We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent place to stay in Florence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #9 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel was fantastic! It was centrally located in the heart of Florence, near the Palazzo Vecchio, Duomo, and Chiesa Sanmichele. The rooms were slightly small,but otherwise the bathrooms was spacious (a real plus for any Italian hotel). The staff were always kind, courteous, and extremely helpful with recommendations for sightseeing and meals. There is a nice happy hour from 6:00-7:00 PM where they serve the house Chianti and bruschetta (the bruschetta topping is delicious). Breakfast is plentiful, with an assortment of pastries, cheeses, bread, fruits, and ham. They make cappucinos and espressos to order in the morning as well.

If I ever return to Florence (and I hope I do), I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikrant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,953
    354
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
754
1,584
231
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SLOUGH
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This family run hotel is a joy. A wonderful welcome followed by a refreshing drink.
The room was a delight beautifully decorated, clean and with the best sound proofing windows I have ever seen, they must have cost a fortune!!
breakfast was excellent as was the evening happy hour!!?
Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff with laptops in your room , I pads in the lobby for newspapers ,guide books, reading books, dinner reservations and recommendations,taxis
everything and more.....a wonderful hotel with wonderful people..........grazie

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lousiville, KY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Location great, rooms great, Fabrezio and his people -- outstanding! They were always very pleasant and very helpful. And, if your are lucky you get to meet Fabrezio's 91 year old father. Fabrezio made excellent restaurant recommendations. There are 36 steps to get up to the hotel so it may not be for everyone, but they warned us about that before we made reservations. Our group of stayed there over the Easter weekend and that was great fun. If you haven't heard about the Scoppion del Carro then look for the video on You Tube and plan to go next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Card2inal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We took the public bus from the airport to the Santa Maria Novella bus stop and walked to the Davanzati from there with our carryon luggage. It cost less than 5 Euro per person to do this compared to the 25 something Euro it would have cost to take a taxi or 70 Euro to arrange for a car pickup to the hotel. If you have a lot of luggage or have trouble walking far I would not recommend taking the bus.
Upon arrival you carry your luggage up the many steps to the elevator that will carry you up to reception. If you can fit into a carryon it really helps logistically with the steps and small elevator.
The staff were helpful and willing to make reservations for dinner, etc.
Upon checkin Fabrizio was friendly and gave us a tour of the hotel and showed us to our room.
We had an air-conditioned superior double that had a large, comfortable bed that seemed king sized. There was a sofa, luggage rack, desk with laptop provided with free wifi that worked well, flat screen TV, wardrobe with safe, and two night stands that had lamps and a clock, in the room. The bathroom was pretty with light blue and white tiles. There was a bathtub that had a shower that worked well with plenty of hot water and pressure, toilet, bidet and sink. They had a small shelf to place items, a blowdryer that worked well, shampoo, body wash and soap. If you use conditioner and lotion you will need to bring your own. There is no iron or ironing board in the room, but maybe they would have one if you asked? If you want a bathtub be sure to ask for one because only a couple of rooms have one. The windows had doors that closed to block out the sound and light and worked very well. The room was always clean and the sheets and towels were good quality. Bring your own washcloth if you need one, as they don't provide them.
Breakfast consisted of lunch meat style, sliced ham, sliced cheese, chopped tomatoes, sliced oranges, chopped pineapple, pastries, bread for toasting, yogurt and cereal, along with juices, water and coffee, we had cappuccino. There were no eggs.
Happy hour was from 630pm-730pm and consisted of prosecco (a sparkling white wine), chianti, peanuts, small bread with a chopped tomato topping to add if you like, and crackers, while music played.
Checkout was as expected with the quoted costs. If you pay cash you get a 10 percent discount.
Our room cost 212 Euro//night. We bought the Firenze card and did not require museum reservations with it. It lets you go to the front of the line, which helped tremendously making it well worth the cost (about $70 U.S./person). The staff would prefer you to use their tours, but when asked offered suggestions for the road and wineries that we should visit. We rented a car with Budget and walked maybe less than a mile to the rental car place to get the car. We had it for two days and they let us park the car in the deck at the rental area for 20Euro/night, compared to the 26 Euro to have the hotel park the car for you.
Renting a car there was similar to every other car rental we have made in Europe. The cost is always more than you think. We made our rental with Costco's discount and were told it included the full insurance coverages, which it didn't. We paid just under $200 U.S. total for the two days we had it, including all taxes and fees for the Panda Fiat. Make sure you tell the parking deck attendant when you pay for parking in the deck that it is a rental car, because it will be 20E, not 24Euro.
The staff gave good recommendations for restaurants and reserved them for us.
We enjoyed our stay at the Davanzati and would recommend it to others, as long as they are able to climb the stairs up and down.

Room Tip: Ask for a bathtub if it's important to you because not all rooms have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strawberries4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
349 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This gem of a hotel is situated in the heart of Florence, making it easy to walk to every magnificent sight with ease. What makes this the most wonderful place to stay is the staff who are without exception the most helpful and friendliest I have ever come across whilst travelling. Nothing is too much trouble. I observed every guest being treated with courtesy and kindness while we were there. I loved the hotel restaurant recommendations and strongly suggest eating at La Busola which is almost opposite the hotel. If we return this is top of my list for places to stay. Clean rooms with charm. Wonderful!

Room Tip: There are steps into this hotel but they lead you out each day, straight into a central street in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Hotel Davanzanti was the perfect choice for Florence . Location and hotel were excellent and the staff outstanding! They are extremely helpful with directions and helping to make great lunch and dinner recommendations. We will be back !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlondeeSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel lives up to all the great reviews. It has everything you'd expect from a good hotel - nice bed, large rooms, great bathroom amenities (and great water pressure!), breakfast included, wif-fi, etc. But what sets it apart is its friendliness and charm. The owners (three generations - grandfather, father & son) are all extremely helpful, and go out of their way to make sure your questions all are answered and you get all the help you need. Plus there's a free happy hour with prosecco and nibbles every evening that was a nice treat at the end of the day!

I had been a little sick heading into our stay here, and just wanted a quiet, centrally-located place to recuperate a bit. I got that and more. It is a very comfortable and lovely hotel. I would return here again in an instant.

Room Tip: If you are on the street side, use the shutters at night! The first night we didn't close them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,987 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,630 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#8 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing