We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deal in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
Ranked #154 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Schenectady, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good Deal in Florence”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This hotel was great for its personable and helpful staff. I was traveling on my own and stayed there 2 nights for business and found my room was clean and satisfactory. Some observations, my particular room was small and off the main corridor. The night front desk person played the television at high volume. I did not have a view from my window other than the roof and there was a large step down into my room from the door and then a large step-up from the room into the bathroom. If you are not good with steps especially at night in the dark, this room would not be for you. They have other rooms of course, without these steps and the fact that my room faced internally into the building meant I did not have any noise from the restaurant bar below the hotel in the street. The bathroom had small box shower, no tub. There was a TV & fridge in room. The wifi was free but a couple of times did not work and had to be "reset" by the front desk person so that it would connect properly. Despite these items, I was happy in the hotel and it met my needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, or if you prefer quiet ask for a room with not facing the piazza and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atkinsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    92
    30
    4
    5
See reviews for
49
160
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Decent venue and price. A little noise from the corridor but clean and satisfactory, It was nice to be away from the immediate centre and to try new restaurants we wouldn't have visited otherwise. A good option for visitors

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I just returned from a full week in Florence, Italy. WOW, I really enjoyed the Hotel Relais II Cestello's. Views of the Arno River and early morning rowing teams on the weekend swift by the hotel. Very authentic, not a tourist trap. Each day I have questions or requests, and each morning I was 100% satisfied in my choice of property. I originally only planned on staying a few nights, but enjoyed myself so much that I extended my days to 5. You are minutes form the Punta Vecchio, and about a 15 minute walk from the Del Duomo. The entire surrounding area is safe no matter the hour of day or night. I can't wait travel to this location in years to come.

Room Tip: They are great on email responses. They are on site 24 hours a day to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefuntravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were a bit dubious having read the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor. However all of our worries were totally unfounded. On arrival the female owner of the hotel couldn’t have been more helpful. She gave us a map of Florence pointing out several places of interest and gave us some excellent suggestions of where to eat.

The hotel is 10 minutes walk from railway station and Ponte Vecchio. It is in a quiet location away from the tourist areas which we liked. However there is a restaurant/bar below the hotel which can be a bit noisy late at night.

The breakfast was very nice. There was a selection of rolls, jams, yoghurts, cereals and croissants. The cafe latte was excellent!!

There were lots of little restaurants and shops in the street to the back of the hotel (Borgo San Frediano).

The room was a good size with a lovely view over the River Arno. The room and the bathroom were very clean and there was a supply of shampoos and soaps and a hair dryer. There was also a fridge in the room which was a bonus.

We would certainly stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to family and friends. We would like to thank the hotel staff for looking after us and making our stay very enjoyable!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shazsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

What a great choice for a hotel in Florence. It was just 10 minutes walk from railway station and Punta Vecchio - still in its own quiet environment. Florence can be pretty packed in summer season and for this area was like a "non-touristic oasis".
There are only 10 rooms in this hotel. I had reserved one person room and it was pretty small (but I checked from the room map that it was really half of the size than the other rooms). The rooms locate in the first floor and there is no lift. Staff helps gladly with the luggage if needed. Also otherwise staff was friendly and polite. My room had very effective air-conditioning. There was very good wifi that was fast (many hotels say that they have free wifi but it's so crappy that you have to wait for ages something to happen) and free safety box in the room. There are even slippers available.
The breakfast is served in the lobby and it includes rolls, jam, yoghurt, cereals, juice, coffee, tea, croissant and other pastries.
Borgo San Frediano street in the back of the hotel has mini market, great trattorias, cafes, shop that sells pizzaslices and beautiful pastries, fruit store, other small shops.
I would certainly select this hotel again. If you want to see souvenir shops and tourist herds around your hotel, this wouldn't be your best choice.
There are bus stops nearby for several lines, you can check them here http://www.ataf.net/en/timetables-and-routes/timetables-and-routes/route-list.aspx?idC=180&LN=en-US. The information kiosk opposite the railway station has the map of public transportation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OtS34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Water Mill, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Relais Il Cestello, Piazza di Cestello www.relaisilcestello.it, on the square, just facing the Arno, in the Oltrano. Fantastically centrally located, only two bridges from the Ponte Vecchio, and easily reached on foot from the Santa Maria Novella rail station. Request a room in the back if you want a sound sleep, as in the evening the Piazza can become a bit loud, as there is a night club next to the Relais. The room was large, well appointed with a comfortable bed, wardrobe, desk & chair and several other chairs. There was plenty of heat and hot water in the spacious room; the bathroom was clean, large, and was supplied with plenty of towels, shampoo, soap and a hair dryer. Breakfast was arranged in the reception room, with a lovely view of the Arno. Food was plentiful with a selection of coffees, teas, breads, fruit cheeses, meat and yogurts. Am a return customer, having first been to the Relais nearly 20 years ago. The Relais certainly has improved with age!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vagabondfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I selected this hotel due to its proximity to a friend's home but it turned out to be a perfect location for seeing all of Firenze. The hotel is on the river in a quiet square with easy access to the rest of the city. The manager Marco made me feel completely at home and was very helpful. The breakfast was always freshly prepared. The hotel is very clean and my room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiceGianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel La Fortezza
#62 of 411 in Florence
248 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#82 of 411 in Florence
377 reviews
Hotel Rosary Garden
#131 of 411 in Florence
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#150 of 411 in Florence
473 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#88 of 411 in Florence
893 reviews
Hotel Villa Betania
#76 of 411 in Florence
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Il Cestello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Il Cestello

Property: Hotel Relais Il Cestello
Address: Piazza di Cestello 9, 50124, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Family Hotel in Florence
#90 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais Il Cestello 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Relais il Cestello is an old structure used in the past as a post office that worked with horses and carrozze. The hotel looks on piazza di Cestello and from the windows you can see the beautiful church Cestello, the San frediano surroundings, Ognissanti church and the river Arno.San frediano is a very typical old florentine suburb where you may still find wood, leather, glass and jewelery shops. Close to the hotel you can visit piazza del Carmine, piazza Santo Spirito and not so far Pitti Palace.In fact Hotel Relais il Cestello is situated in the heart of Florence in a few minutes you can walk tO the central railway station, the Ponte Vecchio bridge, Piazza della Signoria and the beautiful streets such as via della Vigna Nuova, Via Tornabuoni, Via Strozzi piazza della Repubblica where you may shop in all the high fashion and antique stores ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Relais Il Cestello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Il Cestello Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing