We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family of 5 just stayed at the...”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #12 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Our family of 5 just stayed at the Davanzati and have nothing but great things to say about our stay. Great location, fabulous hospitality and the Junior suite with two lofts for our 3 children was excellent - read all the reviews the stay will be as good as you get in a beautiful city.
Karen Sydney, Australia

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masterchefSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,775 - 1,781 of 3,565 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2010

We got a recommendation and booked this small, boutique hotel. We loved it. The staff was fantastic and they have a great happy hour with wine, cheese etc. Its a great way to wrap up the afternoon. The room was small but clean and we would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob-from-ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We were on our honeymoon and one of our friends recommended this hotel in florence and since it gave great reviews i had book this hotel. When we arrive we already knew about the stairs so we rang the bell and the porter came down to carry our luggage up the stairs. We met Fabrizio and he was lovely and he gave us a choice of 2 rooms since we were on our honeymoon. He gave us a map and showed us where to go for the sights, pre-book tickets at the Ulfizzi and the Galleria of Academia, book us a 13hr Walkabout - Best of Tuscany tour which was fabulous. The tour took us to Siena, lunch at a farm, wine tasting, Pisa and San Gimignano.
We also remember the bed in our hotel room was one of the best we slept on while were in Europe. We also had a free laptop which we could use at no extra cost. That was handy when we wanted to use the internet.
Breakfast was ok but it was very similar to what all the other hotels around Italy offered.
The location was great and was not far at all to the sights of florence.
Would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingtoasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I stayed with my wife in June 2010 for 4 nights -- The hotel location is great ,very central but thats about all.It is on the first floor which can be approached only by walking up a narrow very steep flight of steps - after a long day returning back with the task of then climbing up the stairs is not what one looks forawrd to.The breakfast was terrible all four days -- the croissants were stale & the fruit laid out on the platter must have been weeks old & had starting rotting with white fungus on most of them . Rooms were only cleaned & made at around 4 pm every day & the linen was not changed daily.Had to ask the staff to replace the bath soap & gel as they seem to conviently forget to replinish. There is no restaurant .The price being charged isequivalent to an international rated 4 star hotel whereas you only get a Bed & Breakfast place of cleanliness , service & facilities of a 2 star hotel. Guests book in this hotel based on TripAdvisors reviews which are totally misleading .Would never return or recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Italy503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

My husband and I loved this charming little hotel! It's 3 stars but doesn't feel like it - it was wonderful with all the little extra's ie DVD's in your room, happy hour drinks & nibbles, laptop. Location is very central, couldn't ask for more in this respect. Our room was quite large and had a lounge. The Staff were excellent, very helpful and reccommended a nice little traditional place to eat, the front desk also book us on some tours which made our stay great. Worth noting there are some steep stairs to get up to the lift - but I am sure if you need help with your bags the staff could assist. We met some nice ppl at the hotel in happy hour (normally wouldn't bother with happy hours) but it was put on so well by the staff and snacks were yum! The breakfast was very good with a nice range of things to choose from. I choose this hotel thanks to trip advisor and we were very happy with our choice!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kc_travelnotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Davanzati for several nights during our recent visit to Florence and then on to the rest of Tuscany. Fabrizio and his famliy went out of their way to provide all the things we needed.
They arranged private tours of the must see museums and sights of Florence. The local guides they provided were excellent, spoke perfect English and shared their passion and love for Florence that made it even more special.
We have stayed in fine hotels all over the world but have settled on only staying in small personal sites. Hotel Davznzati met all our criteria and we would not hesitate to stay agin if we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rinyhiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

The exceptional atmosphere at The Davanzati made our stay in Florence a delight. Tommaso treated all the guests special and made us feel right at home. Outstanding service - second to none. The location is ideal for shopping, sites, and restaurants - everything is within walking distance including the train station.

The breakfasts and evening cocktails allow guests from all around the world to meet and share travel ideas.

Tommaso and family have created a "gem" in Florence!

We will definitely return to The Davanzati when traveling to Florence again and will recommend it to all of our friends!

The Williams Family

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LezW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,325 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,891 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 410 in Florence
1,460 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#11 of 410 in Florence
422 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £99 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing