We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a comfortable place to rest your head and weary legs!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #9 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a comfortable place to rest your head and weary legs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Tucked away up a narrow flight of steep stairs, the Davanzati is a place of light and comfort. The hotel is very well-located, within 10-20 minutes of walking of all Florence' charms, a 15 minute walk to/from the station and a 26 euro taxi ride to/from the airport. The rooms are warm and functional, and the daily breakfast, simple and filling. The charming team at the reception is incredibly helpful with reservations, information and directions, and unfailing in their welcome. A particular charm is the evening aperitif sessions where guests gather by candlelight to chat about their days over wine, before the onset of their evening plans for Florence. Each room comes equipped with a laptop and internet access which was super useful for us.

One small, niggling complaint - the windows in the room where we stayed, opened up over a rather noisy part of the old town - especially in the wee hours of the morning, and between 6 am and 730ish when the vans come to get the garbage and recyclables and u wake up to the crashing sounds of glass bottles being carted off! But, then peace returns, and with it the sunlight and tolling of church bells.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeybeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,952
    354
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
753
1,584
231
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is a very well run hotel. They have the attitude that they really want to help. And, having a free breakfast and a free reception every day is awesome. In the off-season, this is terrific value for money.

If you are looking for a hotel with tons of Italians, this is not the one. Because it is tops on TripAdvisor, it is mostly Americans here. That's fine for me, but I thought it should be noted.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

just wonderful- a perfect stay in an amazing city!!!!!!! Don't stay anywhere but here- the perfect location, outstanding service and a terriffi value. i highly recommend this hotel for guests of any age at any time of year

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marco b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Just back from a very pleasurable experience staying in Florence at the Davanzati Hotel.
The hotel is ideally situated in the centre or Florence close to all major sightseeing attractions. Steps up to reception are quite steep so may prove a little tricky for some guests although this wasn’t the case for us. On entering reception, we were instantly aware of the warmth and cosy atmosphere and were greeted with a lovely welcome from Fabrizio. We were directed to our room which was close to reception and we couldn’t have been happier. Spacious, lovely décor, huge comfortable bed (excellent nights sleep), TV with English channels and free movies, mini bar, everything you could need. The bathroom was bright clean and well appointed, excellent shower!
Continental buffet breakfast was available from 7.30 – 10.30am, plenty of everything to suit most tastes, served in a nice relaxed atmosphere.
The happy hour which takes place each evening was most enjoyable, we were a little apprehensive to start with but once in mingling and chatting with the other guests made a point of attending each evening. The wine and nibbles certainly went down well and it was nice to hear about the daily adventures of others.
The staff were professional, polite and the most helpful, the after service we received after leaving an item behind was second to none – thank you very much.
I will certainly be recommending this hotel to others and will stay here again if we are luckily enough to return to Florence.

Room Tip: Can recommend room number 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This boutique hotel was perfect for our trip to Florence - the central location, cute decor and unbelievably helpful staff made Hotel Davanzati feel like a home away from home. Little things like the evening cocktail hour, laptops in the room, and staff helping with museum tours and dinner recommendations made our stay hassle-free and thoroughly enjoyable! We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Br1g3tt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I'm not sure what I can say about Davanzati that hasn't already been said. The service is incredible, the location is perfect and there are so many little perks to staying here. It is no wonder why it is top rated in Florence.
The staff gave great dinner recommendations and even made last minute reservations for us to make sure we had no wait. The happy hour was a nice touch and was a perfect snack to keep us content before a late dinner. The staff was always nearby and willing to assist or help with suggestions and advice.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay in Davanzati and would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Florence. The hotel was clean, service amazing...absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We spent 3 nights in Florence at the Davanzati. Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. It was on the small side as the bed took up most of the main room, and the shower stall was tight, but these were really small issues to us. There are lots of nice touches like Ipads you can borrow, a lap top in the room, and a lovely happy hour from 6:30 to 7:30 with complimentary wine. We had a great time talking to the other travelers and comparing notes. Breakfast is better than the usual continental fare, with espresso, and cappuccino if you want it. Tommaso is very helpful with lots of suggestions on restaurants and what sights to take in first. It's a 3 generation family place (with all of them there) and you can tell the care that goes into the service and details. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tralfaz_sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,986 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#8 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing