We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay, would stay again!”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #8 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Marys, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First stay, would stay again!”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

What a delightful experience! Fabrizio and his family truly did everything possible to make our stay memorable. It is true that standards (particularly room size) are different from the continental US, but our room was very comfortable with more modern amenities than I have ever experienced in all of my travelshe the sleep machine in the rooms was very much appreciated and help to dampen the exterior noises. The entire facility was spotless and well appointed. The 26 steps from the street level were as advertised on their website, and at the end of the day were a challenge. However; once we entered the sanctuary of The Davanzati Family, the travels of the day were rewarded with good wine and fellowship from folks from all over the world. The location is excellent and unique.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,019
    360
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
775
1,617
236
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I'm obviously not in the same zone here as everyone else. There's no question this hotel has got a great location and the owners may well be friendly and helpful but the rooms here are not somewhere you would want to spend any time in and probably most people who come to Flroence would just sleep in them. They are for the most part noisy, so if you're a light sleeper you can forget it. They are by and large quite dark, with uninviting stone floors and sparsely decorated. The bathrooms were modern and adequate but only with showers. There is a steep set of steps leading up from the street to the first floor reception which as far as I can see on their website is not mentioned anywhere so if you were disabled or in a wheelchair you would find it nigh impossible. To give them their due they do give you help with your baggage if you ring a bell. The higher grade rooms here are not cheap at 215 euros a night but that does include a cold continental breakfast. I think this all comes down to what you are used to. Plainly there are plenty of people who like this hotel and there is no question the owners play a large part towards that but this one just wasn't for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brill95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Its a perfect place to stay in Florence.This family-run hotel has a perfect location,excelent accomodation,very good breakfast and a lot of simpatic people taking care of us

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luciano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Simply put the Davanzati is the best experience and value for the dollar you could find. A perfect location to wander in Firenze, a family that treats you like family and does anything and everything to make your stay perfect. An amazingly unique and classy hotel with state of the art technology (no add on costs either). The Davanzati experience includes things like IPAD's in the lobby for reading or catching up on email, chip pass security, satellite tv with hard drive storage of hundreds of movies in all languages, high end ammenities in the room (olive oil toiletries that are amazing), laptops and free internet access for wifi in each room. The best part is the family though who want you to enjoy Firenze as they do. Restaurants, drivers or tours, reservations for hard to get at spots - they do it all. I can't say enough about the kindness of the family and Fabrizio and Tommasso set the stage of warmth but when you are greeted every morning by an immaculately dressed grandpa who actively cleans tables, sets dishes, and goes about the hotel's business it is something special to see. Its not just a business but a life choice they have made to create experiences for the world in their city. It was our 2nd time back and we will be back over and over because there is not another place I have been too that I can say you feel like each of your hard earned dollars spent is appreciated and has the return on value you want while at the same time you feel like your are totally being cared for beyond just being a revenue number to a business. Choose Davanzati and you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canmex23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I want to tell everyone about this Hotel and how marvelous our holiday was with these lovely folks but I am afraid that it will become so popular we won't be able to get a booking!

All previous praise is absolutely deserved; very warm welcome, high level of service, friendly staff, nothing too much trouble for them, lovely breakfast and a Happy Hour that was like a little party every night before we went out for the evening! I could go on and on, but the best judge of the Davanzati will be you when you visit Firenze ......stay there and see for yourself.

Room Tip: Just tell Fabrizio what you want and he will make sure you get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Had a great stay at the hotel that makes you feel very welcome. Very friendly hotel now being managed by the 3rd generation! Between Fabrizio and Tomaso, rest ensure that you have each detail of your stay covered. The hotel seems to have been recently renovated and the rooms are really good size, very quite and very clean.

There is a very nice happy hour in the evening for the guests. We only have the best memories of this stay. Will definitely come back when we do come back to Florence...hopefully soon.

Fabrizio, thanks much for the lovely bottle of wine. Thanks to all who made our stay very memorable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euro0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

If I only had one word it would be Supurb! Great location, friendly and helpful staff, clean and good sized room, great little touches like free movies, access to Ipads and laptops in each room and unusually for Europe, free WiFi. Only downside would be the stairs up to the reception, however, dont let this put you off.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
3,135 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 422 in Florence
1,206 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 422 in Florence
2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
887 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 422 in Florence
308 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 422 in Florence
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing