We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 3*” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Caravaggio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Caravaggio
Ranked #112 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not a 3*”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Big letdown. Our room was dingy and had a bad smell. The bathroom had missing and broken tiles with mildew growing around tub. We asked the desk clerk (who claimed to be one of the owners) why our room did not look like the room photos on the Hotel web-site, we were told those rooms were upgrades. Strange that the room we stayed in is the same room on-line but totally doctored up. Breakfast was o-k but low grade meats and pastries. The clerk was friendly as long as you loved everything. Location was only good thing about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rita r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcaravaggio, Proprietario at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Rita,

We are very surprised to read your comment as very strange.
Please send us an email telling us what was the number of your room so you can give the possibility to verify .
Obviously, in the hotel's website , we can not put all the photos of every room but the photos of the rooms accurately reflect the reality .
If you spend one minute to read the other comments received from all our guests of all nationalities , you will see that all of them were very happy with the room , the breakfast , the treatment received by the staff and even read " " not a 3 star " there really seems excessive considering the variety of the breakfast and all the other services we offer.
Thank you anyway for the comment and we look forward to your email where it is indicated the number of the room where you stayed so you can help us to improve and to understand if actually your comment reflects the reality.

Kind regards
Leonardo Hotel Caravaggio Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    338
    101
    14
    9
See reviews for
169
281
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Deptford, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We got to our room, generously sized for urban Europe. And then, we looked out the window, and we were very happy ;^). Bathroom was awesome, staff were great. Easy walk to the Duomo, and everywhere else. Beautiful breakfast room with a great selection. Good restaurants near the market, about five minute walk.

Room Tip: Get the "room with a view" if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at the hotel at the end of October. The hotel is conveniently situated between the railway station and the historical sites. The accommodation is comfortable and well maintained, the breakfast surpassed our expectations, and the staff were professional and accommodating. We would definitely stay at the Caravaggio if we were to make another visit to Florence.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelfanSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The Hotel is a short walk from the Florence Train station and is within walking distance to all major sites. The hotel staff was very friendly and inviting and was very helpful in giving us suggestions as to what to see and do in Florence. The rooms was very clean and comfortable with very good wifi access. The breakfast wass very good with a good selection of items to choose from. We had a very enjoyable stay and will stay there again the next time we visit Florence.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mario b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The hotel is 7 mins walking from Santa Maria Novella and also walking distance from most of the tourist attractions. The reception was very helpful with all the information we needed and also helped us to book our one day Tuscany tour. The breakfast is very elaborate and nice. The only thing that we didn't appreciate was the room size, though the room was clean and had all basic amenities it was too small (we stayed in room 108 probably that was very small).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saanjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel has a good location,close to all attractions in Florence.
The room was very clean, a plaisant combination of antique ( some furniture) and modern (the bathroom).Excellent desk staff, kind and helpful and a very good breakfast.We had a great vacation in Florence and we are eager to return some day and to stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smaranda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Caravaggio in early October, 2013, for 3 nights and found the experience to be overall quite good. The staff was terrific; everyone spoke excellent English, was helpful, pleasant and overall very approachable. Top notch. The location was good, close to the central train station (SM Novella) and major attractions. Our room was dated, but functional, and breakfast provided everything we needed in preparation for a day of sight seeing. Overall -recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower stall instead of a bathtub. Showering in the tub is both uncomfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMB06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#135 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#77 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Colomba
Hotel Colomba
#62 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#130 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#75 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Luxor Florence
Hotel Luxor Florence
#95 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravaggio

Property: Hotel Caravaggio
Address: Piazza Dell'Indipendenza 5, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in Florence
#141 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravaggio 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
500 meters from the central train station of Florence and very close to the Polo Fieristico Fortezza da Basso, Palazzo dei Congressi, Stazione Leopolda, where the main displays and fairs take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Caravaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing