We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #9 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my sister for a weekend in march, all I can say it that everything about the hotel is perfect. Location is so central, staff just can't do enough for you.

We had a suite, with a beautiful terrace, that we used in the late afternoon

In summary there is no other place to stay in Florence, I just wait to go back with my husband and children.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yblacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,954
    354
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
754
1,585
231
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Excellent Customer Service is an art, and Tommaso and Fabrizio are the Michelangelo and Da Vinci of the hospitality industry. From the moment you book your room the experience is different than anything you’ve ever had with another hotel. Couple this service with comfortable rooms in an excellent location with a library of free-amenities, and you have a hotel I wish I could give 6 stars.

Service: I booked the hotel a few months before our trip and Fabrizio was in email contact throughout that time; offering suggestions, booking a tour, reserving our entrance into the Academia, and making restaurant reservations. We even discussed how to get soccer tickets to a match in Siena and his recommendation of waiting until the day of the game saved me 200 euro (the game got cancelled, I would have been stuck with 2 tickets!). When we arrived, Tommaso welcomed us into the lobby like we were old friends. The love and energy Tommaso has for Florence is infectious, and he instantly realized we were looking for a local, authentic experience and feverishly marked the map with restaurants and walks where we would mingle more with the locals. While checking our passports Tommaso recognized it was my husband’s birthday and a bottle of wine with a birthday card were delivered to our room. Even upon checking out Fabrizio was helping us navigate the rest of our trip; advising us to take the bus rather than the train to Siena, providing us directions, getting us the schedule.

Location: Could not be better. Hotel Davanzati is a very short walk to the Ponte Vecchio, Uffizi, Duomo, and train station. It is in the middle of the action yet off the main drag, close without feeling like it is overrun by crowds and tourists.

Room: We booked a standard double room and were pleasantly surprised; it was large with an outdoor terrace, easily the largest room we had in Italy! From what I can gather one of the Standard Doubles in the hotel has a terrace and we were fortunate to get it. The room 101 terrace doesn’t have a view, it is between buildings, but it’s large with a table that sits 6 and ans umbrella. It felt like a little oasis in the city, a place to share wine with friends, or get bread, cheeses, and cold cuts for a meal. This room can connect with the room next to it to create a family suite if needed. The provided soaps and shampoos were lovely and mild, made of Tuscan olive oil. Like all the hotels we stayed at, there is no hair conditioner, but the shampoo was so moisturizing that was okay. The hairdryer is pretty powerful. There was no iron in the room but I have no doubt that if I asked for one Tommaso and the team would have it to us in minutes.

WiFi: Upon checking in you get 3 WiFi passwords for various devices; if you need more they are provided- Free! The room comes with a laptop which we used to do a few things that are difficult to do on our iPad like check some banking, and make a reservation for later in the trip on a site that was not mobile friendly. The WiFi was still pretty powerful in our room, although intermittent on the terrace. iPads are provided for the daily paper as well.

Breakfast: Full espresso/cappuccino service, fresh pastries, home-made jams, and single serve packets of nutella. Did I mention the cappuccino is delicious?

Happy Hour: The lobby you check into is transformed to a funky cocktail bar with dimmed lights, candles, music, and free-flowing prosecco and wine. For Americans who are used to eating their evening meal closer to 6, this is a nice transition into night, a post-tour light snack with cocktails to relax before dinner. The hotel caters to all walks of life; families, couples of all ages, and singles looking for a nice place to stay. But the Happy Hour felt really young and “hip,” even though most of the attendees were easily older couples in their 60s! We sipped our prosecco, toasted my husband’s 37th birthday, and made a wish that we’d still be traveling the world, staying in great hotels, attending happy hours, and squeezing every ounce out of life like the other couples we shared Happy Hour with. Salut!

Drawbacks: Trip Advisor can cause you to go into analysis paralysis, so many ratings, writings, and opinions so I wanted to address some others’ complaints. If you can’t walk up a flight of stairs, stay someplace else. The showers are small, which is pretty typical for Europe, but if you are big, need extra space, or a tub you should stay someplace else. Breakfast is a modest spread of pastries, bread, and some meats so if a big breakfast complete with hot items is important to you, stay someplace else. If you can’t sleep through the sound of an active city bring ear plugs, visit a deserted island, or stay home. Italy has church bells, garbage trucks, honking horns, street vendors, restaurants, and, if you’re out in the countryside, roosters. You are not escaping noise at any hotel in Italy. Hotel Davanzati does provide noise cancelling machines, which I never even took out of the closet. If you hate good customer service and are suspicious of the intentions of people willing to bend over backwards to make your visit enjoyable and memorable, stay someplace else. Everyone else, book your stay at the Hotel Davanzati, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vagablondechelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Such a cute place, very friendly staff, great happy hour and the perfect location. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kari4princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Central location . Good place to stay. Within walking distance of everything

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elf21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We had the joy of staying at hotel Davanzati for three nights in April and we were very happy with the service that this hotel provides. They helped us with our bags both on arrival and on departure, happy hour was a great touch each night and an oppurtunity to take a load off while your having a beverage before heading out for more sight seeing or dinner.

Breakfast was also included in our room rate and this was a great way to start the day with all sorts of food on offer and coffee made to order.

Fabrizio and Tommaso are excellent hosts and make you feel at home right from the get go, like your part of the family. The restaurant suggestions and local knowledge are also invaluable and we are still raving about 'Acqua al 2' and since passed this onto to other travelers that we have talked to about visiting Florence.

The reservation service on offer is also of great assistance no waiting in line just show your reservation and you go straight through and into the museum a much better use of your time than standing around waiting in lines.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for service, location and assistance with
Oval knowledge. If you are still trying to decide then book the Hotel Davanzati for your stay in Florence.

Room Tip: We had a room on level one and it was very quiet, opened up onto a private court yard and the room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clancy-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This hotell is terrific in all ways. The location is excellent, right in the middle of the Old Town of Florence, just a few minutes walk from Ponte Vecchio and Piazza della Signoria. Still the narrow walking street in front of the hotell is quiet, and the windows very well isolated from all sounds from outside. Fabrizio is a service wonder, and his staff is followinging his example. We have never had better service anywhere in the world! The beds were good and the free laptop and free wi-fi were a bonus. The "iPad corner" where you borrowed an iPad instead of a newspaper is a terrific idea. The possibility to borrow guide books and maps during your stay is very good service. The Happy Hour each avening is a nice get together for the guests staying at this hotel. It seemed like 90% of all tourists in Florence and at this hotel are from the USA. You won't meet many European tourists in this town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Hotel Davanzati is a short walk to almost every major attraction in the city, is clean, well appointed and well run, but it is the graciousness, charm, and conviviality of the proprietors that made the biggest impression on us. The father and son team of Fabrizio and Tomaso have hospitality in their blood and their hotel is a reflection of their attention to the customer experience. From the minute you walk in the door you are greeted like a long lost relative (or a new member of the Hotel Davanzati family). Dinner reservations are arranged, museum tickets reserved, directions given and personalized suggestions made in a way that should be studied by concierges around the world. These gentlemen simply know how to make their guests feel welcome and at home in a strange city. Their restaurant recommendations in particular were superb! While not truly luxurious or blessed with stunning views, Hotel Davanzati is clean, comfortable and truly customer focused. We loved Florence and plan to come back. Where will we stay? The Hotel Davanzati of course!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olaffub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#8 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing