We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Service”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #11 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We spent 3 nights in Florence at the Davanzati. Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. It was on the small side as the bed took up most of the main room, and the shower stall was tight, but these were really small issues to us. There are lots of nice touches like Ipads you can borrow, a lap top in the room, and a lovely happy hour from 6:30 to 7:30 with complimentary wine. We had a great time talking to the other travelers and comparing notes. Breakfast is better than the usual continental fare, with espresso, and cappuccino if you want it. Tommaso is very helpful with lots of suggestions on restaurants and what sights to take in first. It's a 3 generation family place (with all of them there) and you can tell the care that goes into the service and details. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tralfaz_sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,520)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Davanzati
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,272 - 1,278 of 3,520 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

My husband and I just stayed here for 8 days. The hotel is ideally located, with brief walks to all of the major sites and tons of restaurants and shopping. There is a very nice outdoor market- mostly leather- right down the street. There is a good trattoria a few doors down.

About the physical aspect of the place....don't go if you don't want to walk up at least one, and depending on your room location, two flights of stairs. There is a little elevator after one flight to go the additional flight to the lobby with your luggage when you arrive. But, after that you do not use it. We had fair warning of this. The hotel cannot do anything about this because of the historic nature of the place. And , they do warn people when you book. We did not mind this at all. And, the staff was very helpful with luggage moving- and they disappear before you can even try to tip them.

The rooms, if ours is any guide, are small by US standards but not particularly by European standards. The bed was extremely comfortable and nicely appointed. We both have neck and back issues and were very comfortable. Here is my only room complaint- there was no place to put things. The bathroom had a wide edged sink that allowed a temporary spot for toiletries, but other than that, there was a very small shelf- just enough for a cup and one small toiletry case. The bathroom, by the way, was a nice size and had a window- which was nice for additional defogging after showers. I would put a tiny corner table under the window with shelves or drawers so that more could be stored in the bathroom. The bedroom had one table with a small drawer. Other than that, there were no drawers and no shelves for clothing. There was one small closet. There was a tiny additional room with a chair and a little table, so that is pretty much where the clothes that could not hang lived during our stay. Note to owners- swap that little table for a small chest of drawers and do the same for the furniture under the TV. Although I am noting this,we obviously loved this hotel anyway.

The room had a white noise machine, which was great for my husband since I arrived with a cold. It also helped us to sleep in a little when we wanted despite outside noise. The rooms have double glass windows that swing open and also interior heavy wood shutters, so they do minimize outdoor noise and also block light well. Nice with jet lag.

Another great perk with this hotel was free and secure wi-fi. They give you user names and passwords for up to three devices. We had iPhones with us that we used, but they also have three iPads for use in the lobby. People seemed to use those in the lobby or in the breakfast/bar during breakfast and happy hour. There was always one available.

Speaking of happy hour, that was also a very nice extra. From 6:30 to 7:30, the breakfast room and lobby area are all candlelit, and there is music. They serve chianti or prosecco for free. Both were good- and we are picky. There are other things available for a price. We did this most, though not all nights. One night we had to do an early dinner to get to the opera. Another night, we wanted an enoteca experience and were hungry early, so we went there instead. There is a lttle food at happy hour but nothing that we wanted much of. Anyway, very nice.

The hotel is run by grandfather, father and son. They are very welcoming and helpful. We mostly dealt with Tommaso. Fabrizio was at the desk the two evenings when we were not able to go to happy hour, but we heard other guests speak highly of him. Tomasso gave us mostly good advice about wherer to eat. Actually, all but one recommendation was good. Do NOT go to Trattoria Garga. We went despite some of the bad trip advisor reviews since he recommended it, and we regretted it. Mediocre overpriced food and cigarette smoke. On the other hand, there were several others he recommended that were very good- (I reviewed them) two of them we returned to a second time for lunch or another dinner. Do go to Trattoria Armando and Canineta dei Verazzano though- not places he had mentioned. The staff other than owners also were all very pleasantand helpful.

Finally- breakfast- was a mixed bag. The hostess was very nice and accommodating. She made nice espresso and tea. The rest is buffet. There was very nice fruit every morning. Kiwi, oranges, banana, and pineapple. Very fresh and good. This was sliced on a platter, with each kind being separate so that you could choose only the pieces that you wanted. Then there were a lot of pastries that looked delicious, but all had egg in them, and I am allergic to egg. Even the croissants in Italy have egg in them, which is unusual. There was one thing that did not have egg. It was a roll. It was good the first day,okay the second day and then very stale after that. They did start also putting out some bread though, so I had that instead. There was a nice selection of jam. They also had some cereal and yogurt- I can't eat the yogurt, so I don't know how that was. There was juice. There was salami, ham and cheese as well. The salami and ham were good.

That about does it. I would love to return to this hotel. The positives far outweigh the negatives. It is a good value. You can't beat the location. Oh- and don't worry about language. We made a point to start learning Italian before we went because we wanted to. But you can certainly get by without it here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TruthAsIKnowIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Yes, the good ratings are deserved, but don't forget that this is a 3-star hotel, not a 5-star. Highlights included cleanliness, friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, and safety and security. Happy hour was a nice touch- good opportunity to meet fellow guests and get dinner recommendations (minimal snacks though). Breakfast was a little sparse, but the fruit in particular was very good. Great room key system that allows them to know when you are in the room, so no annoying knocks on the door from housekeeping. Good attention to detail in a variety of ways, including the free, secure wifi, white noise machine to minimize street noise. Very comfortable bed. No drawers at all in our room, but there was enough room to organize things in other ways. Overall, a really good value in that they offered the things that we cared about the most.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaineGuy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Don't miss the chance to stay in this wonderful Hotel. the first question pop in your mind after lengthy journey either by plane or train is: how is my Hotel Room will be ? In "Davanzati Hotel" you will have:
- Warm Welcoming Greetings and Smily Faces. (Thanks Mr. Fabrizio and his very nice Father, unfortunately we didn't meet Tommaso)
- Lovely Hotel Atmosphere.
- Top notch Location (everything minutes walking)
- Simple decorated Rooms along with High Tech equipments.
- Great guides from Mr. Fabrizio Family for Restaurants, sightseeing spots and a lot more.

I stayed for 2 nights only (You need at least 5 nights to see the adorable to imagination Florence in full) and it turned to be one of my great stays. Without hesitation will come back to stay. Warm thanks to Davenzati

Room Tip: For quiet stay ask for ground floor room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fuj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

A group of 3 couples stayed for 3 nights.The location is perfect. The Fabrizio and Tomamaso wemt he extra mile to make sure our stay was fantastic in every way.They have a complimentary happy hour every evening between 6:30 and 7:30 which was a great opportunity to talk to them about our plans for the following day. They organised a local English speaking tour guide who was excellent and we followed their dinning recommendations for all 3 evenings, all were very good.

Room Tip: Reception is on the first floor we had a room on the 2nd foloor which means you can hear the music d...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

A first class welcome from the Staff at Hotel Davanzati, who provided us with essential insights into restaurant bookings, discount museum reservations, where to find the best sights, how to avoid the crowds etc.

The room was fantastic - simple but with high ceilings, charming decor and importantly triple glazing to keep the noise out (it is very central so this is a must in a University town!).

Breakfast a little basic but other thoughtful touches such as laptops in each room, Happy Hour drinks, use of iPADS at reception and free satellite TV with 100s of free films are much appreciated after a hard day pounding the pavements of Florence :)

One tip - don't drive to Florence because parking is unbelievably expensive but here again the hotel recommended us a very reasonably priced garage who stored the car away for us for a couple of days.

Will definitely come again - thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CC_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This hotel truly deserves the #1 rating on TA. Fabrizio and colleagues were terrific. Quick to make a recommendation, to call for a reservation, or just to say hello. Happy Hour and Breakfast were terrific. Location is in the heart of the action. Would definetly stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcoxpharmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#2 of 411 in Florence
3,246 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,359 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#10 of 411 in Florence
335 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £126 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing