We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location.. Delightful hotel!”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #8 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
263 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Perfect location.. Delightful hotel!”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Rooms were large.. Ours was set with two twin beds. Room was nicely decorated,beds were clean and comfy, each room has laptop for guest use and free wireless! Happy hour was nice touch with free prosecco or red wine and some munches . Breakfast was cereal , meats, cheeses, breads, fruit, juice, coffee. The hotel is family run and the patriarch is still on the premises daily to keep things running smoothly! Bath gels are wonderful.. Made locally in Florence ! Staff was helpful and very friendly.. We loved the hotel and the delightful city of Florence and hated to leave!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiggygailTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,019
    360
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
775
1,617
236
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just returned from Italy and we booked at the Davanzati for the Florence part of our trip, based upon the reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed by our choice. The hotel is run by an exceptional staff and Fabrizio especially was very helpful. All the restaurants he recommended were excellent. It was great to have a free laptop and internet in the room so we could research tours, look at maps and read reviews for local restaurants. It allowed us to remain connected to the world without having an additional $8-12 a day added to the bill for internet. They also have WIFI throughout the hotel and have 3 Ipads that can be used in the lobby area, which is very convenient when you want to look something up quickly.

The hotel is located in a great location just a few minutes walk from the Uffizi and very near an outdoor leather goods market. The location also allows you to stop by during the day to drop off any gifts you’ve purchased or change clothes if the weather/temperature has changed. We did not find the area to be too noisy at night, but did use the white noise machine offered by the hotel.

There is really nothing I can add about the hotel that others haven’t. I would add some tips for anyone travelling to/from Florence. We took the train from France to Italy and found that all the transfers were fairly simple, but there were a lot of stairs involved when transferring tracks. Most train stations required you to walk down stairs into tunnels to go under tracks, which is quite normal. However, we were in Europe for 14 days and needed larger bags, which were a pain to drag up and down stairs. We were pretty exhausted by the time we got to the hotel the first day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighFlyerNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Davanzati for 3 nights and checked in on the 24th February. My brother stayed at the hotel in December and highly recommended it so I thought I'd give it a try myself :-)

Tommaso and Fabrizio were helpful from the moment we enquired about booking to the moment we checked out. It was our first visit to Florence and we didn't know how far the airport from was the centre / hotel and what our options were to get there etc. We were thinking about going to see an opera and they also provided information on this too.

The airport is not far from the city centre. If you email Tommaso or Fabrizio I'm sure they will inform you that you have a few options on how to get to the hotel. You can take the bus from outside the airport, it costs 5 Euros per person and takes you to Santa Maria Novella train station which is a 10 minute walk to the hotel. If you need a map of the city centre then there is a tourist information office right opposite the bus stop! A taxi to the hotel will cost around 25 Euros - there are many outside the airport. You can also hire a private driver for around 70 Euros. Personally I would rather save my money to use on holiday so we took the bus which was easy enough :-)

The guys at the hotel will also warn you that you have to walk up 26 steps in order to get to the lift that takes you to the hotel, so if you are not comfortable walking up steps or you don't fancy walking up steps after a long day then this is probably not the place for you. The steps posed no problem for us even though we spent most of the day out walking and climbing stairs and hills etc.

We stayed in a standard double room which cost 122 Euros per night but the hotel offer 10% discount if you pay in cash. Remember there is a 3 Euros per person per night charge which you will need to pay on top of this. (This is not charged by the hotel - it is payable to the government.) The room itself was spacious and very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room had all basic amenities including hair dryer, TV and mini bar. The hotel also provides a laptop with free wireless connection which is a great personal touch considering how wired the world is today.

The hotel offers a free happy hour every night from 6:30pm. They provide prosecco, chianti, bruschetta, nuts and other snacks. They don't have to do this but they seem to take pleasure in seeing guests mingling with each other which is great! We met a couple from Brussels who have a cute 2 year old son at one of these happy hour events.

The breakfast at the hotel is continental which consisted of freshly basked croissants, sweet tarts, cereal, bread with cheese and various meats. They also provide free cappucinos and lattes etc which were lovely. Service is immaculate. The staff have a genuine positive attitude.

The hotel is located right in the centre of Florence. Minutes walk away from art galleries and museums in Piazza Della Signoria. Minutes walk away from the Ponte Vecchio where you can cross the river to explore the other side. Minutes walk away from the Duomo. It is a great base to explore this wonderful romantic city. The train station is about 10 minutes walk away so we took a train to Pisa to see the leaning tower. The journey takes about 1 hr 15 minutes one way. If you are thinking of doing this then make sure you stop at the Pisa SR station (not Pisa Central) - the leaning tower is only 5 minutes walk from SR station. However most tourists stop in central which is further.

Another useful tip...if you are thinking about visiting the Duomo (highly recommended) then do it first thing in the morning. Why? Because the staircase is very narrow near the top and it becomes very congested during the day when there are a lot of tourists trying to see the view from the top. The walk up costs 6 Euros per person and there are 414 steps so be warned! It is worth doing though...the views are amazing!

We went to see an opera show in St Mark's church (5 - 10 minutes from from the hotel across the river) which cost 30 Euros per person. They were performing "La Traviata" when we were there and it was definitely a good experience. It's an informal affair so you can wear jeans and trainers if you wish to.

The Piazzale Michaelangelo is well worth a visit too. However if you are not comfortable walking up slopes (quite a few of them) to get to the top, then you might be best getting a taxi up there. The views of Florence from the top are amazing. Tomasso informed me that the sunset is beautiful from there but unfortunately we didn't have time to stay until sunset. It's also a free visit if you don't go into any of the museums etc.

Overall the hotel is amazing. Good value for money for the service, location and friendly environment they provide. They think of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. One night we heard some locals outside on their balcony chatting into the early hours. The hotel room has a "white noise" machine which helped us fall asleep no problem! I was very impressed...they go the extra mile to make your stay special :-)

If you're reading this, thanks Tomasso and Fabrizio for making our stay wonderful :-)

Lisa

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mathswiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Tucked away up a narrow flight of steep stairs, the Davanzati is a place of light and comfort. The hotel is very well-located, within 10-20 minutes of walking of all Florence' charms, a 15 minute walk to/from the station and a 26 euro taxi ride to/from the airport. The rooms are warm and functional, and the daily breakfast, simple and filling. The charming team at the reception is incredibly helpful with reservations, information and directions, and unfailing in their welcome. A particular charm is the evening aperitif sessions where guests gather by candlelight to chat about their days over wine, before the onset of their evening plans for Florence. Each room comes equipped with a laptop and internet access which was super useful for us.

One small, niggling complaint - the windows in the room where we stayed, opened up over a rather noisy part of the old town - especially in the wee hours of the morning, and between 6 am and 730ish when the vans come to get the garbage and recyclables and u wake up to the crashing sounds of glass bottles being carted off! But, then peace returns, and with it the sunlight and tolling of church bells.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeybeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is a very well run hotel. They have the attitude that they really want to help. And, having a free breakfast and a free reception every day is awesome. In the off-season, this is terrific value for money.

If you are looking for a hotel with tons of Italians, this is not the one. Because it is tops on TripAdvisor, it is mostly Americans here. That's fine for me, but I thought it should be noted.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

just wonderful- a perfect stay in an amazing city!!!!!!! Don't stay anywhere but here- the perfect location, outstanding service and a terriffi value. i highly recommend this hotel for guests of any age at any time of year

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marco b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Just back from a very pleasurable experience staying in Florence at the Davanzati Hotel.
The hotel is ideally situated in the centre or Florence close to all major sightseeing attractions. Steps up to reception are quite steep so may prove a little tricky for some guests although this wasn’t the case for us. On entering reception, we were instantly aware of the warmth and cosy atmosphere and were greeted with a lovely welcome from Fabrizio. We were directed to our room which was close to reception and we couldn’t have been happier. Spacious, lovely décor, huge comfortable bed (excellent nights sleep), TV with English channels and free movies, mini bar, everything you could need. The bathroom was bright clean and well appointed, excellent shower!
Continental buffet breakfast was available from 7.30 – 10.30am, plenty of everything to suit most tastes, served in a nice relaxed atmosphere.
The happy hour which takes place each evening was most enjoyable, we were a little apprehensive to start with but once in mingling and chatting with the other guests made a point of attending each evening. The wine and nibbles certainly went down well and it was nice to hear about the daily adventures of others.
The staff were professional, polite and the most helpful, the after service we received after leaving an item behind was second to none – thank you very much.
I will certainly be recommending this hotel to others and will stay here again if we are luckily enough to return to Florence.

Room Tip: Can recommend room number 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
3,135 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 422 in Florence
1,202 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 422 in Florence
2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
887 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 422 in Florence
308 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 422 in Florence
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing