We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming and friendly - they made Florence easy”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #12 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Fabrizio clearly loves his city and his enthusiasm is inspiring. He always knew where to go and what to do and his restaurant recommendations were invaluable - he booked everything for us in advance and sent us to traditional trattoria to eat with the locals. In 3 days we got to know Florence far better than we would have managed alone.
The family and staff make everyone feel at home and relaxed, especially with their complimentary apperitifs and crostini every evening. They couldn't do enough for us.
The room was modern, comfortable and clean, if a little harsh - the rather cold white walls and bare tiled floor more suited to summer heat than the February chill perhaps. But it was a perfect base from which to explore Florence on foot and handy enough to pop back to in the middle of the day. Be prepared to climb the flight of stairs off the street!
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harrogate-trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,151 - 2,157 of 3,565 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Davanzati for 3 nights and loved every minute! Of all the hotels that we stayed at during our trip (to Rome, Florence, Venice and Paris) Hotel Davanzati was by far and away our favorite. The rooms are spacious and modernized with all the right amenities (free wireless access, updated bathrooms, flat screen TV (although we didn't watch it), etc... Thomas, one of the family members, was terrific! His restaurant recommendations in particular were spot on -- and as a result we had some of our best meals on our entire trip there in Florence, and at very reasonable prices. The nightly hotel happy hour is wonderful -- a great time to relax with some delicious snacks and a couple of drinks and it's cool to see how the hotel takes on a new look & feel with the music, candles, etc... We will most definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HOKIETRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

I just spent two nights at Hotel Davanzati and was very happy with all the aspects of the hotel - great location, clean rooms, hospitable and kind staff, charming building, extra amenities (such as access to laptop and free Wifi in your room). I will definitely stay there again and I would recommend this hotel to absolutely anyone. There are hotels in Florence which cost ALOT more than this hotel and the experience is not as good.
Two Thumbs Up!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubblegirl986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Having read the reviews on tripadvisor my friend and i decided to book the Hotel Davanzati for a 4 night break. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The location of the hotel is fantastic being about a 5 minute walk from the Uffizzi and other attractions all close by. The restaurant recommendations we were given were fantastic. Even on the day we were leaving they went out of their way to make it possible for us to keep our room as we had a later flight. All in all a great little hotel with a lovely family feel whilst still maintaining a high standard of professionalism. We would definately recommend this hotel and when i return to Florence i will certainly be using the Davanzati again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shamrockLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

This family-run hotel is an absolute treat. It is beautifully decorated and ideally located. The rooms are spacious (bigger than any we've experienced in Italy) and the service is top-notch. The continental breakfast, which offered fresh fruit, a variety of breakfast breads, homemade cakes, and cereals and juices was better than most. We enjoyed the nightly complimentary cocktail hour also. There is wireless internet available and a laptop computer is provided in each room.

Fabrizio was attentive and gave us excellent dining recommendations.

This hotel is an amazing value and I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Florence.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lovefirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We were fortunate enough to spend Christmas and the New Year at the Davanzati in Florence. We had a fantastic time in Florence. The Hotel is very conveniently placed and we wanted for nothing. The Staff are wonderful especially Fabrizio! We really appreciated the invite to dinner on Christmas Evening with Fabrizio's familly. We stayed in the 3 bedroomed Deluxe Junior Suite which was very comfortable. My seven year old son enjoyed the free playstation and games and the huge flat screen TV at the bottom of his bed! Both the bathrooms in the suite were great. Thanks Fabrizio, Tomasso and Family for a wonderful stay.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AnnaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

loved loved loved this little hotel, right smack in the middle of the old town, aka the nice tourist area. You are seriously 5 minutes from the main attractions (Uffizi for example)

it's neatly tucked away on a quiet side street so rooms are very quiet.

and the staff... am ashamed i don't the know the man's name. warm and welcoming, and kind.

and the hotel itself is very charming, clean, comfortable.

they offer free internet in your room. a laptop in every room. even a nintendo in every room.

just a wonderful stay.

will be back, there is no doubt about that.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chrisbournival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,325 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,891 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 410 in Florence
1,460 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#11 of 410 in Florence
422 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £99 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing