We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a lovely place to be”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #8 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just a lovely place to be”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights with my two teenage boys in summer 2013 on a 2-week vacation in Italy (also time in Rome and Venice). Location absolutely can't be beat, and the hotel was so lovely - by far our favorite place in Italy. It's not cheap, but no decent place in Italy is in the summer; good breakfast, very spacious room, modernized bath, helpful service, free decently strong wireless (which you don't always find in Italy). Know that you have to carry your bags up a flight of stairs from the street, but other than that everything was very easy. As noted by others, they do offer a 10% discount for cash payment, but I didn't want to carry that much cash as we traveled, so I did credit card payment. We look forward to visiting again someday!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motraveler90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,995
    358
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
766
1,607
233
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Lake, MI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Mary McCarthy wrote this book and I read it before trekking Off to Florence 10 days ago. Originally was going to stay on the outskirts. But decided best to walk everywhere so, given the high rating of the Davanzati I gave them a try. Excellent choice. You have to climb the stairs but that's even not bad. Wonderful host, Tomasso, and staff. When I screwed up and had only one day reserved instead of the three planned I did not find my bags on the street. Easy resolution, much appreciated. I had a small suite, very comfortable. Excellent breakfast. Coffee was available at 5am. If you want to walk to the Uffizzi, the Bargello, San Marco museums and Cathedral and have easy access to many cafes, this is the place to stay. Public transport not required. In fact I walked to the train station on the morning of my departure in 12 minutes. It didn't hurt that the sun was out after weeks of rain! Cab from airport is fixed price of 23 euro. Cross the Ponte Vecchia if you want a local view of the city, avoiding the trinket prices on the bridge itself. I was alone so somebody even stopped to ask me directions. I said, No capito. Io Americano! lol

Room Tip: Go to the Bargello early (I was in the Donatello room alone for half an hour and they have a wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank comorbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We arrive and decide to walk to the hotel with the bags. Room was only 199E per night in October and a 10% discount for cash. Great location, not far from the river but you have to drag your bags up 26 steps to get to the lobby. Medium sized rooms for Italy but the best bed (and pillows) of trip so far. No view. Nice bathroom. Very friendly staff reserving tours, tickets and restaurants even before we arrived and after we arrived. They could not have been more helpful. Don't miss a little place recommended on trip advisor that only had 5 tables called Vini e Vechi Sapora at 3 via dei Magazzini. (#4 of 1,284 on TA). This place was great for dinner. I had spent the previous week looking for a Papperadelle pasta with Duck Ragout to no avail and there it was, the dinner special. Delicious as was everyone’s dish and every dessert. Inexpensive place, intimate, casual and great food but because it is so small you need reservations. Touring the villa next door as it was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
190 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just spent four nights at the Davanzati last week. Great location; very pleasant owner and staff; room nice size, clear bath; great morning breakfast and evening happy hour is a very nice touch. You'd be hard pressed to find a nicer place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at Hotel Davanzati 2 nights and from start to finish we were extremely happy with the service we received. When we initially checked in our 2 bedded room was not available so we were offered 2 separate single rooms right next to each other at no additional charge, 2 best nights sleep I had in Italy! Breakfast was wonderful with a nice selection of items and the all around service was excellent. Perfect location. I would highly recommend and return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlukas76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The Hotel Davanzati is an excellent choice in Florence. The location is near everything. The staff is very welcoming and informative. They went out of their way to make sure our needs were met. When we asked for assistance they happily provided support. The rooms are clean and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Hotel Davanzati was chosen for a five night stay (January 2014) based on previous Tripadvisor reviews and I am happy to say it was an excellent choice. My wife and I were were very happy with our stay. The hotel is five minutes on foot from the central railway station so well-located if you are flying into Pisa and taking the train to Florence.

We were greeted enthusiastically by Tommaso the son of Fabrizio. Between them they run the hotel. Ninety year old Marcello, the founder, regularly appears in the morning smartly dressed in suit. Very Shortly after we had arrived the card-operated electricity switch inside the room failed, I spoke to Tommaso who said someone will come in 15 minutes. My wife and I sat outside the room on a comfortable sofa and waited. Sure enough after 15 minutes a man appeared with a replacement mechanism and a screwdriver and fixed the problem. Amazing ! This man turned out to be father Fabrizio who had morphed into an electrician at short notice ! That is service for you and that us why this hotel is popular. The family who run it love the hotel and look after you very well so that you have a memorable stay in Florence.

I had booked a basic double room but we stayed in a superior double. (I think we were upgraded as the Hotel was not full.) The window had two double-glazed panes and a shutter so noise from outside was reduced by 90% resulting in an excellent nights' sleep. The bed was very large and comfortable

Nowhere is perfect and the only minor negative points were the small narrow bathroom and a basic breakfast. That said the hotel is rated three star and the service care and attention you receive plus the spacious quiet comfortable rooms more than compensate.

We were recommended the ristorante/bar La Bussola less than a 100 yards down the road and this was proved to be an excellent restaurant for pizzas and evening dining.

This is an excellent bed & breakfast hotel well-located in central Florence and run by dedicated attentive staff. Heartily recommended !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,086 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing