in the room is ok but a bit aged. The AC is not responsive in some situations. The bathroom is definitely aged and could use a rework. The hair dryer was not working and causing sparks during our first night.

The breakfast however is quite good. It has all the variations needed with pasteries, cakes, cold meats etc. The breakroom itself is very spacious.

The service in the hotel is excellent. The receptionists were very helpful with directions and always friendly. The wifi in the rooms was fast and easily accessible. One disappointing flaw with the hotel is the cleaness. One of the towels replaced has a red stain on it. There was considerable amount of hair stuck on the ground.

The value of this hotel was great but the rooms can definitely use a refurnishing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed there 7 nights. Ck-In - went smooth no problems. Room - High ceilings, comfortable. Full bath and shower, good hot water, Slept well every night, A/C in room, note that if you open the window you will hear street noise - this did not bother us but I know some people are sensitive.
Desk Staff was excellent every time everytime we entered and exited. We had them arrange a few tours for us and the process was painless and exactly as we wanted they also arranged our taxi pickup for the airport.. Room staff visited everyday and we always returned to a clean room. Breakfast was simple but all the food groups were there - it is a help yourself set-up.
Check out - We left early to catch a flight so we had to check out the night before - all went easy (note - save some cash to pay the tourist tax as it has to be kept seperate from the hotel accounts - this is posted in the elevator)
Other items - Note the times you can use the stairs as they alarm them at night. Someone was in the lobby at all times so if you don't see any one check the bar as the same person tends the bar. This is a family run hotel so chances are the owners at tending the desk. Best place to eat is right next door (to the right as you walk out) I will review separately.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuzzyBee_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#132 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#79 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Colomba
Hotel Colomba
#64 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#129 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#74 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Luxor Florence
Hotel Luxor Florence
#99 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravaggio

Property: Hotel Caravaggio
Address: Piazza Dell'Indipendenza 5, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in Florence
#141 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravaggio 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
500 meters from the central train station of Florence and very close to the Polo Fieristico Fortezza da Basso, Palazzo dei Congressi, Stazione Leopolda, where the main displays and fairs take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Caravaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing