We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean friendly place right where you need it”
Review of Hotel Caravaggio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Caravaggio
Ranked #117 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Caravaggio Hotel is conveniently located close to the railroad station, the leather market, the convention center and all the key sights. A 10-20 minute walk to all places. The place is clean and the staff friendly. A little cool in December so bring warm clothes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Perfect location, could walk everywhere. Just a few blocks away from the nightlife, but close enough to be there in a few minutes. Large rooms but dated furniture and lighting was not good. Location is most important to us, so we were very pleased. The hotel is also family owned and the people were very nice. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the park across the street. Its good for people watching!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 904travelmom63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here in September 2013 with my sister. We attended a wedding and this hotel was just perfect for us to have chosen for many reasons: location is great - close to station, next door to hairdressers, close walking distance to centre and taxis frequently passing outside front door; breakfast was fab - plentiful and good quality; room was spotless and furnished with lovely old fashioned furniture and great powerful shower; staff were excellent. We almost missed the tiny bar in the hotel - make sure you visit it. We met wonderful people from Canada and America and had drinks with them on a couple of evenings. The barman socialised with us and shared in all the craic. The staff here could not do enough for us and there was always a smile. We have agreed that we'll both return to Florence in the future and stay at this hotel. Look out for us!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NomDePlume007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcaravaggio, Direttore at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review, even for us was a pleasure to have you as a guest
See you soon

Regards
Leonardo Hotel Caravaggio Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel is simple but very good. Clean, cozy, great breakfast, friendly staff.
It has a square front that's cute.
Have great restaurants nearby.
For me, the only problem is being a bit far from the Historic Centre, but my boyfriend disagrees with that.
I do certainly recommend Hotel Caravaggio- Firenze!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is a great location to spend your honeymoon. Upon arrival via train we walked to the hotel (10 mins) with our bag no issues. The lobby is small but adequate. We went to our rooms and it was an ok size room. The bathroom is a stand up and per European standards. If you go for dinner or out you must leave the room keys with them which we thought was strange. We kept our stuff in the safe in the room. The staff was helpful in terms of going to the attractions and providing maps. The breakfast was alright with items they served. Ask for cappuccino rather than coffee. We had guest near us with a cat who cried and we told the front desk who took care of the issue. The restaurant next to the hotel is superb and affordable. The location was close to attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiteSurfer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Caravaggio. The room was very roomy and the bathroom large. The staff was very helpful and the property was very clean. Breakfast was nice but not overwhelming. Our only criticism was the construction next door which they could not control. Keep in mind if looking to book soon. We would stay again minus the construction. Convenient to all attractions and the markets are just around the corner.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Big letdown. Our room was dingy and had a bad smell. The bathroom had missing and broken tiles with mildew growing around tub. We asked the desk clerk (who claimed to be one of the owners) why our room did not look like the room photos on the Hotel web-site, we were told those rooms were upgrades. Strange that the room we stayed in is the same room on-line but totally doctored up. Breakfast was o-k but low grade meats and pastries. The clerk was friendly as long as you loved everything. Location was only good thing about this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rita r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcaravaggio, Proprietario at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Rita,

We are very surprised to read your comment as very strange.
Please send us an email telling us what was the number of your room so you can give the possibility to verify .
Obviously, in the hotel's website , we can not put all the photos of every room but the photos of the rooms accurately reflect the reality .
If you spend one minute to read the other comments received from all our guests of all nationalities , you will see that all of them were very happy with the room , the breakfast , the treatment received by the staff and even read " " not a 3 star " there really seems excessive considering the variety of the breakfast and all the other services we offer.
Thank you anyway for the comment and we look forward to your email where it is indicated the number of the room where you stayed so you can help us to improve and to understand if actually your comment reflects the reality.

Kind regards
Leonardo Hotel Caravaggio Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#80 of 410 in Florence
1,206 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#127 of 410 in Florence
458 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#58 of 410 in Florence
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#67 of 410 in Florence
569 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
338 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#61 of 410 in Florence
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravaggio

Address: Piazza Dell'Indipendenza 5, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in Florence
#141 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £63 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravaggio 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
500 meters from the central train station of Florence and very close to the Polo Fieristico Fortezza da Basso, Palazzo dei Congressi, Stazione Leopolda, where the main displays and fairs take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Caravaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing