We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, love!”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #9 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love, love, love!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My sister and I decided to stay at Hotel Davanzati after going on the Chianti by Night Tour. It was WONDERFUL. We wish we would have stayed there for our full week in Firenze.

Fabrizio has the best customer service that I have ever experienced, hands down. Our driver for the Chianti by Night tour, Luca, would tell you that we were his BEST TOUR EVER! :-) and we will be awaiting our yelp review (for the best tour).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,047
    365
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
791
1,631
238
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We came to know of Hotel Davanzati upon the recommendation of a friend whose family usually stays there. Upon reading their reviews on Trip Advisor, we were impressed by their high ratings. We are really glad that we made the right decision.

Before arrival, I emailed the hotel several times and each time, Fabrizzio answered my inquiries promptly and comprehensively. He warned me that we had to climb 26 steps to reach their elevator which will bring us to the lobby. However, he assured us that if we have luggages, all we have to do is ring their doorbell and someone will come down to assist us. Upon our arrival, everything was done as promised. The front desk staff who were there when we arrived (on March 28, 2014 at around 6:00pm) were quick and cheerful. They made us feel immediately welcome.

The room we booked for our family of 5 was a deluxe junior suite. It had a bedroom with two beds, 2 lofts with a double and a single bed respectively and a sofa bed. There were also two bathrooms with shower. The set-up was perfect, allowing both privacy and bonding time for our family. The only possible disadvantage is that the bedroom is right below the loft with two beds and any movement/noise on the loft can be heard in the bedroom. However this is a very minor matter. The beds are extremely comfortable and we all slept soundly.

The shower room in one of the bathrooms may need a minor facelifting as I noticed that some paint has chipped off. However, I am willing to overlook this minor flaw because everything else about the hotel is perfect.

Breakfast is adequate and delicious.

The location of the hotel is very convenient. It is within walking distance to all the major attractions in the area. At night, we walked to the Piazza dela Signoria and had coffee while admiring the beautiful art pieces all around the piazza.

Lastly, the thing that impressed me the most was the service given by Fabrizzio. We left Florence for Rome on March 31. The next day, I realized that I had left my cellphone inside the open safe in my bedroom at the Hotel Davanzati. I emailed Fabrizzio and he immediately responded. He arranged for the phone to be sent to my hotel in Rome the very next morning. He even called up my Rome hotel to ensure that all arrangements are in place. He saved the day for me and for that, I will be ever grateful.

In conclusion, we really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Davanzati and will not hesitate to recommend it to our friends or stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are a family of 5 or 6, the Deluxe Junior Suite is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eat1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We just got back from a week in Italy. My wife and I spent a 2 nights in Florence. I highly recommend selecting the Hotel Davanzati for your accommodations in Florence for several reasons.

The location is excellent. It's walking distance to the train station, as well as many of the points of interest in Florence. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Fabrizio and Leonardo were awesome. They helped with map locations, reservations for museums, recommendations for restaurants, calling taxi cabs, and carry luggage.

The rooms are quite beautiful and well-appointed. We stayed in a small suite which had very modern amenities. Toilet, bidet, sink, shower, heated towel rack...all looked quite new and beautifully designed. However, the wood desk, window shutters, and other furniture kept the room grounded with an authentic "old world" feel. There was even a painting of the Mona Lisa on the wall.

The hotel offers simple morning breakfast of bread, croissant, yogurt, cereal, meat & cheese, water & juice. They also offer a happy hour from 6:30pm to 7:30pm with complimentary red wine or prosecco, and some light snacks.

The only downside to this hotel might be the stairs you must take to get into the lobby & rooms. From the street level, it's really only a short flight of stairs which will take you to the lift (elevator). The lift is small, but it will assist you with reaching the lobby and higher levels if necessary. Aside from this, the hotel is definitely worth your patronage. I know that when I return to Florence, the Hotel Davanzati will be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel is about a half mile from the train station (Firenze SMN) and was easy to find. Our room was actually a suite, well appointed and comfortable with air conditioning, soundproof windows, a separate shower area, a divider between the bed and the sitting area and a large walk-in closet.

As others noted, the staff is friendly, professional and attentive. When we returned from lunch and realized we left a bag with our purchases at the restaurant, Fabrizio called them to confirm it was there and had them hold onto it for us. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit Firenze.

Room Tip: Our room (105) faced the street and it was fun to watch cars and people going about their business...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrailBlazer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickham Bishops, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We lst visited Florence in 2006 with a group of friends when we stayed at this Hotel. We decided on a return visit to Florence and booked the Davanzati without a moments hesitation and without looking at any other properties. That's how good the memories were!

We were not disappointed! The Hotel is as friendly as ever. The rooms are lovely with every amenity you could wish for including three free wi-fi access codes! The breakfast with freshly made coffees and the evening Happy Hour are all as good as ever. The location cannot be bettered being really central within easy walking distance of everything you wish to see in the city.

Fabrizio and Tomasso made our museum bookings and our first night restaurant booking before we arrived and restaurant bookings for each night of our stay apart from one. Thank you to all the staff for making our second stay as good, if not better than our first.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bouff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We completely slept through check out due to jet lag! They could not have been nicer! It is the perfect location so close to everything. Love this hotel and the lovely family who owns it and runs it! You feel like you are with familia in Firenze!! Love Love Love!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debwood53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here in March 2104. The stairway up fro the street adds to the romance of the location. Right on a central square in Florence easy walk to Ponte Vecchio, Tournaboni and all the sites of Florence. We were greeted by Tomasso, just one of the many family members who make you feel welcome. We stayed in a beautiful top floor suite with our own outdoor veranda. The evening happy hour afford you the opportunity to meet the other guests. The room was immaculate with agreat bathroom, bed and amenities. Ipads with newspapers, great WIFI and a laptop in the room. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in room 304. its HUGE with a terrific outdoor veranda with table and chairs. Perfect for an eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eatlocal1ofakind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#2 of 412 in Florence
3,199 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,779 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 412 in Florence
1,305 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#28 of 412 in Florence
1,654 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing