We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Way to Start our Florentine Experience”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #11 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A short cab ride from Santa Maria Novella train station through beautiful, winding streets brought us to this historic, European boutique hotel that gets an A+ in all categories. Hotel Davanzati is steps from the romantic Piazza della Republlica, superb dinning and historic sites including a short 5 minute walk to the Uffizi Gallery. If this ideal location were not enough, we were welcomed to this family-run gem by 89 year young Marcello, his son Fabrizio and grandson Tommaso. Don't worry if you can't speak Italian. These worldly and extremely cordial hosts are fluent in English. I have promised myself to honor them during my next visit by learning some conversational Italian. My wife, 14 year old daughter and I were in awe when Fabrizio opened the door to our room. Our quiet, impressive accommodation was a perfect blend of antiquity and modern comforts featuring exposed brick and a wonderful brick archway, stately wardrobe, modern bathroom and picturesque courtyard view. In the morning we enjoyed delectable offerings in the hotel's attractive, cozy breakfast area. Our only regret is not being able to taste a breakfast cake Fabrizio made and was bringing in at the very moment we were getting in our cab to depart. We will certainly stay here our next visit to Florence. Warmest regards to Marcello, Fabrizio, Tommaso and to their cordial and professional staff! Look no further than Hotel Davanzati.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 3,583 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

The location, the staff and service, and the room were all fabulous!

Davanzati is located approximately two blocks from Piazza della Signoria and within walking distance of all of Florence's major attractions. Family owned and run, the service was impeccable! From directions, restaurant recommendations, to train schedules, staff were on top of it. Our room was spacious and very clean. We did not experience any of the noise others referenced. The stairs were not an issue for us but could be for the elderly of those with disabilities.

This is a hotel we would highly recommend and would definitely return to.

BTW, I would also recommend purchasing a bottle(s) of the hotel chianti (10 euros) for after happy hour :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flip00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The rooms are very clean, the management and staff are 101% helpful and the location is great. Climbing 25 steps to the elevator seemed a bit odd and, with bags, challenging at arrival, but it worked out. Noise was sometimes an issue early in the morning and late at night, but we had a fine stay and are happy to recommend this hotel. The ladies who make the excellent Cappucino coffees at breakfast are like magicians, since you won't find a better coffee anywhere in Florence. Since this hotel is only a few minutes walk from the Ponte Vecchio bridge, you can walk nearly anywhere in Florence from your front door. And, any time we passed the front desk, we were greeted by name. They made us feel "at home."

Room Tip: Discusss "quiet" at check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJKTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I picked this place based on the rave reviews on TA. I was disappointed. First the good: Fabrizio is a wonderful host, and very helpful in arranging things for you. The garage service they are affiliated with worked like a charm: picked up the car, stored it, and produced it unscathed when we were leaving. The rooms were clean. We arrived early, and they accommodated us by getting us into one of our rooms right away. The location is excellent. Now the bad: at 7:00 a.m. on my first morning, really loud hammering started on the wall on the other side of my bedroom wall. You could hear work going on next door all day every day. It would have been nice to get a warning. That same day, I ended up taking a cold shower because there was no hot water. When I complained, I was told the plumbers had somehow reversed the hot and cold in the tub (it was a single lever faucet) and cold was hot and hot was cold. Again, it would have been nice to know going in. (Room 102 if you get it.) The "happy hour" was overhyped. The day we went, it consisted of a few tables of people talking to the people they travelled with. Oh, and the breakfast choices were the most mediocre of any of the five hotels I stayed at in Italy, including an airport hotel near Malpensa. In short, I expected a lot, and I am sorry to report that the Davanzati disappointed me. This hotel was really no better overall than any of the three other places I have stayed in Florence--better in some respects, worse in others.

Room Tip: Be certain to ask if there is construction going on adjacent to your room or be prepared to get up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Wolverine73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It is difficult to imagine a better hotel experience in Florence than the Hotel Davanzati. The location is excellent since you are a few minutes walk to all the "greatest hits" of Florence. Fabrizio and his staff were excellent in everything from their welcome to their recommendations. They thrilled us with a bottle of wine in our room for our anniversary celebration. Fabrizio also was a great help in getting us to our next location in Pienza. The nicest touch was the afternoon happy hour with complimentary wine or prosecco. Do not let the stairs up to the hotel deter from experiencing this great hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Frank Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife Judy and I just came back from a second wonderful visit to Florence and another great stay at the Hotel Davanzati. Fabrizio and Tommasso have always made our visit special this time was no exceptions. We made our reservations over the internet last fall - so easy. The best part of the stay is location - right where the action is. After a long day of museums, etc., the Happy Hour is always refreshing. The breakfast is right on and you never leave hungry!
We have recommended The Davanzati to many friends and they have always come back with positive comments. The personal attention to detail for you by the Davanzati Family is first class.

Room Tip: Look at the web-site as descriptions are accurate; then call top discus your needs. As for rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank cwmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Terrific location, very clean and comfortable, highly capable and friendly staff and owners, free breakfast and happy hour, free movies... What's not to like?! Numerous great restaurants within a couple of blocks. Museums, plazas, etc. also just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,351 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,954 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#8 of 410 in Florence
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#3 of 410 in Florence
1,544 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#9 of 410 in Florence
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa n_ 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £101 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing