We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful use of space”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #8 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful use of space”
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We have just stayed 2 nights and our room was by far the best we have stayed in so far this trip. Very well laid out and lovely to have a separate sitting area and to have movies, TV shows etc (in English) available free of charge at any time although it was a bit of a challenge to sort out how to work the system.
What makes this hotel so amazing is the friendly staff superbly led by Tommaso and Fabrizio. They made us feel very welcome and all their recommendations for restaurants were perfect.
The Hotel is not perfect as any old building has limitations and the stairs leading up to the lift were a challenge but Orlando was on hand to help with bags which certainly made a difference. Breakfast was a perfectly adequate continental style so anyone needing hot food may be disappointed. Happy Hour was a lovely time to sample some local wines and chat with other guests and staff and find out what people were doing and get some tips.
This is a wonderful hotel and the very friendly atmosphere is a welcome change from some of the surly service offered in restaurants and shops. I would recommend this hotel to anyone apart from those not able to manage stairs but my husband with his two knee replacements managed perfectly (but slowly)
The laptops in the room are a wonderful addition and the speed of the connection was a joy after many frustrating hours in other hotels with their so called free connection.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janineor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,010
    360
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
771
1,613
236
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

IMPORTANT NOTE: First things first... there are EXACTLY 25 steep steps to climb before you step into the hotel elevator. Once you have this accomplished, you are in GOOD hands! This is very important to know - it was really no problem at all for me and I actually enjoyed the steps up (!), BUT for example, if my mother had to travel, it would have been a REAL pain…

ROOM SIZE: Good. (Keep in mind hotels in Florence are slightly more expensive than most other cities in Europe, and since the city itself is quite small, the hotel rooms are smaller too.)

ROOM CLEANLINESS: Crisp !

ROOM QUALITY: Good !

SAFETY: Felt secure !

BEDS: Very nice! A personal highlight of this hotel. I have travelled a lot over the past decade, and have stayed in all classes of hotels… I can certainly say this hotel has probably one of the best beds, at least in Room 204 it does!

BREAKFAST: A slight let-down here …. I would say, only decent enough to get you started, for a short walk...!

STAFF QUALITY: Courteous/Professional.

INTERNET: Wireless (Free of charge). Nice speed, I could work very well from my personal computer.

EXTRAS: Movies (for any downtime you may have!) loads of them and a nice assortment… Happy Hour, nice touch and well prepared… The hotel offers a laptop in every room for any usage, and this is a very nice touch for certain travel styles (emails; a little surf here n there etc.)…

VERDICT: It’s certainly a big leap above regular 3 stars hotels and in fact could be a serious contender with 4 star hotels if not for the steps/less glamorous entrance… Overall it was a nice, clean, value for money hotel, and I enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aby-Bubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

This hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the city and a mere stone’s throw away from both the Ponte Vecchio and the Duomo but it is not at all noisy. We stayed here in January when the hotel was less busy. We received a very warm welcome and even got upgraded to a deluxe room – the one which we had stayed in before, a nice touch. The room was clean and all the linen crisp and fresh. Having not only free WiFi but also a PC in the room is great. Happy hour in the bar is not to be missed as it proves to be an excellent opportunity to sample complimentary Prosecco, Chianti and nibbles as well as a chance to get suggestions from fellow guests on what to do and where to go. Breakfast was the usual range of continental choices but was also one of the best presented during our trip. This has become a regular hotel for us when in Florence.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagellansTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Excellent location, nice room, great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff... need we say more?

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

The Davanzati lives up to all the praise heaped upon it. Room quality, service outlook and breakfast are all first rate. The location is ideal for art tourists - within five minutes walk of The Uffizi. The early evening prosecco in the bar - complimentary and very welcome - is the perfect bracing pick-me-up for footsore tourists and the array of restaurants and shopping opportunities in the vicinity is mind-boggling. This has become our first choice for Florence.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diptych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelburne, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Fantastic experience - the hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the train station and very centrally located. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and had everything you could need. Breakfast and happy hour at the hotel was really special and there were inventive amentities in the rooms like a computer and movie center free of charge. The staff really understands the value of true hospitality and were more than helpful. Even the correspondence prior to the trip had a personal touch. Everything they recommended was excellent (especially restaurants to meet your preferences - definitely listen to them!)and they offer great services to help enhance your trip. We booked the trip based on the reviews from tripadvisor and it was one of the best hotel experiences I've had in a very long time. Fantastic job! I'll definitely come back and hopefully have a longer stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyslicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2011

the hotel offers convenient accommodation in the very centre of Florence at reasonable (for Florence standards!) price, rich breakfast, wireless internet and laptop for free

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimitris_sparta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
3,130 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 422 in Florence
1,193 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 422 in Florence
2,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
879 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 422 in Florence
306 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 422 in Florence
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing