We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights of greatness”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #12 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Florence is an amazing city and I will never return without the intention of enjoying another stay at Hotel Davanzati. We stayed in five hotels in Switzerland and Italy in August 2011 and this was our favorite. We instantly felt welcomed and thankful to have chosen to stay there. I don't remember what we paid, but it honestly doesn't matter. If it was high, it was totally worth it. If it was low, we got the deal of a lifetime. My fiance and I still drink prosecco with fond memories of the Davanzati happy hour. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spectactic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 3,549 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Our stay was just for overnight to catch the morning train, but everything was very nice and the hotel staff exceptional.
Thank you, we travel this way often so we will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMPOTTERY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

it was a really cool hotel, staff was really helpful. But i dont think price and quality matc is ok... Also if you are going to Tuscany you have to stay more historical places. You can choose to rent a farmhouse or u can stay smaller hotels. this hotel make me feel i am in rome or somewhere else. too many information on web like readunread.com about renting house and staying in tuscany or agriturismo.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yasemen u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We had a great stay at Hotel Davanzati. Our room was lovely. The hotel is a quick walk from the train station and most major sights. The hotel staff was kind enough to make reservations for us for the Accademia and the Uffizi. We ate dinner at the Hard Rock Cafe one night and it was good. We would encourage people to choose Hotel Davanzati for their Florence stay, it really added to our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We had an amazing stay at the Davanzati Hotel. Fabrizo and Tommaso were the best hosts and were incredibly helpful with everything. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The Hotel's location is the best. It is in the city's center and very close to all the points of interest. I would highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Rooms were large.. Ours was set with two twin beds. Room was nicely decorated,beds were clean and comfy, each room has laptop for guest use and free wireless! Happy hour was nice touch with free prosecco or red wine and some munches . Breakfast was cereal , meats, cheeses, breads, fruit, juice, coffee. The hotel is family run and the patriarch is still on the premises daily to keep things running smoothly! Bath gels are wonderful.. Made locally in Florence ! Staff was helpful and very friendly.. We loved the hotel and the delightful city of Florence and hated to leave!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiggygailTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just returned from Italy and we booked at the Davanzati for the Florence part of our trip, based upon the reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed by our choice. The hotel is run by an exceptional staff and Fabrizio especially was very helpful. All the restaurants he recommended were excellent. It was great to have a free laptop and internet in the room so we could research tours, look at maps and read reviews for local restaurants. It allowed us to remain connected to the world without having an additional $8-12 a day added to the bill for internet. They also have WIFI throughout the hotel and have 3 Ipads that can be used in the lobby area, which is very convenient when you want to look something up quickly.

The hotel is located in a great location just a few minutes walk from the Uffizi and very near an outdoor leather goods market. The location also allows you to stop by during the day to drop off any gifts you’ve purchased or change clothes if the weather/temperature has changed. We did not find the area to be too noisy at night, but did use the white noise machine offered by the hotel.

There is really nothing I can add about the hotel that others haven’t. I would add some tips for anyone travelling to/from Florence. We took the train from France to Italy and found that all the transfers were fairly simple, but there were a lot of stairs involved when transferring tracks. Most train stations required you to walk down stairs into tunnels to go under tracks, which is quite normal. However, we were in Europe for 14 days and needed larger bags, which were a pain to drag up and down stairs. We were pretty exhausted by the time we got to the hotel the first day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HighFlyerNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 409 in Florence
3,315 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,863 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#7 of 409 in Florence
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#55 of 409 in Florence
1,445 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#11 of 409 in Florence
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £100 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing