We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but...expensive!!!”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #12 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in a suite because of the rave reviews, and I have to say that those reviews are very generous. I note that many of the reviewers are American and given the standards of hotel in the US that may explain why they rate this hotel so highly.
The location is definitely outstanding and very convenient for visiting Florence, but there are other hotels that share this advantage.
Our suite was quite ordinary. The bedroom area was actually quite stark with inadequate storage for clothes e.g. no drawers. The walls were badly scuffed and marked. There were no pictures so it was a bit like a hospital room. The sitting area was ok, comprising a bed settee [slightly stained], a desk and a rickety chair. Cables hung down from the wall-mounted TV. The bathroom was fine apart from a broken toilet seat. The shower was little more than a dribble.
Overall the room seemed the worse for wear as there were scuffs and marks everywhere. All the control buttons on the aircon, safe etc were completely worn away to the underlying metal.
Conclusion: the room was very average.
People have raved about the breakfasts and compared to breakfasts in American hotels it was good but by European standards it was nothing special. A basic range of bread, pastries and budget cereals. No hot food not a great deal of choice . Just about adequate.
The staff were fine but no more than you would expect anywhere. The service-level and interest suddenly shot up if you expressed interest in one of the trips that they themselves organised. So perhaps people have misinterpreted this.
Overall this hotel has a superb location but ,that aside, the rest is nothing special, so if I return to Florence I would certainly check out the other options.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pyke8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 3,548 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

Hotel Davanzati is an excellent choice in Florence. It is close to most/all major attractions in the city and walking is a great way to keep trim after all the gelato and pasta one consumes while there.

The rooms are quite nice and the complimentary breakfast served as the first two meals of the day for us. The only potential downside is that one must be fit enough to climb several flights of stairs to enter the hotel, as their website amply describes.

The staff was very knowledgeable and attentive and will make suggestions and reservations for you.

Be sure to ask about the discount they provide when settling your room bill with euros.

Room Tip: Because we were there for a week, we used the 10% discount for cash payment to upgrade our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bogyOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We selected this hotel due to it's great reviews and we are glad we did - what they say is all true! The location of the hotel was fantastic and we had no trouble finding it. We arrived around 9:30am and after traveling such a long way we were thrilled that they had a room ready for us so early. Our room was comfortable, clean, and contained everything we needed. We very much appreciated the free wifi and the free breakfast in the morning. We did not take advantage of the happy hour but we did walk through the lobby during that time and noticed that they created such a lovely and warm and inviting atmosphere with the music and candles. As others mentioned, the staff are all terrific. One "above and beyond" thing that we really liked was all the information they sent when we booked the room. We really appreciated getting the sightseeing and restaurant suggestions so early as it allowed us to research these things ahead of time and plan what we'd like to do. Overall just delightful in every way.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snickerseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Hotel Davanzati lived up to the glowing reviews on tripadvisor. Location is so good, it's close to museums, galleries and places to eat. The hotel staff are friendly and constantly helpful with information about the city and the better places to visit.
The room was a mix of modern and comfortable furniture with excellent wi fi connection, and a simple Euro breakfast.
The great service, and peaceful sleep we had staying here made our holiday in Florence a great one. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our stay at the Hotel Davanzati was wonderful. The location is great, the staff was very helpful with recommendations for food, sights, etc. While we did not spend a lot of awake time in our room, when we did, we enjoyed excellent Wifi and TV service (unlike hotels that we stayed at in Venice and Rome), with strong, fast Wifi, numerous English language TV channels, and hundreds of free on-demand movies in English. We would definitely stay their again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Csquarefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I'm not sure where to begin with this review because we were completely blown away by this hotel. The room, staff, location & happy hour were all delightfully blended together to make our short trip here so very special.
Never have we encountered such friendly & courteous staff before in all the hotels that we have stayed in. They go beyond the beyond here and go out of their way to make sure that you are happy and content with all elements of the hotel.
Happy hour is fabulous with free proscceo or red wine and nibbles from 6.30pm to 7.30pm. You must take advantage of this! They dim the lights and put candles on the tables and with the background music it is an ideal place to relax prior to going out for the evening.
Also, new concept to me, was the free perfume spray in reception (also on the streets of Florence), which I took advantage of at any given opportunity. Lol.
The strength of this hotel is the attitude of the staff, they are super friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
If I could give this hotel 6 stars I wouldn't hesitate. Totally and utterly fabulous and only worthy of the number 1 spot in Florence.
We will definitely be returning. Thanks so much for making our short stay so very special. Thanks also for your restaurant recommendations, which were spot on. Thanks also for sorting out our taxi to the airport. As it turned out, it was the wrong airport, but that's another story for another day, and we did eventually make our flight in the end. Lol.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pollenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We received a very warm welcome on checking into our hotel. We had booked a junior suite and it was a very nice size, with two flat screen SMART TVs with an excellent choice of films loaded on. This was great for downtime as it meant the children could kick back with Despicable Me whilst I relaxed and enjoyed a more grown-up film on the other one. The hotel had a perfect location, right in the centre of Florence, no need for a car and every evening had happy hour with free Prosecco and some little snacks including the lovely, spicy Davanzati sauce.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bodiddly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 409 in Florence
3,315 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 409 in Florence
1,428 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#55 of 409 in Florence
1,443 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#10 of 409 in Florence
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £99 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing