We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb family-run & family-friendly hotel RIGHT in the middle of Florence.”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #12 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 August 2013

An ideal place for families with small kids - central, rooms with "two halves" that enable you to have you kids with you, and a father-and-son team running the hotel who cannot do enough to make your stay fantastic. Highly highly highly recommended,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

966 - 972 of 3,582 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

We (family of 4) had a suite room here for 2 nights in early August. The room had a king bed and the staff put in 2 very nice single beds where the sofa would have been. Quality of beds appointments and bathroom were all great. We also had a little roof top patio. If Italy was not in a heat wave when we were there we would have used it. AC worked great. Breakfast was a nice continental with great coffee. They also have a free happy hour during the apertif time with light snacks and wine each evening. Staff is there 24 hours and were very helpful with all requests. Location is great. Easy walk to anything in downtown Florence and the bridge and the shopping street equal to the magnificent mile in Chicago but on a quiet side street. We slept very well. One of the reasons Italians are in great shape is because if the number of stairs they climb in these older buildings. There is a small elevator which was helpful to get the suitcases up. But after that I think it was 50 steps -not consecutive- from street level to our hotel room. They advise you that you need to come up stairs to get to the lobby before completing your reservation. It was fine for our family but jic you have anyone with mobility issues in your group this might not be the best hotel for you. It was well worth the effort to access the beautiful room and made us feel less guilty about all of the great gelato we were eating:)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Hotel Davanzati is definitely a 5 diamond hotel. In the center of Florence, the staff, rooms, and atmosphere are absolutely fabulous. The daily happy hour in the lobby area invites guest to mingle, share stories, tips, etc. My husband and I met a lot of nice people from all over Europe and the US. The rooms are comfortable, and a laptop is availible at no cost. The owners go out of their way to make sure you visit to Florence is the best. Skip the chain hotels, stay here!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! Quiet,comfortable and affordable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pixiepatty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

This place is above and beyond a 3 star
Yes there is 26 stairs to climb w suitcases but well worth it
Also if you pay in cash 10% off
The room size is large
The happy hour is a great touch
Location is central and all sites walkable
Stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here in 2006 and returned this year. There's just something special about this hotel. The owners care so much about your visit and stay, the location is awesome if you want to be in the middle of historic Florence, and the price is reasonable. They invest as if they plan to own the hotel for generations, which fits Florence. Breakfast is fine, and the happy hour is a pleasant surprise. If you don't mind lugging your suitcase up some stairs, and don't want to pay for a five star hotel, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Hotel Davanzati is a traditional European hotel with spacious, comfortable guest rooms. They offer an early evening happy hour and breakfast. We found the staff to be extremely helpful regarding museum tickets, train schedules, and maps for our upcoming drive to Chianti. They were happy to store our luggage (and we had a lot in our group of 7) while we spend a few more hours enjoying Florence. The location is ideal, as it is near the Duomo and the leather market.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arden W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a 3 week trip in Italy, with 5 days in Florence in the middle. Our stay at Hotel Davanzati was truly wonderful! Our room was spacious, beautiful and very clean. We had a separate walk in closet which was a great feature. The room was a calm and quiet respite from the busy city, and we did spend a couple of hours there every day relaxing before a late dinner out. Very quiet and comfortable, despite all the activity at the height of tourist season!

We enjoyed a glass of prosecco or wine (or two) and snacks each evening after tromping around Florence all day. Met some lovely fellow Canadians (Calgarians) who we enjoyed having a drink with!

Breakfast was very nice with a good selection of yogurts, meat, cheese, buns and breads. Good cappuccino!

The hotel is centrally located, within walking distance to Everything!! Palazzo Vecchio, Uffizi, Pitti Palace, Markets, high end shopping, the Arno river, etc., etc. Even if (when) you get lost in the maze of streets, you are never far from the hotel. Great location! The 26 steps to get into the hotel just makes it more cozy! (By the way, check out the Davanzati museum next door, worth a visit, though not always open!)

Staff were friendly, accommodating, and very helpful.

We loved our visit to Florence and we loved this hotel! It's our go to accommodation in Florence!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,351 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,953 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#7 of 410 in Florence
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#2 of 410 in Florence
1,541 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#8 of 410 in Florence
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa n_ 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £94 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing