We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean,Good Location,”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Caravaggio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Caravaggio
Ranked #123 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Clean,Good Location,”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We spent a week here in May 2014, the temperature was about 23 degrees (hot as we came from UK) but still winter here, people walking about in coats and scarves. Hotel is well placed for the train station and sightseeing, the main attractions are within a 10/15 minute walk.
The double room we stayed in was on the small size, had limited storage and a very small shower which was difficult to get into as we are not built like sticks! The air conditioning was still on winter setting but the very helpful desk staff reset it and we managed to get it working. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and pleasant, the room was very well cleaned and the beds comfortable. the breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice. we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elrond49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    342
    102
    14
    9
See reviews for
170
284
33
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here with my husband for a week during the winter -- we booked a triple room which was spacious with a large double and single bed. Good mattresses, on the firmer side. The bathroom was large with a big tub/shower. Everything was clean and kept clean every day. Small TV so difficult to watch much but who cares when you are in Florence! Breakfast was good (included): a variety of cereals, yogurt, some fruit, cold cut meats (good quality), cheeses, hard-boiled eggs, coffees, etc. Off-season rates were really terrific value! This hotel is an easy walk to the train station and a few minutes from San Marco and San Lorenzo market areas -- really convenient. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

clean: having heard about old Italian hotels, I was frankly expecting something less perfect, but the this place definitely exceeds my expectation in the bathroom. Maybe the bed cover condition leaves a bit to be desired given the cost of the room, but the Florence price is higher in general, so ...

spacious: It's much more spacious than I expected for a queen bed room in the center of Florence. You may be able to do some room gym if you wish to...

perfect location: 10min walk from the train station, right next to a mid-sized city square. A few local-recommended restaurants within blocks. Perfect !

helpful staff: I contacted a few days before arrival about my room preferences (quiet, view, etc) and the result is really the best I could imagine. OK, having a view of the square implies that a good set of ears can hear a bit of chatting even at midnight, but that only makes one feel more in Florence ! If you are "sensitive" to a bit of people talking down the street, ask for a room not facing the square. Otherwise, such a room is really all you need to experience this lively city. Restaurant suggestion, attraction suggestion, prompt and high quality room making ---- all the standard stuff are great too!

If I have to pick imperfection, the hotel has a reasonably sized lounge. However, not many guests seem to use it. One reason could be because sometimes the staffs would have long conversations among themselves. At least I heard a 20min one ---- I chose to leave for fear that my presence would become inconvenience to them, as their conservation seems not just daily filler, but something of real content ... I would wish more chances to connect with other travelers, e.g., in the lounge.

Room Tip: ask about higher floor, whether facing square, depending on your sensitivity to square people talks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danzhz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed in the Caravaggio for four nights and enjoyed our stay. We had a triple room with a large enough double bed and a single bed and the room was a bit larger than I expected. The staff was very nice and helpful with directions and/or answering questions. The rooms and lobby were clean and looked nice. The hotel was about four blocks from the train station and was manageable pulling our bags to the hotel, and we were within 25 minute walking distance of all of the cultural sites. The hotel is also across the street from a small city park. The one thing about this area is the small sidewalks, so be prepared for a tight squeeze when pulling your suitcases around.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Caravaggio Hotel is conveniently located close to the railroad station, the leather market, the convention center and all the key sights. A 10-20 minute walk to all places. The place is clean and the staff friendly. A little cool in December so bring warm clothes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Perfect location, could walk everywhere. Just a few blocks away from the nightlife, but close enough to be there in a few minutes. Large rooms but dated furniture and lighting was not good. Location is most important to us, so we were very pleased. The hotel is also family owned and the people were very nice. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the park across the street. Its good for people watching!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 904travelmom63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here in September 2013 with my sister. We attended a wedding and this hotel was just perfect for us to have chosen for many reasons: location is great - close to station, next door to hairdressers, close walking distance to centre and taxis frequently passing outside front door; breakfast was fab - plentiful and good quality; room was spotless and furnished with lovely old fashioned furniture and great powerful shower; staff were excellent. We almost missed the tiny bar in the hotel - make sure you visit it. We met wonderful people from Canada and America and had drinks with them on a couple of evenings. The barman socialised with us and shared in all the craic. The staff here could not do enough for us and there was always a smile. We have agreed that we'll both return to Florence in the future and stay at this hotel. Look out for us!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NomDePlume007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcaravaggio, Direttore at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review, even for us was a pleasure to have you as a guest
See you soon

Regards
Leonardo Hotel Caravaggio Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#125 of 421 in Florence
773 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#75 of 421 in Florence
1,000 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Luxor Florence
Hotel Luxor Florence
#88 of 421 in Florence
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#58 of 421 in Florence
500 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#135 of 421 in Florence
412 reviews
San Lorenzo
Botticelli Hotel
Botticelli Hotel
#163 of 421 in Florence
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravaggio

Property: Hotel Caravaggio
Address: Piazza Dell'Indipendenza 5, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in Florence
#141 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravaggio 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
500 meters from the central train station of Florence and very close to the Polo Fieristico Fortezza da Basso, Palazzo dei Congressi, Stazione Leopolda, where the main displays and fairs take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Caravaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing