We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Detail oriented and helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #10 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Detail oriented and helpful”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

From the very start, our experience with Hotel Davanzati was great. They sent a helpful email right after we made our reservation, and shared good tips about Florence. They reserved some museum tickets for us. They helped out with a near traffic ticket for driving in the city's restricted zone - and that was actually three days before we began our stay with them. Then, upon arrival, we were greeted warmly, helped promptly with luggage, maps, tips, settling in, etc. The happy hour drinks are served in the eating area, with the lights low and some good music on. There's a little to eat, though not much. We got help with a dinner reservation, and even communicating to the restaurant manager that it was my wife's birthday - which resulted in a spirited rendition of "Happy Birthday" (in English) and a complimentary slice of cheesecake with a candle. On the day of our departure, we had to leave the hotel at 4:30 a.m., and not only was a helpful and polite driver waiting for us in the lobby, but also a member of the hotel staff (which I would not necessarily have expected at that hour in a hotel of this relatively small size. They had some yogurt, bread and fruit that we could take along, since we missed breakfast that day. We did enjoy the breakfast service, which was good but unremarkable. The room itself was comfortable for four people (2 adults, 2 kids), with no one relegated to a sofa bed or cot. In room features included a wide and eclectic selection of free on-demand movies (good news for our kids on a hot day in between museum visits), a laptop computer, wi-fi, and even a device to create some "white noise" if the city noise disturbs you. Though in the heart of Florence, the neighborhood did not seem loud to us on our two weekdays in early July. The room had two separate double-paned windows, plus a wooden shutter on the inside, so even if it been a little loud outside I think we'd have been okay. Overall, the only caution I would offer is that elderly guests or those who have any trouble with stairs might be put off by the first flight to climb in order to reach the elevator. They might have a solution to that, but I didn't see it. Worth asking about ahead of time, but otherwise, go ahead and book it - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,971
    356
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
759
1,593
231
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This hotel truly warrants the high praise it receives from reviewers. Excellent advice is provided by the owners on places to eat and see. With its central location all the major sights are walkable. (A taxi from the station to the hotel with heavy bags though, is money well spent).We walked alongside the River Arno where we could in the evening, as we travelled to the restaurants, both before and after sunset, truly memorable. Our favourite restaurant (but most expensive) was Frescobaldi Wine Bar and Restaurant.
You must go over the Ponte Veccchio as the only original ancient bridge still standing over the river. Buying the timed tickets into the museums is definitely recommended, thus beating the massive queues.
A point to consider is mosquito repellant. Not the first thing you think of on a trip to Florence, but based on our experience, essential.
Enjoy the hotels free happy hour, delicious breakfasts, thoughtful staff, ipads in the reception area and lovely rooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanfromLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My wife and I had our first holiday away for 20 years and wanted a hotel that was convenient stylish and homely. Davanzati offered all these and we found ourselves relaxing and enjoying the fabulous Florence experience within moments of arrival. Happy hour is a great way to have a bit of fun and learn from fellow travellers. The hotel caters for all, there were families, old and young couples all mixing easily. All the staff are helpful but in particular the owner who has great tips and is incredibly accommodating. Florence was wow, with all its sights to see. Got the bus to Sienna and Fiesola to mix it up - public transport punctual and easy and gives a nice detour through the Tuscan countryside. We enjoyed the limousine trip with the view of Florence at night. Many many happy memories, thanks again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea5682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We were very happy with our choice of hotel in Florence. We found the position of the hotel to be excellent and the staff were very attentive. Great service is their number 1 priority and it shows. There are lots of little touches one does not expect of a 3* hotel and it really made all the difference. You can not go wrong with this family hotel in Florence.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms with windows that opened onto the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iJonty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I know Florence quite well and have earlier stayed for longer periods in a rented studio. This was the first time I needed a hotel, and I was unsure about a good quality, decently priced hotel in the centre of Florence (which is where I wanted to be, as I was in the city for one night only).
Well, I followed trip advisor's ratings and booked the Davanzati and I was thoroughly impressed,
A family run hotel which looks and feels like a boutique five star, at highly affordable prices!
Stylish room with great desk, windows, free wifi (excellent connectivity too), and a laptop in the room should you need one!
Luxurious locally sourced toiletries and a spacious, well lit fully equipped extremely modern bathroom
Noise eliminating headphones supplied in each room to compensate for the inevitable street noise (these guys have thought of everything!)
Three iPads lying around the reception area for guest use
Happy hour with lovely snacks and free prosecco and chianti every evening
Brilliant location in the midst of things but not, actually, that noisy
Great recommendations for dinner by staff completely fluent in english
Taxi called as soon as one needs it
Need one say more? As I asked them, 'what's your secret? How can you be so perfect?'
And best of all really affordable. If in Florence for a short visit, this is the best hotel to be at.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picky_and_discerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

Fantastic 3 generations family run hotel. Everything was perfect from the minute you arrive until departure. Room huge and spotless clean, happy hour great to mix and talk with other travellers, breakfast beautiful with the girls & grandpa always so happy, Tomaso & dad on the ball and go that extra mile. Hotel situated in the middle of where everything is happening, minutes walking to all the main attractions. Thank you all so much.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Hotel Davanzati and really loved it. We would have loved it more had we really been able to settle in - the 2 days went by quickly and we were away on a bus tour for the majority of our time in Florence and this is a hotel that you really want to settle into - not just come and go. In a fantastic location - the service and the comfortable atmosphere is what makes the experience. We were really tired after a long drive and our check-in experience was superior. We pulled up to the curb, rang the bell at the bottom of the steps, and were immediately greeted by a man ready to take our bags. When we checked in, Tommaso greeted us warmly and shared information on activities we could opt-into, which sounded great but we had an early rise the next day. He did help us with a dinner reservation and before we knew it, he was handing us a printed confirmation with a map detailing the walk to get there. Tommaso escorted us to our room, bags already there, and left us to settle in. The room was really comfortable, clean, and spacious. We went back downstairs to leave for dinner - the hotel's happy hour had started which looked like a great time. The atmosphere had transformed - candles everywhere, music, people socializing - I was a bit sorry that we had to rush off to dinner. In the morning, the breakfast was ready to go early - delicious fresh fruit and other items. One of the more plentiful breakfast offerings we'd seen. While we were there, the staff was very attentive and are truly the experts on showing you Florence. This hotel is a great place to settle in - books everywhere, quiet nooks, people ready to chat about anything - I wish we had been there for a 7 day retreat. We would definitely go back - they deserve the service award they have received. Fantastic Hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsMc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
3,028 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
1,083 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
2,662 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
738 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#10 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing