We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel in Florence”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #12 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Am currently staying at the Hotel Davanzati with husband and three children for 2 days during a 12-day visit to Italy. Trip Advisor came through again! Excellent hotel in every way. Rooms are luxuriously appointed, with lovely furnishings, highest thread-count sheets, plasma T.V.s, laptop with internet access, and DVD/Playstation with free rentals. The host, Fabrizio, is so warm, helpful, and welcoming. He will arrange everything, from dinner reservations, to tours, to suggestions for nightlife and shopping. He is so responsive --- I e-mailed him from my Blackberry from the Accademia with a request for a tour of the Uffizi, and he had it arranged within 1/2 hour. His restaurant recommendations were wonderful -- especially "13 Gobbi." The hotel's location could not be better --- within walking distance of Florence's major attractions and best shopping. But what really makes the hotel is Fabrizio -- he works from 7 in the morning to 8 at night to make sure that all the guests have a great experience. Bravo!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skypark91107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,034 - 2,040 of 3,549 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2009

we stayed in one of the larger rooms with a terrace. very nice, lots of room with the seperate sitting area. as others have mentioned, there are alot of steps upto the lift. my husband loved to complain to our travel mates that he had to carry my "100 lb" bag up the stairs. i didn't notice the bell to call for help until he was done, oops:) just be warned and push the button for help.

the staff, especially the girl at breakfast (sorry, don't remember your name) so very nice and accomodating, even giving me some very early morning coffee. breakfast was typical but good and plentyful. happy hour was great (although the music was a little loud so it was difficult to chat) and we managed to be there for two of our three nights. our group (four of us six were staying at the westin) was to meet at piazza michealangelo to toast our first night and Fabrizio hooked us up with a couple bottles of presecco so i didn't have to make an additional cab stop. the use of the lap top was great, i was able to keep up on the basketball playoffs and check the weather! overall, a great hotel and a better than perfect location.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ob23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

We had wonderful stay at Hotel Davanzati and Fabrizio (The owner) was so helpful in making sure we have a good time in Florance.
We arrived florence early in the morning so decided to leave our luggage in the hotel until ready to checkin in the afternoon, but instead Fabrizio offered to wait for 1/2 hour before they can have the room ready for us to check in, what more was he offereded for us to have BF while we waited which I thought was Soooo generous!!!!.
The room is clean and spacious, and the location is perfect.
I would definately come back to this hotel if I have a chance to visit Florence again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

we stayed in a couple of hotels during our trip to italy and this was the worse hotel we stayed in. no problem with the staff, everyone was helpful and friendly. hotel was near the major sights, all within walking distance. now the bad part. this was probably the worse sleep i've ever got. the room was bare, it was like a motel room....we couldn't sleep because of the all the noise from the street, couldn't open the windows because of mosquitoes. word of warning, you have to go up a flight of stairs before reaching the elevator that goes to the reception. given the choice, we would have stayed somewhere further with less noise and better beds.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank poshluxe u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

The hotel was well situated, and the owners/hosts were gracious and helpful. With all their advice and wisdom, we didn't even need our guide books! The accomodations were comfortableand we had a lap top in our room. What's more, we were treated to a lovely happy hour each evening. We would not give a second thought to returning to the Davanzati; it would be like going home!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonSpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Was a bit supprised when we arrived at the hotel - as mentioned in other reviews you do have to climb fairly steep stairs to get to the reception (or actually one steep flight from the street & then a little lift that takes you into the reception area) but if you were struggling with your luggage there is a bell & the porter would help you. Its just maybe not ideal for those with mobility problems?
The hotel is very pretty - lots of stone but really bright & warm & very welcoming.
The staff are a wonderful treat - friendly & polite & very helpful - if you need help with tickets to the Galleries then they are eager to assist.
No view from the room but we didnt feel as if this was a problem - the room was big clean & lovely.
A massive plus point is that you get free internet in your room with a complimentary laptop to use.....excellent as we were travelling around italy & could catch up with our emails!!
The 'happy hour' they do each evening is also a lovely touch - an hour where you get complimentary wine & nibbles & a very nice 'Davanzati' dipping sauce...its a nice oppotunity to chill before dinner & to meet fellow guests & discuss your trip....we got some great advise on where to go in rome from a couple who had just been there!!
Really lovely hotel - would absolutly go there again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemhlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We stayed at the Davanzati to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. The room was comfortable and the wine set out for us on arrival was a nice touch. The staff are very
helpful and appear to be able to converse in many languages. The location is perfect as it is withih about ten minutes walk of the major attractions.
Ray & Jacky King, North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sell-Byes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 409 in Florence
3,315 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 409 in Florence
1,431 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#55 of 409 in Florence
1,443 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#10 of 409 in Florence
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £99 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing