We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #9 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New orleans
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

The hotel was perfect, excellent location, clean, comfortable and the owners and staff could not have been more accommodating!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nola2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,952
    354
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
753
1,584
231
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

tomasso and fabrizio were kind, friendly and incredibly helpful from the time we booked the hotel to the time we got into our cab to come back. they helped plan our daytrips and made the process effortless. their suggestions for restaurants and watering holes were right on and the happy hour every evening was delightful. we have already recommended them to multiple people and will return again. the location is perfect and in-room laptops are a great idea!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sassygirlFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

At first glance we were a little worried, it is in a great area, but on a "quieter" street and there is no fancy lobby on the street level. You have to walk up stairs to get to the lobby, and the hotel was not really well marked. Actually, our taxi had to drop us off about a block away because the street was blocked off to cars (when we were arriving). But this made the hotel very quiet, even during the day.

Inside the room was GREAT and the room we had was large (#103)! Very new and updated with cool design, comfy bed, you would not believe that you were in this old building. The people who run the hotel were GREAT!!! They were very helpful. The breakfast and "happy hour" were GREAT. The only thing missing to some of the fancy 5 star hotels would be the lobby.

Oh, and they supply a computer in the room and internet access that worked quickly and every time we used it! Our room had two flat screen TVs, not that you will watch TV in Florence.

We would go back there.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paloaltovs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle /Tyne UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

My work allows me to stay in some of the best hotels in every continent of the world but there is this small hotel in Florence found through Trip Advisor
that could teach them all something about service
The Davanzati is a family run affair with Fabrizio and Tomasso the main players(Father and son)
They arranged every thing for us,they arranged times for the museums,times for all the major attractions in Florence,we skipped all of the lines as our american friends call them
The restaurants that Tomasso booked for us were superb and we enjoyed the atmosphere so much that we revisited it again on our last night in Florence,we enjoyed the wine that much there, we managed to
leave the camera in the restaurant
My better half rang Fabrizio from the UK to see if we had left it in our room and he tracked it down to the restaurant for us, retrieved it and shipped it back through UPS to the UK...
It was my partners birthday whilst we were there they arranged a dozen red roses for me delivered spot on time on the morning of her birthday
a complimentary bottle of wine was left in the room with a birthday card for her from the hotel..a nice touch
The pics on the hotel website do not do the hotel justice it is much prettier than they show it to be and as for position i doubt there is any where more central and quiet
We had a first floor room overlooking the main street and there was little if any noise noticeable
In 32 years of business travel in the minimum of a 5 star hotel I have never been so well looked after as I was by the owners and staff of the Davanzati
They quite justly deserve the No 1 rating on T.A.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankpfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

On our second stay at the Davanzati, we once again were impressed with the wonderful service Fabrizio gives to his guests - restaurant and museum reservations, all questions happily answered, fun "happy hour," perfect location, free use of inroom laptop computer with internet, and comfortable, yet reasonable, rooms. Most of all, one feels welcome here.

Thank you Davanzati!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadrunner15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

The property location is great, the rooms well stocked and spacious, and the staff very professional and friendly. The level of guest service is amazing, from booking museum reservations before arrival, to last minute restaurant reservations and recommendations on where to go and what to see. The breakfast in the morning and happy hour are great touches. They are definitely committed to maintaining a high standard of hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Addicted2Travel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

No need to do any more research, just book into this Hotel you shouldn't be disappointed.

Just returned to a cold wet England after spending a fantastic weekend in Florence celebrating our 10th Wedding Anniversary. Thoroughly enjoyed the City, plenty of Wow factor round each corner, fantastic restaurants, good bars, plenty of shops, and a little culture thrown in for good measure.

The Junior suite was like the Hotel, very grand ! great location and plenty of warmth from Fabrizio . Worth checking for the Capucinos alone.

Simon

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#8 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing