We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff, would be better if wasn't so hot.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Canada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Canada
Ranked #287 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, would be better if wasn't so hot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Staff at hotel very happy and smiley, made us feel welcome. Rooms are very big and clean and we had view of a main shopping street (nice to ppl watch) and a little table for picnics. No wifi but we didn't miss it. We stayed just two nights and my main negative was that in peak summertime the rooms are far too hot and sauna like without air conditioning and just a fan. I needed a damp cold towel on me to sleep. Otherwise I wouldn't hesitate to book again in a cooler season.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammy_paterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    80
    31
    12
    32
See reviews for
25
168
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Canada for 3 nights whilst touring Italy. We chose this hotel as the location could not be beaten for the price. You are around the corner from the Duomo and 3 minutes from the Uffizi Gallery. Great shopping is all around you also.
The positives about the hotel are that for the price it's good. It's clean, quiet and the owner obviously cares about the service you receive. We had a room with a shared bathroom and it was fine.
The negatives are that you do need to go up 2 big flights of stairs - when you have luggage this isn't the best - but no big problem. The main negative is that whilst the owner is great she has a policy that every time you leave you have to hand in the key to the room. Whilst this sounds like a minor thing, in reality it means you have to go and find her every time you leave to hand in the key. You also need to buzz up to her when you want to come in to the hotel, which can leave you standing outside. It just felt a bit controlled and also made us think twice about popping back to the hotel during the day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Firstly, we had sent an email weeks before we came saying we were to come by earlier to drop off our bags, since check-in was much later however this was never even taken into account by the hotel. The place is very hard to find, tiny small sign, we didn't know if the doorbell was working, so rang twice. As soon as we got up (using 4 flights of steep steps) we got told off by the lady at the hotel, for ringing twice. Once in, we were asked to leave our bags outside the hotel in the stairway case, where anyone could have taken them. Next we needed to change into some longer pants as we were visiting churches, however were not allowed to use any bathrooms (even though we were going to stay and pay for tat hotel later anyway), as another lady told us off and told us to go to public bathrooms in the city. Later on the day, we were leaving, and had to leave our keys with the desk. At the bottom there was a nice couple asking us about the hotel, we said all good things, what we didn't know was the lady was eavesdropping on us upstairs, and later when we got back got a telling off for telling people about the hotel (even though they have a website for the WORLD to see anyway). The reviews on the website are very misleading, if you enjoy being treated like a kid, and getting told off then by all means go ahead. Our experience was awful, we backed up our bags, paid the amount due and left the place. On the other hand Florence is a wonderful city, and the hotel is very clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Amazing central location. Our room had double doors opening onto a beautiful courtyard. Best thing about Hotel Canada was its cleanliness- absolutely spotless! Shared bathroom wasn't an issue because it was kept clean. Simple decoration, mostly white, but very elegant. No wi-fi which was a bit of a problem. Host did offer to use her computer but not really the same. Staff were extremely friendly. Down side was our room was located just off the main reception and we could hear everything! We were woken up considerably early by conversations and guests in reception. 1am curfew wasn't an issue for us, but could be for some. Payment must be cash on arrival. Overall great and could have stayed another night.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My review speaks loudly. I will now give the worst critique I can muster: you must share a very spacious bathroom and that will be spotless ( bidet and toilet, shower mirrors, sink, various amenities ) with 2 or 3 other rooms, but there is a lock on the door. Sink also in the room , big windows can open to a upscale block that is very close to El Duomo(Everybody in the city will know where to send you if you ask them which direction it is ;then you just circle it to find the street ,then you're are a block away) Tina was very friendly and the staff were also. Btw , you want a good hotel!! when we return to Florence it will be to Pension Canada

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshuacase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Location is fabulous but very basic for the price. The room is very basic and up a few flights of stairs. The location is ace as it is literately 1 minute from the Doume. The service was great and the lady who we think is the owner is charming and was very pleasant. Would have give four stars but having to hand our keys back each time we go out made us feel like if we wanted to pop back for something we were be inconvenient which spoiled it a bit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulbo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#245 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Aline
Hotel Aline
#347 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Cestelli
Hotel Cestelli
#218 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sogni d’oro
#295 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Cinque Sensi Bed & Breakfast
#265 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
San Lorenzo
Duomo View B&B
Duomo View B&B
#431 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada

Property: Hotel Canada
Address: Borgo San Lorenzo 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Canada 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its superb location, only 30 mt. from the Cathedral Square, in the pedestrian area of the lively San Lorenzo district, will enable you to easily reach all the main historical and artistic sites within a short walking distance. Only 5 minutes by walk from the main railway station, Hotel Canada has 9 confortable guest-rooms, either with or without private facilities with simple but tasteful furnishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Canada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canada Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing