We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic hotel!”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #12 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hotel Davanzati is really the perfect package: great service, affordable rooms, perfect location and a large list of amenities. My family just stayed four nights here and we absolutely loved our room and the hotel. Fabrizio was such a kind host and was very willing to answer all of our "touristy" questions, he also spoke great English and even gave us a lesson or two about understanding Italian. The hotel also will make whatever kind of reservations you would like for eating or tours, definitely take advantage of the staff's expertise and eat where the locals go! The breakfast buffet that Davanzati had for us was filling and tasty - it was nice to not have to worry about finding a decent breakfast and we were full every morning! While we didn't spend an immense amount of time in the room, it was very comfortable and nicely spaced. You won't be able to really unpack (there is understandably little closet space), but that wasn't much of a trouble for us.
We can't say enough about the location of the hotel - literally minutes from every important attraction in the city and also very close to the bridges that cross the Arno river, where we went frequently to visit the Oltrarno neighborhood. We will definitely be back and recommend the Davanzati to anyone coming to Florence.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_D515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 3,549 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Staff was excellent. Hotel was nicely appointed and clean with a nice breakfast and happy hour as a plus. Location was great for seeing the old city. The only drawback were the many steps, but staff was happy to carry luggage up.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank StorGor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in Paris, Cinque Terra and here in Florence. I would recommend this hotel. The location is excellent. My wife is handling the reservations and money so I can't speak to the price, but this has been a great hotel for me, my wire and our teenage daughter. The beds are comfortable, TV has movies, CNN and just enough English speaking channels (on vacation and didn't come to watch TV afterall, but nice to check in on business and sports etc.), They have a Happy Hour which was a nice way to meet other guests and compare stories.

Fabriazo, Tomasso and Leonardo were all very helpful and made this the best hotel of our European trip. They speak English (we don't speak Italian) so they were really helpful with restaurant and travel suggestions. Really nice and helpful staff here.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel in Florence and enjoyed it immensely. Most hotel rooms in Europe that we’ve stayed in are much smaller---this was a delight! The staff is impeccable, the room clean and updated, and the location cannot be beat. If you have narrowed down your search for a good hotel in Florence and Hotel Davanzati is one of them---look no further and book it now. You won’t be disappointed. The Wardlaws.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I stated here for our honeymoon in May. We could not have been happier with our decision to stay here. The customer service was excellent. We realized our television wasn't working when we got in the first night and someone actually came to the room at 1:30 in the morning to fix it. The front desk gave great restaurant recommendations and made all of our reservations. The room was very clean. The breakfast was good and the happy hour made it easy to meet other guests. We felt very much at home here. The hotel even left a bottle of wine in our room with wishes for a happy life together. The location was great as well. We have already recommended this hotel to others that will be traveling to Florence and we would definitely stay here if we go back to Florence .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Had to go back there with my wife, after being there last March with my daughter. There's no reason to even investigate, or stay at another hotel if you go to Florence! A beautiful hotel that's filled with history, over the top clean and centrally located. The three generations of family makes you feel like family serving all your needs from recommendations on where to eat and visit. They also have a service called I Just Drive for great small tours going to different location. I took my wife on the same tour I took my daughter called "Chianti's Best" she loved it. They have a great breakfast in the morning, and a very nice happy hour in the evening, both complimentary. Thanks again for a magical time, see you next year! Ciao Bill & Sandy

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Potenza430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Seriously, this is a great hotel with a really central location, excellent customer service and immaculate rooms. Recommendations for places to eat from the staff were spot on and nothing was too much trouble for them. This was a world away from the often bland, sterile experience you get when you stay in a chain hotel (even the so-called posh ones).

The hotel has a discrete entrance at street level and once you are inside the hotel, you don't hear any noise from the street below at all and it feels secure at all hours of the day. Breakfast did not feel hurried and there was plenty of choice and variety available.

The 'Happy Hour' before dinner was typical of the hotel in that it was very informal and enabled us to meet other guests over a glass of Prosecco, on the house, before heading out for dinner.

One very minor point: our room was not at the front of the hotel, so didn't get much natural light, but we spent most of the day looking around the city anyway. Next time, I would ask for a room at the front of the hotel looking onto Via Porta Rossa and pay a little more.

Overall view: highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the front of the hotel, looking onto the street for a little more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 409 in Florence
3,315 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 409 in Florence
1,431 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#55 of 409 in Florence
1,444 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#10 of 409 in Florence
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £99 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing