We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel view fabulous”
Review of Villa La Vedetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa La Vedetta
Ranked #67 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Three weddings while we were there not able to be free to sit on the terrace.Food very expensive We thought we had breakfast included and then was charged $56 a day Unbelievable!! Staff was wonderful Rooms very clean.Location was great away from the crowds Shuttle service good

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Admor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_LaVedetta, Guest Relations Manager at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Dear Tripadvisor user,
thank you very much for your review . I apologize for the terrace but during the wedding we open the "Vedetta" a small terrace on the Top floor providing a 360 ° view of the city and is very breathtaking!
The breakfast charge of 28 euro per person is visible in the reservation system but I will make sure that this appears very clear in all our channels and correspondence.
Thank you very much for your appreciation of the staff and of the Hotel ,it is very important for all us to read such good comments.
Thank you very much for your time and attention

Roberto Boccacelli
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Villa la Vedetta
Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

My stay at the Villa felt as though this home were mine and I was coming home from a very long and stressful trip away. The pool and it's gardens are magnificent, and they boast one of the best views of Florence. I will certainly make this hotel a place for me to return many, many times.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_LaVedetta, Guest Relations Manager at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Dear Tracy,
thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. " Your Home away from Home" this how we would like that all our customers should feel Hotel Villa La Vedetta.
We really work very hard to make this happen every day and we are glad you felt this way !
Thank you very much for your time and attention

Roberto Boccacelli
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Villa La Vedetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Located high on a hill with a breathtaking view [from the terrace] of Florence & the Duomo. Villa La Vedetta is a short shuttle bus ride [complimentary provision by VLaV] into Florence We were in the annexe with a very good sized,elegantly appointed, room. Generous and superclean bathroom facilities, polite & helpful staff, delicious continental breakfasts & a very attractive garden area with a [much appreciated] large swimming pool.
Very quiet at night.
Just about perfect - would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I found the mattress a bit too hard but my husband did not. I understand the hotel can provide an al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_LaVedetta, Guest Relations Manager at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Dear Jacky,
thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor ! Our best satisfaction is to know that we offered you and your husband a memorable stay ! Thanks for your suggestion, we are now testing "alternative husband" ..!! It was very funny to read your tip about matress and husband.
We hope to welcome you in the future,thank you very much for your time and attention.

Roberto Boccacelli
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Villa la Vedetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

stayed in a suite w living area and separate bedroom, view towards river, size of room o.k, housekeeping and service meets italian 5* standard, parking lot on site. As most of recent reviewers confirm, location is great, maybe best in Florence during summer if you visit for leisure and want both to relax at pool and do sightseeing. Even easy access to city centre by stairs from Piazza Michelangelo or shuttly bus arranged frequently by hotel. Breakfast extensive w a la carte choice, bar service on pool and at night at terrace (with great view), stylish bar at the Onice rest.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterVIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_LaVedetta, Guest Relations Manager at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Dear Tripadvisor user,
thank you very much for your review . It is very important for us to know how our customers appreciate our service and as you write and confirm . We are happy for offering You a unforgettable memory of your stay . We await for your second time with us!
Thank you very much for your attention

Roberto Boccacelli
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Villa La Vedetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Although regulars to Villa La Vedetta, we consider it our duty to continue reviewing this property. In August we were fortunate enough to be able to stay 12 nights. Here are the remarks, divided in pro, regular and con given the fact that this is a five star property in Florence and therefore cannot come cheap [over € 300 per night for 2].

The pros are:
- stunning view;
- very clean rooms [serviced twice a day];
- normal, human staff that is not "stiff";
- good pool.

The regulars are
- poolservice;
- terrace service;
- standard/maintenance of the building;
- shuttle service into town.

The cons are:
- very expensive restaurant that does not live up to its pretences;
- many weddingparties are held at the premises, evading hotel guests.

What is the competition in Florence?

Very few hotels have a nice pool area with a view. Villa Cora has recently been restored and is beautiful as well, although a bit more formal. Il Salviatino in Fiesole has a magnificent building, but the ambassadors-thing tends to be overappreciated. Villa San Michele is priceless, from different perspectives!

Why do we keep coming back to Villa La Vedetta?

One can imagine that the comfort of knowing that it is going to be good again is reassuring. We were glad to notice that some things have changed for better and little things have changed for worse. It is the peace-and-quiet of the hotel, the access into town, the pool and the people that make the difference.

We would recommend staying here for a decent good times. If you expect posh service for posh prices, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FDMUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Florence is beautiful but in August it is hot and full of tourists and so to enjoy it you need to be able to find some calm, some cool, some elegance and some 'nurture'. Villa La Vedetta delivers on all counts. Regardless of the fact that I booked very last minute (fed up with our rainy stay in Northern France), the lovely Valentina sorted our every need: car transfers with baby seat, a baby cot. advice on what to do and where to eat. On arrival, the equally lovely Laura made us very welcome, nothing was too much trouble - and Valentina had arranged an upgrade. The suite was beautiful: in creams and whites. Not stuffy, relaxing and beautiful. Arabella (who is two) fell in love with the strawberries on the reception, afternoon tea at four and "the lollipop man" who gave her sweeties, picked her figs and shuttled us into town when too tired (lazy) to make the 20 minute walk. Everyone went out of their way - we even messed up the Michelin starred chef by requested tomato spaghetti for the baby with a glass of hot milk - all delivered ... beautifully. Don't misunderstand: like all of Florence (check out the prices at the Four Seasons!!), the Villa La Vedetta is not cheap, it is pricey but you get pretty much what you pay for (although breakfast induced a sharp intake of breath) (as did the chilly pool). But if you want a luxury - not chain hotel - slice of La Dolce Vita in Florence, I could not think that you would find better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie-EMPS-Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

If you are looking for a peaceful place to stay downtown Florence, La Vedetta has it all : superb rooms, some with a huge terrace overlooking the nice garden, a breathtaking view on the Cathedral and the ancient city, a calm outside pool, original cuisine ( try the sea urchin pasta ...); they have indeed a very good baker (excellent breakfast pastries) and, most of all, an extremely discrete and very effcient service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didierleandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Cora
#4 of 410 in Florence
1,014 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 410 in Florence
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#18 of 410 in Florence
413 reviews
Torre Di Bellosguardo
#16 of 410 in Florence
786 reviews
Il Salviatino
#83 of 410 in Florence
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#45 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#47 Family Hotel in Florence
#90 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £162 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing