We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Feel”
Review of Hotel Lido

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lido
Ranked #377 of 420 Hotels in Florence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Family Feel”
Reviewed 13 June 2006

My wife and I spent a week at Hotel Lido and found it very comfortable and in a good location with easy bus access to the centre of Florence, and not too far to walk either. The hotel has a very homely feel and the two sisters in charge were very friendly and gave good advice on places to eat nearby and their English is very good. They were especially helpful when I lost my wallet in downtown Florence.The bathroom was particularly nice with a fantastic all round shower assembly. If we return to Florence we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
2
12
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 May 2006

We stayed 3 nights in this is a wonderful intimate family run hotel. Our room was small but very clean. The staff are extremely helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was wonderful, loved the blood orange juice and fresh croissants. After our first morning we never had to ask for coffee again it just appeared perfectly prepared! Parking is a bit of a problem, but isn't it everywhere! The local bus route is within walking distance, as are several wonderful resturaunts. This was the best hotel experience we had in our month long stay in Italy.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 February 2006

We loved this hotel. The two sister, Lucia and Elisabetta running the hotel are simply lovely. They speak an excellent english, they are welcoming and helpful. Elisabetta gladly provide good tips on things to do or places to eat that might not be included in your guidebook. The hotel is located about 20 minutes from the center (walking time), it is a pleasant walk. If you take Via Vincenzo Gioberti, you can find many shops and cafes. Your other option is to walk along the river, which is always pleasant, or you can simply take the bus.
The room was very clean and spacious enough, and we absolutely loved the high ceilings and the bathroom (shower with jets). Breakfast was excellent with freshly made-to-order cappucino, rolls, cereal, ham, salame, lovely cake....pretty much what one can expect to find in most places. Another great feature is a sweet little terrace that one can relax on when days are sunny.Hotel Lido it's a real gem, we would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to all our friends!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 October 2005

I have just returned from a visit to Florence and stayed in the above hotel. It is a very small family run hotel. We were given a very welcoming reception. The room was excellent and spotless. We were also provide with a guide book and map of Florence.
Continental breakfast was adequate with a selection of cold meats, cheese, rolls, cereal.
It was a bit noisy at night and there is also a building site right next to the hotel which was extremely noisy first thing in the morning.
On saying that we did enjoy our stay here.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2005

Ellen and I agree that Hotel Lido in Florence was one of the high points of our trip to Italy. It's located just North of the Arno river which made it easy to find, and the twenty minute walk to the Uffici or the Duomo was no problem. There are plenty of great restaurants in Florence and we found a couple of them within a ten minute walk from the hotel. Being just outside the city center offered another benefit— a quiet neighborhood.
Our room was small but clean, with high ceilings, shuttered windows and a beautiful marble tiled bathroom. Ellen referred to the room as charming. I'd call it comfortable. Every morning we were treated to a small breakfast. There's an indoor dining room but we chose to eat outside so we could enjoy the green plants and colorful flowers that decorate the terrace. The hotel also has a small garden but I don't know if the terrace plants came from it. Having enjoyed a bottle or two of Tuscany's well-known vino the night before we were especially grateful for the morning cappuccinos. I'm not a coffee snob but this was easily the best coffee I've ever tasted, or smelled. The aroma of the coffee, the lush fauna and the cool terrace breezes made for the perfect beginning to a day of exploring the city's amazing architecture and rich artistic heritage. When I asked Lucia how she made the coffee she just smiled and said, "I have a good machine."
Lucia Rontani is the secret to the Lido's charm. She and her sister, Elisabetta, took over the business from their parents and they are determined to make it a success. Lucia was friendly, gave us tips on navigating Florence's maze of one-way streets, and made us feel at home. And her English is much better than my Italian.
Ellen and I loved Florence and want to go back. When we do we'll definitely stay at the Hotel Lido. Proximo anno?!

Tim Chapman

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChicagoTimChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2004

I booked this Hotel on the description which was given on the web site...Only to find when we arrived, the Hotel was NEXT to a huge building site with on going work. When I opened the bedroom window, there was a huge crane less than five foot away from me. The owner was rude and would not accept that this was false advertising (ie quiet location leafy restored villla...) Although we had driven from Milan and it was late evening, we did not stay here as it was dirty, noisy, and very unwelcoming.
We are in the process of getting our money returned.
NEVER AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paws2paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2004

We stayed two nights at this lovely family owned Florentine villa in August 2004. Our rooms were on the ground level and the view was of the family's porch. But there was the great benefit of being allowed to make use of its washing machine. The rooms are spaceous and very clean, the air conditioning worked just fine. Yes, there is construction (structures designed to blend in well with the older ones) on this block, but there was no noise to speak of, and the views of the porches and garden were beautiful from the terrace on the second floor. Our shower was a bit difficult, we flooded our floor on one occasion, feeling awfully guilty. (Our friends' next door to us worked just fine.) Lucia, the owners' lovely daughter, took everything in her stride. She is fun and incredibly accomodating, speaks fantastic English and has a seemingly inexhaustible supply of truly fine restaurant recommendations. And she makes wonderful capuccinos. The breakfast was great. The whole family who has lived here for 30 years is charming and helpful as are their staff. On the terrace or in the lobby you might find the two housecats. We couldn't have felt more at home, and the rates are very reasonable! The location is convenient, steps from the Arno River near the Ponte San Niccolo, and the excellent area restaurants were a bargain by Florentine standards. We would stay at the Lido on every future visit to Florence.

Helpful?
4 Thank landstreicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Arno Bellariva
#269 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#34 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
#198 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ferrucci
#189 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#96 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Privilege
Hotel Privilege
#167 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido

Property: Hotel Lido
Address: Via del Ghirlandaio 1, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #377 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lido 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing