We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to stay”
Review of Hotel Canada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Canada
Ranked #338 of 640 Florence B&B and Inns
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    82
    31
    14
    34
See reviews for
26
175
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 May 2012

- Duomo and leather market just in a few step.
- the room is clean and comfort.

- Not suitable for travelors with big luggage because the hotel is on 1st floor and no elevator.
- curfew is 1 am.
- the bell ring very loud and early in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Reserved through Venere.com, Apparently they emailed back a full day and a half later and cancelled my reservation, saying my credit card was invalid - browser history and the fact that it was valid on every other site I've booked with it says otherwise.

When I picked up the email within an hour and tried to rebook, no dice they are full. Smells like bovine scatology to me.

Something tells me they are playing some sort of game with the reservation sites and overbooking themselves - look out!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

my booking was cancelled by the hotel and gave no reason as to why, not much else I can say

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johngordon37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This B&B was so easy to find coming from the Florence Train station. Even without using the map, I knew to walk towards the Duomo and make the first left to find the door beside the restaurant. However, there are a lot of stairs to go up especially w our luggage. The room was spacious and clean. I loved the little terrace and the fact that the doors opened wide open to them. I found the sink in our room pointless and We did not like that our private bathroom was outside the room. Also, there is no AC and it was surprisingly warm for October. We also didn't like that there was a 1a.m. curfew, especially in Florence when there are so many things going on at night. The hostess was very sweet, but at times very strict. No loud music, no leaving the lights on. One of them even turned the light off on me while I was still inside the washroom! You also have to hand in the key every time you go out. She stressed the little things very much. Oh and there is no Wi-Fi. It didn't bother us so much, but it would have been nice. Overall, it was a great spot and inexpensive, but, I don't see myself coming back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Great location, wery nice staff, clean room, inexpensive = perfect. If you are looking for luxury, elevator, private bath this is not the place for you. However if you want a reasonably priced, nice, clean, safe room in a central location, look no further.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DosChicos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The hotel is very conveniently situated a stone's throw from the Duomo and our room was very quiet and peaceful. The room was spacious, clean and looked onto a very pretty courtyard. The bathroom is clean and everything is in good order. Only one towel is provided each and no bath mat but we managed with that. The hotel is three flights of stairs up and you have to ring to be let in on your return, having left your room key with the hostess. While the owner was always polite and generally friendly, she seemed a bit of a stickler, not being prepared, for example, to fill my small thermos with water for tea in the evening (as she was "off duty"). The hotel will not keep luggage (and we found it very expensive to leave luggage at Santa Maria Novella station - as we were only leaving by train that evening) so we may have been wiser to pay a bit more for our hotel and choose one that would have kept our luggage. The hosts were knocking on our door on the day of our departure (it was just 10 minutes after the 10 am check out time) to ensure we were ready to check out - we had already paid. Note: cash only; no credit card accepted.
However, we had read previous reviews so we knew to expect all this, so I am not wishing to complain, rather make people aware.
The hotel is certainly value for money and is well situated.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Sampaoli
Hotel Sampaoli
#312 of 411 in Florence
266 reviews
Duomo
De Lanzi
De Lanzi
#243 of 411 in Florence
498 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#255 of 411 in Florence
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Giappone
Hotel Giappone
#269 of 411 in Florence
93 reviews
San Lorenzo
Duomo View B&B
Duomo View B&B
#413 of 640 in Florence
214 reviews
L'Olivo
#37 of 640 in Florence
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada

Property: Hotel Canada
Address: Borgo San Lorenzo 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Canada 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its superb location, only 30 mt. from the Cathedral Square, in the pedestrian area of the lively San Lorenzo district, will enable you to easily reach all the main historical and artistic sites within a short walking distance. Only 5 minutes by walk from the main railway station, Hotel Canada has 9 confortable guest-rooms, either with or without private facilities with simple but tasteful furnishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Canada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canada Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing