We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecto”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #9 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 6 Contributor
562 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Perfecto”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel and the men who run it. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. The price is great for the location. The breakfast is very good and happy hour is a great time to meet other guests.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chouette222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,035
    364
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
786
1,624
237
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Hotel Davanzati in Florence is an incredibly well run family affair. Fabrizio and his son Tomasso are extremely gracious and committed to excellence. Staying at the Davanzati is as close as you will come to feeling like you have family in Florence. If you stay for a few days you will feel like Fabrizio is your uncle and Tomasso is your cool cousin. They care and it shows. The hotel is immaculate and the rooms are good size and well appointed. The wine and bruschetta happy hour is very nice and offers an opportunity to get to know fellow travelers. The breakfast is fresh and very good quality. It is not a huge buffet, but the baked goods are fresh and the ham, cheese and salami are excellent. The highlight is the made to order espresso and cappucino prepared for you in the room. A bonus was the all day trip arranged for us by Fabrizio with very short notice. The Davanzati has a new company that arranges various tours. We took the Tour of Tuscany referred to as :Chianti's Best" that visits Siena, San Gimignano and Monteriggioni. It is nice to see the beautiful area outside of Flroence. You get a good perspective on the general area, including a tour of a very nice local winery in the Chianti Classico region. Part of the tour is eating a plate of ham and cheese while tasting 4 wines. Buying wine is not required, but it is hard not to buy at least a couple bottles of wine. The wines are high quality and the prices seem reasonable. If there was any pressure to buy, I would have been totally turned off. Our driver, Valerie, spoke excellent English and was extremely professional. He picked us up at 9:00 and delivered us back to the hotel about 9 hours later, just in time for the wine happy hour. At first I thought that the price of 110 Euros per person was high (credit card), I actually now think that it was a very good value. I highly recommend it. Needless to say, my family and I had a great stay at the Davanzati. I don't know how he does it, but despite all the guests that come through the hotel in a year, Fabrizio has a unique way of making you feel special. The amazing thing is that it is sincere..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We found this hotel to be one of the best 3 star hotels we'd been to but also the most expensive. However, our room with it's little private balcony was gorgeous and the bathroom large and well equipped. We only stayed one night in transit but will definitely go back to this hotel when we spend more time in Florence. The management and staff were friendly and the decor is superb.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJV-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A wonderful boutique hotel, centrally located. My room was clean and comfortable. Fabrizio, Patricia, Tomasso, Leonardo and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. A family owned hotel were the guests are treated as family. Like other reviewers, I much enjoyed the prosecco "Happy Hour" each evening. A great way to meet fellow travelers, exchange information about sightseeing, dining, etc. The family owned chauffeur company, I Just Drive, offers fantastic service for day trips outside the city. The Davanzati is highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Family owned and operated, impeccable, friendly and knowledgeable. Clean, well appointed accommodation. Nothing too much trouble from booking a museum to a hire care or just the inside scoop on best times to visit the famous statue or where to eat. Centrally located, we walked everywhere and were able to imbibe the atmosphere of this romantic city with ease. A good breakfast is available and an early evening happy hour facilitates a convivial get together with other guests.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kym H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Glad we read them and stayed here. Friendliest staff around and full of great tips and advice. We really loved the happy hour. We had the drinks in our room before venturing out. I love that it is family owned. Watching dad senior sit and walk around in his suit and tie everyday was charming. We also really like booking the tours directly from the front desk. Good job Davanzati!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

PROS:
1. Great location. It's minutes away from shopping, Ponte Vicchio, duomo and many more.
2. Great family owned, family run business. It's very clean and very well maintained property.
3. They offer continental breakfast from 7:30 to 10:300 and happy hour from 6:30-7:30. There's always fruit available for you to grab.
4. They have great Internet connection, ipads to use, travel books to borrow and even converters if you forgot yours.
5. Everyone is so helpful. The front desk staff (owners and family) help you book whatever you need. The staff also sent a bottle of wine to my room when they realized it was my birthday from my passport.
6. The cleaning staff is great. The room is spotless daily. One day I forgot my wedding rings in the room , they must have fallen on the floor. When I came back that night they were neatly put back on the bedside table.
Incredible hotel. I recommend it and I would definitely come here again. We enjoyed our stay so much, we are extending our stay a couple more nights (we're still here)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 411 in Florence
3,178 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,753 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 411 in Florence
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#7 of 411 in Florence
912 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#29 of 411 in Florence
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing