We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 5 star, but a 10 star in every aspect”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #8 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
singapore
1 review
“not a 5 star, but a 10 star in every aspect”
Reviewed 25 May 2009

My wife and I stayed the first night at Grand Hotel as Davanzati had no rooms available. The next 2 nights we were in Davanzati. So in comparison, Davanzati was miles ahead in every aspect. Yes we are actually comparing it to a Starwood 4 or 5 star hotel and yes, Davanzati is way way better. Fantastic service and extremely well located. The rooms are nice enough for anyone in any walk of life.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinpikumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,995
    358
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
766
1,607
233
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

My wife and I are quite picky with hotels and we loved the Davanzati. Both Tommaso (son) and Fabrizio (father) are extremely helpful and will guide you in the right direction, whether with museum tickets, restaurants of sites to see in Florence (ask for their advice and take it, Tommaso told us to go see the David late in the afternoon to avoid the lines. Other (less informed) people complained about 2 hour waits while we waited about 10 minutes). The rooms are nice but most importantly, they are soundproof. When you go to bed you don't hear any outside traffic or noise. Happy hour is a clever method of getting guests to interact, and the tomato paste that the hotel makes is superb. This hotel is definitely worth the money and guests will not be disappointed.

Two notable stops - 1) Tommaso recommend that we walk over to Piazza Michaelangelo. It is about a 20 minute walk from the hotel, but boy is it worth it. You walk up a hill to a square that is about 200 feet above Florence and you get a great view of the entire city. This is a great starting point for a vacation before you dive into the city and sites. 2) Le Giostre and Zaza Restaurante (both notable with the "Hollywood crowd"). Ask Tomasso, both are great food and atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry-Heidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

This is a nice hotel in the heart of old Florence. I was traveling with my 12 year old son. We had a nice room. It had a PS2 which was a nice nostalgic touch for my son. The hotel was incredibly helpful with helping us get museum and tour tickets, recommending and booking nice restaurants, etc. I also enjoyed their evening happy hour, and the Davanzati sauce--shame they don't sell it. But remember to take the recipe when you are there.

  • Liked — Friendly environment
  • Disliked — Nothing (perhaps the beds--the ones in our room were too soft)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Alab_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2009

The wonderful service we received began with our correspondence with the hotel staff about our stay. The emails we sent were answered immediately and with many details which made our planning easy. When we arrived it was like coming home after a long absence. The staff is very attentive to every wish and made our reservations at restaurants and sight seeing a breeze. This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in, not because of luxury but because of a wonderful personality that this little hotel takes on in doing everything possible to make their guest have an enjoyable trip. One of the major reasons we hope to return to Florence is that we would be able to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melitavickter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Davanzati for three nights as part of our honeymoon in Italy. Fabrizio, family and staff were exceptionally welcoming and helpful, and we loved Pierluigi's happy hour (especially the free Chianti). The room itself was clean and comfortable and it was a nice touch to have a selection of DVDs & games for entertainment. We'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bechamimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

Stayed at the Davanzati in September of 2008 - it couldn't be faulted. Fabrizio and Tommaso's hospitality was outstanding, the hotel was beautiful and the location was perfect for exploring the city.
We've already booked to return again this year.....GO, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiliScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New orleans
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

The hotel was perfect, excellent location, clean, comfortable and the owners and staff could not have been more accommodating!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nola2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,086 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing