We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere, most helpful, superb position”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #12 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Very good position - just round the corner from Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizzi Museum. Rooms very clean and airy, TV, no coffee maker, and bottle of wine waiting on arrival with a welcome card. Nice touch. Happy hour between 18.30 to 19.30 with free wine and soft drinks with nibbles - good time to meet other patrons. Sleep quality good - except one night regailed by drunk opera singing Italians in the street until 02.00! Thouroughly enjoyed stay and would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greensimon324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,563 - 1,569 of 3,544 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2011

We had a 4 night stay and were impressed with everything about the Davanzati. The rooms were comfortable and immaculate. The breakfast was generous and each night the owners offered a "Happy Hour" with complimentary prosecco or vino. The location is simply superb, steps from the Piazza de Republica, minutes from the Ufizzi. Every room includes a laptop and free internet. The owners were most knowledgeable and helpful helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

After reading multiple glowing reviews, I decided to stay at the Davanzati for my trip to Florence. Upon entering the hotel, we understood why the reviews were so good. The service, the care and the multiple generations of the same family looking after the hotel clearly shows. Our trip was fantastic and I really find it hard to critique this hotel, We look forward to another stay and would recommend the Davanzati strongly.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank skd555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

From the reservation process to the fun fast and warm "check in" all the way till checkout, the Hotel Davanzati exceeded expectations. Frankly, because of the great reviews, we had very high expectations and the Hotel was even better than that. The warmth of the family who runs it shows in everything. The great breakfast (fresh, deliciously sliced fruits, granola, croissants, rolls, pastries, cereal, yogurts, nutella, meat and cheese) along with a cappuccino and hot chocolate every morning prepared by the staff and the cold fruit juices. Our family of 5 with three kids - ages 10, 12 and 12- we have travelled to many places and this was hands down the best accommodations ever. We stayed in the family suite with two lofts and two baths. We could not have been more comfortable. While we had some difficulty in a tour we selected, the Hotel staff (Fabrizio and Tomasso) were helpful and extremely responsive to our concerns. Florence is a great city to walk and enjoy. This jewel of a Hotel was perfectly located to every spot we went. Florence is lucky to have the Hotel Davanzati and we will most definitely return. Thank you to the entire staff for a magical stay.

Room Tip: The Family Suite Room 100 is a must for 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intlfamilytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We are well traveled and I must say that we have never found a more perfect fit. A warm welcome, very gracious staff, wonderful recommendations for meals, and a comfortable, appealingly decorated room are among the many reasons this is a favorite. Only three or four minutes to walk to the Uffizzi, the walk itself offers much to enjoy (such beautiful architecture, and ambiance). The rate includes a very nice breakfast (cheese, sliced cold cuts, breads, pastries, fresh fruit platter, juices, teas, and all sorts of coffees (cappuchino, etc.). Fabrizio, Tommaso, and all the staff are extraordinary. These people care about their guests. We thank them. We fell in love (and I really mean this) with Florence, and The Hotel Davanzati was one of the primary reason for our passion. nb There are 28 steps up to the hotel entrance, so that has to be considered for those with mobility issues. Also, our room had a shower that was not especially large: I don't know if there are any rooms that might have tubs. The guest profile was adult, not many children. There are several tv channels in English, but they are pretty much news oriented. The hotel offers a library of DVD's to borrow. The wireless in our room worked very well.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank we-go-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

I stayed at the Davanzati for 3 nights in March 2011. I booked primarily due to the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and I was not disappointed. The Davanzati is a three star hotel so please do not expect luxury accommodation. What you can expect is a clean and comfortable room, a central location within walking distance of all the main attractions and exceptional customer service.

The single room I stayed in was a decent size. Features included a bathroom equipped with a shower, TV (with a catalog of movies to watch at no extra charge), a safe, a mini bar, air conditioning and a lap top in each room. The breakfast buffet was very nice and the complimentary “happy hour” drink and snacks is a lovely touch.

The owners are extremely friendly and will go out of their way to help you with museum reservations, restaurant recommendations and anything else you may require. During my stay I misplaced my mobile phone charger and much to my detriment, the battery ran out on the last day of my trip. It just so happened that the owner had the same brand of phone I did and very kindly lent me his charger.
I would recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emskii_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Wonderful. Easy to find. Spectacular location. Great hospitality. Staff amazingly friendly. Love the happy hour. Will never stay anywhere else in Florence.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wut5880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,293 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#7 of 410 in Florence
1,399 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#10 of 410 in Florence
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £126 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing