We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel Where Service Counts and Guests Feel Welcome”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #9 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A Hotel Where Service Counts and Guests Feel Welcome”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a fantastic hotel where service is the number one priority of the owner and the staff.

Our family of four stayed here during a trip to Florence in July, and we had an absolutely wonderful time. The experience began with the hotel being very helpful in making the reservation to arranging for the transfer from the airport to the hotel to being so friendly during our entire stay. We loved the experience.

The reports are true that there are some step from the street up to the hotel. The steps are steep and narrow, but they are very manageable.

The hotel has a nice location near most of the tourist sights and with several good restaurants near by.

The hotel had a car come pick us up at the hotel (not included in the cost of the room, but very convenient). Upon arrival our bags were hauled up the steep stairs and we were shown to our room. The check-in was so pleasant and we felt so welcomed. We were very lucky in that this hotel does have rooms that will accommodate 4 people (not all that common in Florence). The room was very nice, but not large. The bathroom was a little odd but workable. We had to have someone look at our air conditioner while we were there and it never seemed to be as crisp as we would like, but it was much cooler than outside.

The owner of the hotel made sure that every guest had a wonderful time and helped us with reservations and suggestions for dinner. On the day of our departure, he had our luggage held, he called our hotel in Venice to ask for the best way to get from the train station in Venice to the hotel, and he arranged for a taxi to take us to the train station (without too much time wait around the train station).

Since our train did not leave until the evening, we were without a room all day, we came back tot he hotel to gather our luggage, they provided us with some soft drinks and let us sit in the lounge and wait.

This was just such a wonderful hotel. They also had a few TV stations for kids which was nice for the little bit of down time we had each day.

We would love to stay here in the again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mnasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,047
    365
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
791
1,631
238
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here 5 nights in July for our honeymoon. We loved the proximity to everything and the staff is so wonderful. We loved the free happy hours and were able to meet nice people from Australia and Sweden. We had a great time and would definitly stay here again next time we return to Florence.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank kimthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Family of 4 (2 adults and 2 teenage boys) shared a family room (Suite) here for 3 nights in July. Room was a good size, very clean if a little basic. Very good value. Bathroom was fine (2 sinks) but shower cubicle a bit cramped. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The location of this hotel is really great - very close to all the sights (nothing more than a 5 min walk) but somehow felt quiet. Lovely to walk in the evening. The evening Happy Hour was a really nice touch too. We would highly recommend for families looking for a reasonably priced central location. One thing to be aware of if you have very young children - there are a few stairs to climb to get to the reception level.

Room Tip: Suite slept 4 adults quiet comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerryI_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a wonderful find. When visiting, the best way to explore is by walking the side streets, and the Dvanzati hotel is in a perfect location to experience Florence. The hotel is clean and the rooms are set up nicely. Each room has a flat screen TV and a laptop. Free WiFi is available as well as iPads in the lobby. If you have ANY questions, the front desk staff are a fantastic resource.

I would definitely recommend The Davanzati and hope to go back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel lacks kerb appeal but once inside it is great. The rooms were clean and comfortable with excellent service. The restaurant recommendations were spot on. It is in a great location too within walking distance of all the main sites. A great place to stay in Florence

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Wonderful location, spacious rooms, reasonable rates and an exceptionally helpful reception desk staff. They were great with attraction and hotel reservations. Their happy hour enabled guests to helpfully interact with one another. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BGPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spent our honeymoon here and were very pleased with the service, location, and quality of the hotel. The location is in the heart of Florence, easily within walking distance to everything. The staff is friendly and helpful, advising on good touring ideas and places to find bargains. The breakfast was beautiful and delicious. The happy hour was a fun touch too! The rooms themselves were charming and lovely. We were first in the small room which was romantic and had a canopy bed. The art felt very Renaissance-like which made the stay fun. The bathroom was nicely sized. We then upgraded to the suite over the weekend and were wowed by the size of the modern looking room. There was a huge bed in a room with sliding doors leading to a sweet living room with a couch. It was a nice place to lounge after touring. The bathroom was modern, clean, and nicely sized. Definitely would recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElleB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#2 of 412 in Florence
3,199 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,778 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 412 in Florence
1,305 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#28 of 412 in Florence
1,653 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing