We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #8 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel Davanzati was a perfect home base for our family to explore Florence. It is centrally located on a quiet street. Our room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Tommaso and Fabrizio pre booked all of our dinners and did an excellent job of finding us a variety of very good trattorias, ristorantes and osterias. They also helped us find an excellent guide for walking and museum tours. Hotel Davanzati provides excellent value while Fabrizio and Tommaso's hands on, proactive guidance added exceptional value.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,019
    360
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
775
1,617
236
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nashville, tn
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We spent one night at this hotel.
It is clear that everyone at the hotel wants to make your stay at the Davanzati enjoyable. From our first encounter with Tomasso (Whose reception was so warm and friendly I thought he was going to adopt us) to the people serving breakfast - everyone was really friendly and welcoming.

The hotel is perfectly located - only a few blocks from the Uffizi, the Piazza etc.
There are lots of nice touches like alcohol and snacks in the afternoon (prosecco , red wine, white wine) free wi-fi, lap tops in the rooms, and Ipads in the reception area for reading the newspaper etc., loads of guide books throughout the hotel for anyone to peruse.

Our Room was large and spacious and the four of us had plenty room.
The room was clean - though the walls were taking a beating from people like us who haul luggage in and out of there for just one night.
The room sort of had a room built within a room - so that there was a bedroom, and then a seating area that became two twin beds for our kids (see photos).
The bathroom looked as if it had been remodeled in the past few years with new tile etc.

Even though the room faces a busy street - the room was quiet at night.

Breakfast was adequate and included juice, meat (ham, salami), cheese, fresh fruit, yogurt, muesli, and pastry items.

My only hesitation in giving this room FIVE stars - was the rather odd configuration of the room: When you entered in through the door of our room - the shower was on the left, the bathroom was on the right. So, while the bathroom was private - the shower was very public. My daughters were not very pleased about the logistics of this and we had to be mindful that no one would be entering/exiting the front door while someone else was entering/exiting the shower.

I would stay there again - but would see about a room with a more private shower.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LookOut1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I just returned from a trip from Florence where we spent 4 wonderful nights in the lovely Hotel Davanzati. The hotel is in the perfect location for sightseeing on pedestrian friendly Via Porta Rossa, not far from the Ponte Vecchio. Our room, 307, was spotless and had the most comfortable bed. It is located in the back of the hotel on a small courtyard with absolutely no noise. The service was impeccable with a delicious breakfast each morning and a relaxing happy hour each evening. I only wish I would of asked for the name of the friendly gentleman serving the glasses of prosecco and chianti! Also, nightly restaurant suggestions were spot on! Fabrizio and his sons made our stay one we will not forget. Thank you for making our vacation absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Booked this based on TA reviews and could not have been happier. Fabulous location within walking distance of all the major attractions (5 mins from Duomo, Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio etc)), excellent rooms with modern amenities despite the character and charm of the hotel itself, lovely breakfast included in the price and free prosecco every night....what's not to like!

What really sets this hotel apart though is the fantastic service; we had tickets for Uffizi and Galleria, plus two restaurants booked by the hotel before we even left home....all at no additional charge. Fabrizio could not have been more helpful. To top it all a great price in an expensive city....and a further 10% reduction if you pay in cash!!!

This was our first time in Florence and hopefully not our last...and there is only one hotel choice for us in the future.

A few steps up to lift so not suitable for people with mobility difficulties; other than that, perfect in every way.

Room Tip: junior suite overlooking main street was spacious with huge, comfortable king bed and fabulous, mass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJHlincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Do not hesitate to go to Florence and do not hesitate to stay in this friendly, beautiful hotel - double wow we want shares! Room is one of the best we have stayed in. Service impeccable. Family run and a very personal touch. We felt we were customers. Will go back, no question.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Our family of five stayed in the family suite during our June visit to Florence. We stayed in room 100 which is a fantastic space for both kids and parents. There are two lofts providing a total of three beds and a private bed room for the parents. The room also included two bathrooms and a living room. The living room was spacious and great for relaxing after a hard day of touring the city.

The room was updated, clean, and in impeccable shape. The air conditional was exceptional and I found it to be very quiet during the evenings. The Hotel Davanzati beds were very comfortable and the best I experienced in the three cities we visited.

The entertainment system blew me away. Three TVs in total with global satellite and movies - after a week of local Italian TV, the kids were overjoyed at seeing some English cartoons. One of the lofts had a playstation and DVD player as well. The hotel also provided a laptop and the wireless connection was outstanding. I never had connectivity issue during our stay.

The hotel provides a light breakfast which was perfect to get our family started. The freshly made cappuccinos were the highlight of every morning. My wife and I enjoyed the nightly happy hour as well - try the Davanzati sauce for a real treat!

Finally, I appreciated the kindness the staff showed during our stay. I felt as though they cared about our family and worked hard to make the experience as wonderful as possible. Thank you Davanzati!!

Room Tip: Room 100 for family of five
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SterlingS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Davanzati has a great location. Like some of the other reviews have mentioned, if you have a problem with steps then don't pick this hotel. There are a lot of steps to get into the off street lobby. They make up for that by customer service. The check in was great. They were fully expecting us and helped us with all of our needs. Davanzati was the only hotel on our 18 day trip that provide us with an iron and an ironing board! All around great hotel and good price. Book it now!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
3,135 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 422 in Florence
1,206 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 422 in Florence
2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
887 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 422 in Florence
308 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 422 in Florence
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing