We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magnificent hotel in Florence”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #12 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 January 2005

I found this family-owned hotel through TripAdvisor and enjoyed four days there with my family. Davanzati is a lovely, clean and ideally located hotel with very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated rooms and newly renovated bathrooms.
All members of the family and the staff couldn't be nicer and more helpful. That is exactly what makes this hotel great. The natural warmth and kindness of these people and their superb hospitality made us feel like guests in the house of good friends. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.
D.Tsambaos, Patras, Greece

  • Stayed: January 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 6723Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,120 - 3,126 of 3,549 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Asti
12
Reviewed 6 January 2005

We enjoyed our staying in this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpfull. The hotel has been rebuilt and is very confortable. It's clean and it's situated near the most interesting places of the city. I will reccomend it to anyone coming from Italy and abroad.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2005

I surprised my wife over the Christmas and took her to Bologna and Florence having the privilege to be able to stay at the Hotel Davanzati was a superb experience
Parking is a problem outside the Hotel but they have arranged a valet service to garage your car
The location is perfect and rooms spotless and the staff are so professional they are very relaxed and friendly
Will stay here again
All rooms are no Smoking be warned
For a hotel one year old they have done a great job

Derek and Emer Bambrick

8  Thank Bambrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
314
Reviewed 4 January 2005

I found this hotel through TripAdvisor and enjoyed my seven days there from 24 Dec to 31 Dec 2004. It is run by a family and they take great pride in their property. My single room with double bed was a little cramped but quite comfortable. The bathroom was well-sized and even had a small window that allowed for good ventilation. Breakfasts were solid with good coffee.

Davanzati is located very close to the Duomo (I think only the Savoy is really closer) and a short walk to Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi, Piazza della Signoria, the Museum of the History of Science, the Accademia, the train station, and everything else. I _very much_ appreciated the two free Internet access points in the public areas. It made a huge difference to me in figuring out the bewildering schedules of museums, restaurants, and other happenings. In addition, Fabrizio and Tommaso were very good about making recommendations and reservations for museums and restaurants.

Their rates are quite reasonable given where they're located in a major tourist hotspot. Highly recommended.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Lebanon
11
Reviewed 1 January 2005

A superb hotel, a 5 stars class stay, a welcoming family owners which made our stay in Florence so exclusive.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2004

My partner and I were fortunate enough to spend four wonderful nights at the Davanzati in October. The location was superb, right in the heart of historic Florence, and the accommodations were brand new, well furnished in classic Tuscan style and spotlessly clean. Our room was large, comfortable and quiet, and the breakfast buffet was plentiful and tasty (especially the custard-filled cornetti and apricot tart). But what really makes the Davanzati special are Fabrizio, Patrizia and their son Tommaso. They went out of their way to make our stay a pleasure, from suggesting restaurants and making dinner reservations to booking train tickets and museum reservations. Their knowledge of Florence is invaluable, and their warmth and hospitality made us feel like guests in the home of friends. We can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJ139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2004

We have just returned from a 2 day one night stay at this hotel......firstly the location of the hotel is perfect, simply perfect...the rooms were spacious and had fridges, cooker, balcony and comfortable beds.....but the rela winner is the host and owner...he could not have been more helpful.....when it turned out that the restaurant he recommended was closed he drove us himself across town to another place........he did not charge for bottles of water from the mini bar and was so nice it was not true...PLUS FREE 24HR INTERNET ACCESS!! never had this before

Thank antsyb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 409 in Florence
3,315 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 409 in Florence
1,431 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#55 of 409 in Florence
1,443 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#10 of 409 in Florence
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £99 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing