We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place to stay in Florence”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #12 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Warm, welcoming hotel in Florence. Best location, near all the sites. Best owners and staff. Great rooms. Fabulous happy hour. Knowledgable about everything in Florence an nearby

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a room that does not overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vail2Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,344 - 1,350 of 3,575 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

Hotel Davanzati is perfect! The price is right and the staff provide excellent customer service and recommendations for sightseeing, shopping and eating.The hotel is clean and comfortable. Fabrizio and Tommaso provided excellent support to us even prior to our arrival. We wholly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwoweekTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The Davanzati absolutely deserves its number one Trip Advisor rating. The hotel is very well located, the owners exceptionally friendly and helpful and the room was just fabulous - beautifully decorated and spotless. There wasn't a window view to the outside but that didn't really matter. The free wifi, access to iPads in the reception area, and selection of movies was very much appreciated. This is a really good example of how much trust one can place with Trip Advisor - and we noted the hotel owners proudly display their Trip Advisor rating and certificate.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MML651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Excellent, excellent, excellent.

Thank you Fabricio! We had a perfect stay and enjoyed the great breakfast, the happy hour and the most comfortable bed! The suggestions for dinner were very helpful and fantastic!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheri2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

It was with a little sadness that we departed from the Davanzati. Friends, very nice rooms and wine we left behind to carry on with our Italian Journey. The hotel takes a climb of 26 stairs to get to the elevator - just ring the bell at the bottom of the steps and they come a running. The best things about this hotel are the people that own and run it - a wonderful family that will bend sideways to help in any way that they can. Now remember, this is an old hotel - somewhere around 40 years in the same family and it is in Florence - If you want fancy rooms then go stay at the Four Seasons; if you want friendliness, Italian Culture, free wine at the happy hour and very nice - and possibly the cleanest rooms that you could find anywhere - then the Davanzati is for you.
Thanks for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Room 304 has a separate area with sliding doors to make it into a private bedroom. Also, it has a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wayne154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Hands down, booking our stay at the Hotel Davanzati was one of the best decisions we could have made. This cozy but modern hotel is owned by a grandfather/father/son who are as much a part of the hotel as the rooms.

When we arrived Febritzio, second generation hotel owner, welcomed us like we were old friends. He took time to circle areas of interest on our complementary map, wrote down directions to restaurants and gave us suggestions on what to do. They also have a complementary happy hour every night from 6:30 to 7:30 with wine and local foods. There is also an amazing complimentary breakfast every morning (which saved us a ton of money!) that included Cappuccino and breads, pastries, fruits, meats and cheese.

There are complimentary iPads you can use on site (seriously- iPads!) and every room is equipped with a computer with complimentary WiFi (notice how complimentary is a major theme)! We were also given two other free WiFi codes for any devices we brought with us. This was the only place in Italy where we had absolutely free internet use and were able to use our personal iPads from home.

The rooms are comfortable and cozy. Big beds, comfy linens and large bathroom (with heated towel rack!) as well. We were very happy with the room accommodations.

Im short, we felt like we hadn't checked in to a hotel, but were staying with some old, Italian friends who just wanted to make sure we had a great stay. If you are lucky enough to be in Florence, do yourself a favor and stay at the Hotel Davanzati!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

The key to business success are product differentiation & good service. On both fronts, Fabrizio did very well indeed. Despite being housed in a century-old building, the hotel has all the modern facilities inhouse. It's clean and innovative in its product offerings i.e. free use of iPads, the generous happy hours with complementaty drinks & snacks (my children loved this). Most important to me is the level of attention given to guest security, there are surveillance cameras throughout the property to ensure unwanted elements. We felt safe during our stay.

Fabrizio provided personal & genuine service making sure that all the guests are well-taken care off and happy. He showed real pride & effort to make our stay very satisfactory indeed. He upgraded my family of 4 to the biggest room in the property when we decided to extend our stay in Florence by one more night. His recommendation of Trattoria Nella was spot-on - excellent & unassuming food in a small but charming restaurant. It's only 5 minutes walk away from Davanzati.

If we have a chance to visit Florence again, we will definitely return to Davanzati & certainly look forward to seeing Fabrizio again ! Highly recommended hotel in amazing Florence.

Room Tip: Just tell Fabrizio your needs & he will take care of the rest !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jilnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 411 in Florence
3,340 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,917 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 411 in Florence
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#10 of 411 in Florence
445 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,466 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa n_ 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#10 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £100 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing